We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blu monkey hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket
Ranked #24 of 177 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blu monkey hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked this via agoda the day before we arrived. We were greeted by two very welcoming receptionists. We booked for three nights and booked another night last minute - this was no problem and even offered us the same room or a different room. The staff were so helpful and friendly, they explained where a nice local place to eat was, booked us into the 3 in 1 island boat tour at a cheaper price and organised transport for this and when we needed taxi's or tuktuk. Rooms are very modern and clean and rooms cleaned and replenished everyday. Website advertised a free breakfast but didn't see this when we were there. It's location is just far enough away to get a peaceful nights sleep but not to far away to get to places in town. Thank you blu monkey team!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antika L, Director of Sales at Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Altravler,

Greeting from Blu Monkey Team

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding the service you received during you recent visit to Blu Monkey. We will share your feedback with our teams and we look forward to welcoming you back to Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel.

Sleep tight & Wake bright ! ^_^

Blu Monkey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    62
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
42
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The Blu Monkey hostel is a great hostel in Phuket town. The rooms vary in size (the twin I had for one night was much larger than the double), but they are all equally clean, modern and comfortable. The reception staff are great and willing to help with taxis, information, recommendations. We kept staying more and more days and in the end we managed to get a great price. I recommend that if you're thinking of staying a long time take the room for an entire month for 9000thb, because in the end you will spend it anyway by taking more days. There is laundry available downstairs for 30thb.
Overall it was a great stay!

The only two negative things about this hostel are that you can hear everything in the rooms from the corridor and we had to repeatedly ask some guests for silence who thought that slamming doors and screaming at 6 o'clock in the morning is normal. There should be a silence sign somewhere in various languages so that people understand.

Secondly the café that is in the building and where guests are supposed to get theor breakfast is served by the rudest, most spoilt waitress. When asking for more milk for the coffee, she heats up the whole jug and then drops one droplet in your coffee cup. If you ask for more she get irritated or just says that milk is sold out while holding the milk bottle in her hand (!?). She doesn't say Hello, thank you or anything and is constatly in a terrible mood where it seems like it's a problem if people ask for drinks or pastries. She is impolite and made us have to play rock paper scissors in order to see who has to go down for breakfast each morning. 11 days of giving us coffee and absolute no intention of trying to remember we like more milk in the coffee - everyday was the same conversation...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klementineTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antika L, Blu Monkey Team at Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Greeting from Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel

Firstly may I thank you for writing a review of Blu Monkey on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for taking precious time in letting us and others know how your stay went, and for the suggestions which you have made.
We are very grateful for your valuable feedback and would like to express our sincere regrets for any inconveniences or discomfort caused during your stay with us.

We are very pleased to hear that our reception staff had made your stay enjoyable. Thank you again for your compliments on our accommodation.
On a different note, your comments on lack of service and atmosphere had been shared accordingly. Please accept our appreciation for bringing these matters to our attention.
We hope this would not stop you from returning and giving us another chance. We sincerely hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

So, its called an apartment, but it's really a hotel. It's well-worth the money spent if you don't mind not being in the center of everything. I really enjoyed that there were more locals that tourist at surrounding restaurants and Wats.

As for the actual hotel: you get a private room with private bathroom. It's impeccably clean, and crisp. My room had a private balcony with sort-of an outside sink for dishes and things. Inside there was a small refrigerator, a desk and chair, and a big screen T.V. This place is a little noisy (meaning you can hear your neighbors), but part of the rules here are to be quiet. When I arrived it was a day late because my cabi from the airport wasn't familiar with the location. The woman at the front desk was kind enough to adjust my stay for an extra day without any extra charge, and without my even asking! She was wonderful! They do offer minor things like soda and coffee in the lobby, but you'll have to go out for a real meal; there are lots of good places in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_LongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antika L, Blu Monkey Team at Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Greeting from Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel

Thank you for your encouraging appraisal, we appreciate very much the time you took to review our property and services, it means a lot to us.

We believe strongly in customer satisfaction, for us customer service is: “the ability to constantly and consistently exceed the customer's expectations." and we are thankful that you gave us the privilege to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel.
“Sleep tight & wake bright”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed this hotel for a night. The room is good. Big room, comfy bed. There is a flat tv, refrigerator and safe box in the room.The toilet is very small.

Warm welcome from hotel staff.

I love the decoration by using some wording such as Friend, Family and Luck.
Only 3 things I don't like:
1. Noise from room doors: when other room lock or open the nob, you can hear it
2. Noise from the restaurant outside the hotel. There is a restaurant opposite the hotel
3. At the night I stay, I woke up around 3 a.m. because there are a group of tourist came in and made lound noise

Room Tip: No lift. You should ask the hotel staff for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikki_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antika L, Blu Monkey Team at Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Greeting from Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor, I was happy to read that you have enjoyed many aspects of your stay and shared with us some inconsistencies.

We have received a few comments recently concerning the noisy from other rooms and, even before reading your review, are in the process of attending to this very issue. We intend on resolving this in the very near future.

Your comment has been well noted but if I may be perfectly honest has been the only one mentioning this particular point we have received thus far.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel.
“Sleep tight & wake bright”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at Blu Monkey Hostel for an overnight business trip whilst on Phuket. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel (I dont think the rooms should be called an "apartment" or a "hostel") given the cheap price. The room was well appointed (twin bed, large TV, power shower, safe, balcony) and the building offers free undercover carparking. The modern reception area has a few necessities, and a wireless internet access code is given upon checking in. My only critisisms are that the walls between the rooms are relatively thin, so you can hear other TV's and people coming in at night and shutting/locking their room doors etc quite clearly, and that there is no passenger lift. The location is adequate with a very nice open air restaurant directly opposite, and a commercial area on the main road on the way to the hospital (for banks, 7 Eleven etc). I will definately consider staying here again if looking for cheap accommodation in the Phuket Town area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandCAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antika L, Blu Monkey Team at Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Greeting from Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel

Thank you for your review, we appreciate very much the time you took to review our property and services.

We believe strongly in customer satisfaction, for us customer service is: “the ability to constantly and consistently exceed the customer's expectations." and we are thankful that you gave us the privilege to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Blu Monkey Phuket Hostel.
“Sleep tight & wake bright”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The design and style of this hotel, from the lobby to the rooms is just great! I think they must have had a good designer work on their building. The lobby and rooms are clean. Everything works perfect, from the TV to the shower, bed, and AC. The rooms even have a balcony!

And you'd be paying a great affordable price for such a good hotel too! The only negative point is that there are no lifts/elevators, and staff don't help, so good luck if you're carrying all your luggage up to the 4th floor!

Blu Monkey is my current favorite hotel in Phuket Town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tristan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great stay, Clean beds, modern style apartments and pictures are what you get in person. The only improvement they could add is having someone who could speak good enough English to help out guests although the service was good.

Great for over night or couple of nights if you have somewhere else to venture the following days.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. They are clean and tidy suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
1.2 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
1.3 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#50 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.1 mi away
M Narina Hotel
M Narina Hotel
#215 of 319 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
9.4 mi away
Thai Palace Resort
Thai Palace Resort
#13 of 42 in Rawai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket

Property: Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket
Address: 113/3, 115, 117 Hongyok Utit | Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Blu Monkey Phuket Baan Samkong)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast is an accommodation with 49 rooms. Blu Monkeys Bed & Breakfast conveniently located at the heart of Phuket city, "SamKong" it is convenience to access and surrounded with local restaurants. The characteristic of Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast are designed of its theme and services with fulfillment in every detail. Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast considered on using Natural Energy in order to get benefit from nature by emphasis on airy and clearly environment and sunshine all over the buildings. Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast has established by group of architects who are locally from Phuket and they love to travel. They have terrific experiences in staying Bed & breakfast with basic service private bedroom, private bathroom, and breakfast. And that inspire them to establish Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast in their hometown The reason of "Blu Monkey" because of Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast is located on the foothills by Rang hill and Phuket downtown viewpoint. Rang hill is a habitats of monkey so we would like to present a monkey as a symbol because Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast has settle in that area. The blue color itself means the brightness and the friendliness then when it combined with Blu Monkey which is the representative of the host, warmly welcome and great hospitality for their guest like serving family at Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Monkey Bed & Breakfast Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing