We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel nearby the old hotel”
Review of Chinotel Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chinotel Phuket
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel nearby the old hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

It's new and clean. Close to thalang road it's a good to stay here if you have a plan to walk around an old town walking street on Sunday night. It's a little bit busy around the hotel after midnight because the hotel is in the fresh market area but not a big deal. No parking lot but you can park at the public parking lot nearby.

Stayed May 2557, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ratthanarong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    95
    42
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
97
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

When we arrived the rooms were cheaper than what was quoted in our guidebook which was a pleasant surprise. They had 3 types of rooms priced from 700-1000 baht. All were nice but the 700 room was very small. We took a 1000 baht room and it was big and clean with a very comfortable bed and a good air conditioner, refrigerator, a clean bathroom, shower with good water pressure. The location is right next to the main songtheaw stop on the island so it is easy to get to most major beaches and back for cheap thereby avoiding the phuket taxi mafia which charges ridiculous prices to get anywhere. Just look for the songtheaw with the name of your beach on it and hop in, prices were from 30 to 50 baht one way. We went to Koh Yao Noi by catching the songtheaw labelled Bang Rong which took us right to the pier where the boat was waiting for 50 baht each, the taxi's wanted 700 baht!! There are also lots of good local restaurants in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Was above what I was expecting for a budget hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful--left our iPad everyday with the front desk when we were out. The room and hotel was clean and comfortable. We were on the forth floor so the noise level was low and we slept good every night. As well, it is just around the corner to the local buses that take you directly to all the beaches, tiger kingdom, shopping center, etc for only 35 bhat one way(just a little over a 1USD whereas taking a taxi/tuktuk everywhere can cost up to 600 baht one way). Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Phuket!

Room Tip: There is market across the street so there is a bit of noise at night. Our room was on the fourth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Lovely88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here on our way to Koh Phi Phi.
It is in Old Town Phuket. Enough restaurants close to the hotel.
The hotel itself is good. Very clean room. Nice bathroom. The bed is a bit hard but pretty soft in comparisson to the rest of Southern Thailand.
The hotel staff is really friendly and they are willing to help you with all your questions.
They don't serve breakfast. There is a 7/11 just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellev202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice and clean rooms in center of Phuket town,but be prepered that from 4.30am your sleep is over thanks to next door market parking.Ask for room with view to courtyard instead and you might get whole night sleep.shame...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPTURNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I liked the location. The local buses to the beaches are at your door step. The bus to the airport is a 15 min walk away. For breakfast, try Phuketeque. They are on the corner on the road opposite the hotel (by the turning circle). They have ok coffee and the option of pacakes or waffles for breakfast. Otherwise, pass this store and keep walking around the corner and you will find a funny little French inspired place where pastries are 35 baht each. For other meals, cross the road again from the French bakery and down this road is a restaurant called The Cook where we found nice meals - about a 8 min walk.

Now for the Hotel itself, it was clean and did the trick! Each floor has 5-6 rooms and there is no elevator. The two back rooms on each floor will be 4 - 5 or 5 -6. I cant quite remember now eg, on the forth floor you will want rooms 405 and 406. These rooms are quiet and you should get a good nights sleep.

The first night here was terrible. The night market really does go all night. I woke up at 3am and looked out my window to see someone casually shopping for onions. I was able to change rooms the next day to a room at the back and it was fine. The staff are friendly and helpful if they can understand your request.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleRiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The room was very clean, air-con was good, the staff are very lovely and helpful. However, the location is quite bad, we couldn't find a place to have breakfast as none of the places we visited were proper restaurants, just street stalls. Our room was right opposite a building which looked like a market of sort and was really noisy with motorbikes and the room did not stop any of the noise coming through, kinda like sleeping with the windows open. Stay in the Patong area if you're visiting Bangkok!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 89 in Phuket Town
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 89 in Phuket Town
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meroom
Meroom
#3 of 9 in Talat Yai
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
0.2 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#2 of 89 in Phuket Town
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinotel Phuket

Property: Chinotel Phuket
Address: 133-135 Ranong Rd., Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinotel Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Chinotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinotel Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing