We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Time

We chartered the Queen Marlin (60 ft) for a day in Phuket for some fishing. The captain tells great... read more

Reviewed 30 December 2016
Kristofer E
via mobile
The very best

Just experienced some amazing game fishing adventures on the Queen Marlin. The very best equipment... read more

Reviewed 16 November 2013
wilsonexplorers
,
Yarm, United Kingdom
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
5
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
1
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We took this charter in February 2017,there were 3 of us and we had come a long way to get there.Captain Howe was admittedly a nice guy who tried hard, as was his Thai deckie, but the boat simply wasent up to standard for a Similan Islands charter.
There was only 1 engine working, which meant that we struggled to get to trolling speed regularly, the electronics didn't seem to work all the time, and at night we had to run a noisy generator off the back of the boat.No anchor winch meant helping the deckie pulling up a seriously heavy anchor up by hand, which for a boat that size seemed crazy.
The Charter was originally a 5 day charter but we called it after 4 days, as there was 0 fish caught , and we took a refund on the last day.
As per Vincent H review, the cockroaches were still resident on the boat.That being said the food prepared was nice Thai food.
Hopefully this motivates to get the boat in good working order,as this is not intended to bring down a business, but to make realize that when spending 175,000.00 Baht a certain level of professionalism is expected.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 880kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We chartered the Queen Marlin (60 ft) for a day in Phuket for some fishing. The captain tells great stories and he makes the trip fun. We caught two tunas! This is the best thing we've done in Phuket and would say that a private charter of 6 or less people is the way to go.

We also got a great Thai meal for lunch and plenty of beer, coke, and water as you needed for the boat ride.

We booked by just calling him and he's English so it is easy to figure out dates.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Kristofer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Sorry we can not add up a good review as we see the 2 reviews back from 2013
We went for a big game fishing trip in feb. 2015 with Gottcha, in hope to get a nice big game fishing experience.
Besides the fact that we did not catch one single fish of any kind in spite of the perfect weather conditions (bad luck can happen..), what annoyed us most was the very poor service offered on board, and certainly not in comparison with the 35.000 Bath we paid for this one day trip (we were with 4 persons instead of the max 6 allowed)
The boat was covered with cockroaches, the food prepared by a boy that did not mind regulary tasting the sauce and continuing to prepare with same spoon...
The food was limited to a small amounts of rice, raw beans and chicken in a very spicy sauce, some fruits. Next to the small amounts of soft drinks present, the captain offered 2 cans of beer to the 2 males, but the 2 women were negelected offering anything...
An experience we unfortunately cannot recomment to anybody

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just experienced some amazing game fishing adventures on the Queen Marlin. The very best equipment, crew, captain, food, local knowledge, safety. Great for all from the very serious thru to little kids. quality, fun, great value.

Date of experience: November 2013
3  Thank wilsonexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

These guys know there stuff and were just great with the kids !
Good safety on there Game boat, great lunch prepared from The Ship Inn, owned by the captain and his wife.
Cooked our catch in there kitchen on return ! Just cant get better than this ! Thanks guys for a life memory for both my kids and my wife and I. Good luck for the future

Date of experience: July 2013
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews