We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expemsive Hotel at poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Phuket City Hotel
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Phuket Town
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expemsive Hotel at poor location”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

1) Hotel staff finds it difficult to understand English
2) Expensive airport transfer facility
3) Room key card stopped working once causing trouble
4) Bathroom door got locked twice from inside
5) Food at restaurant is not good

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Amol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    97
    60
    24
    24
See reviews for
24
61
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Booked via the internet before we went to Thailand. Very impressive lobby. Room was large and very clean. Good location as we could explore the old town and also get buses to the beaches and places of interest. Cooked food for breakfast could have been kept hotter but there was a good selection.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midland-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

A read through the reviews show some unhappy customers have stayed at the Royal Phuket City Hotel. However, when you stay at this hotel remember it's nearly 20 years old and you can't use the same criteria as for a new Novotel in Patong Beach so you won't find wifi or flat screen TV's in the rooms. If you are after a modern hotel with all the facilities that brings maybe try the local Metropole or stay in another area of Phuket. I found the Royal Phuket City a charming place. There's a beautiful lobby and reception area. Courteous staff as you would expect in a Thai hotel. The fitness centre is excellent with a nice Sauna & Spa. Yoga classes are available but cost 300 baht. I was disappointed with the Breakfast Buffet was poor by Thai standards. and some of the food was not fresh. Corridors could do with new carpets but despite wear and tear the hotel is kept very clean and tidy. The hotel is popular among Chinese holiday makers and offers easy access to the Bus Station across the road and nearby peers for boats to the Islands.

Room Tip: Non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This is uniquely my review about the coffee shop/Bakery/Restaurant "154 Café" located in this hotel.

Good variety of ;freshly brewed) coffee (hot/cold), pastry & sandwiches available free wifi, comfy sitting (indoor/outdoor), clean toilet and it's open till late (~12:30am) good value for money !
One of my favourite downtown Phuket city !
* I've forgotten...easy parking too !
(juste use the hotel facilities)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mariworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The location is good, the rooms are clean, and the gym is full-service. The hotel lobby was well-decorated. There seemed to be some fun entertainment down there. The cafe and the spa were both convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelsupUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Booked this hotel for 3 nights while staying in Phuket town before heading to the beach zone. Its nice and clean with a walking distance to Phuket old town and museums and restaurants. Bad thing is no free wifi but look back to the website for other hotels and found that even small guesthouse provided free wifi. Thai food is good there but dont try werstern there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel when we wanted to experience Phuket Vegetarian Festival 2012. From the Airport, the bus travelled through windy roads and suburban areas. When we were near to Central Festival, a huge shopping centre near town, the signage points the direction of this hotel, I suppose for car drivers who came from nearby Hatyai or Hua Hin.

Upon arrival, the receptionist checked us in within a few minutes and we were given coupons for a welcome herbal drink at the lobby lounge. The good thing about this is that we could postpone taking our drinks and have them within the period of our stay. We were also given the breakfast coupons for daily complimentary breakfast at the 19th level of the hotel.

The hotel boasts of a Chinese/Thai restaurant, a swimming pool, a gym and a spa/massage centre. It seems this hotel is complete as the management keeps the comfort of guests in mind. They even gave us a small platter of fruits, not much, but it gives us an indication that they care.

The room is huge with twin beds, table and chairs. The view from the winder was also fantastic. And during the night, we had a good night sleep. The only point which I hope the management will improve upon are the bathroom showers. They have two, one for hot and the other for cold water. Mixed the two and we could have water in the right temperature. But this was not to be. It was very difficult to control. When it is cold, we turned on more hot water, then it became too hot. We turned it the other way and we had very cold water. It took us five days to learn how to sort it out. Why install two shower heads when one will do?

The sights and sounds of the Vegetarian Festival street procession happen right infront of Metropole hotel, a 5-minute walk away. So when we saw the crowds and the ceaseless sounds, we were happy to walk back to our hotel to enjoy the tranquil peace and sleep.

At the time of our visit, the hotel was undergoing some renovation, but it does not affect our stay a bit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edyharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
#23 of 89 in Phuket Town
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
#57 of 89 in Phuket Town
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Malika Hotel
The Malika Hotel
#1 of 9 in Talat Yai
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#2 of 89 in Phuket Town
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phuket City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phuket City Hotel

Property: Royal Phuket City Hotel
Address: 154 Phang Nga Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Phuket City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I'am asst.Manager.Manager of royal phuket city hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Phuket City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phuket Town City Hotel
Royal Phuket City Hotel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing