We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overview of the history of Phuket's Chinese community...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Thaihua Museum

Phuket Thaihua Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.90*
and up
Half-Day Small-Group Walking Tour in Phuket
Ranked #30 of 107 things to do in Phuket Town
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good overview of the history of Phuket's Chinese community...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I remember thinking the entrance fee was a little overpriced but I can't actually remember what I paid. That aside, the museum is a good place for anyone interested in learning about the local Chinese diaspora and it won't take long to see all of the exhibits - maybe an hour at the most. Combine a visit with a visit to Old Town in general, lunch at the Kopitiam by Wilai down the street (some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten), a visit to Chinpracha House plus the old Governor's Mansion that's now the Blue Elephant (down the street) and a trek to the top of nearby Rang Hill for a view of the city. After that, you have pretty much seen Phuket Town...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    15
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Museum gives insight into early Chinese immigration to Phuket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a modern, wonderfully set up and maintained museum with interesting facts about the early Chinese migration to Phuket starting on a large scale with tin miners in the 1800's. These were followed by traders, bankers and families. Intermarriage with the local native population has produced a group of people that mostly have some Chinese ancestry. It outlines the families and their development into mine owners and wealthy businessmen within a few short years and their philanthropic contributions to Phuket's development over the years. It is set in an attractive old school building. History buffs would find it a worthwhile visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
“Go if raining or otherwise stuck in Phuket Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Telling the story of the Chinese contribution to Phuket, with English translations for most exhibits, the museum is well-presented, but suffers from the fact that the Chinese story isn't intrinsically very exciting. They came, they traded, they tin mined, they set up shops etc - the same as the Chinese story in a lot of other places. The staff take great pride in the museum and will be gald to see you. The museum has a free car park in front of its building. Toilets exist.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aussiewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Offers an excellent crash course on the history of Phuket old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

It would be a great idea to start off your little tour of Phuket town with this musuem set in an old chinese school building for a crash course on the history of Phuket town.

Learnt some really surprising facts about the history of Phuket of which I shall deign to reveal so I don't spoil the surprise for those who have yet to visit this museum.

Grab a drink or snack at the little cafe next to the museum. It's really pretty, especially the little courtyard at the back of the cafe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I had no idea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

While wandering around Phuket Town, we stumbled upon this remarkable little museum. There's a small entry fee to get into this well maintained former schoolhouse. One of the exhibit rooms was also well air-conditioned, so we may have lingered in that one a little longer. I may be giving myself away here, but aside from the movie Big Boss with Bruce Lee, I had not given much thought to the history of Chinese immigrants in Thailand. We learned about influential Chinese men and their families who helped shape Phuket as well as the lifestyle, culture, and education of local Chinese immigrants over time. It is extremely thorough in its story-telling - a beautiful place capturing thousands of beautiful memories.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Britt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phuket Thaihua Museum also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Thaihua Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing