We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Phuket City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Phuket City Hotel
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Phuket Town
Carces
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had recently the opportunity to host a workshop open to the public at the Royal Phuket City hotel. I was nicely surprised by the quality of the service and the excellent Thai food served during lunch.
Following such experience I seriously consider using this hotel as a venue to my next workshop

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FHuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    97
    59
    24
    22
See reviews for
23
60
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Old City-Boutique hotel in the heart of Phuket Town. The location may be not suitable for tourists looking for sea sun sand. Upon 3rd floor, you will find Aerobic centre, full equipment of fitness centre and swimming pool (old but clean).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pratya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

1) Hotel staff finds it difficult to understand English
2) Expensive airport transfer facility
3) Room key card stopped working once causing trouble
4) Bathroom door got locked twice from inside
5) Food at restaurant is not good

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Amol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Booked via the internet before we went to Thailand. Very impressive lobby. Room was large and very clean. Good location as we could explore the old town and also get buses to the beaches and places of interest. Cooked food for breakfast could have been kept hotter but there was a good selection.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midland-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

A read through the reviews show some unhappy customers have stayed at the Royal Phuket City Hotel. However, when you stay at this hotel remember it's nearly 20 years old and you can't use the same criteria as for a new Novotel in Patong Beach so you won't find wifi or flat screen TV's in the rooms. If you are after a modern hotel with all the facilities that brings maybe try the local Metropole or stay in another area of Phuket. I found the Royal Phuket City a charming place. There's a beautiful lobby and reception area. Courteous staff as you would expect in a Thai hotel. The fitness centre is excellent with a nice Sauna & Spa. Yoga classes are available but cost 300 baht. I was disappointed with the Breakfast Buffet was poor by Thai standards. and some of the food was not fresh. Corridors could do with new carpets but despite wear and tear the hotel is kept very clean and tidy. The hotel is popular among Chinese holiday makers and offers easy access to the Bus Station across the road and nearby peers for boats to the Islands.

Room Tip: Non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alecb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This is uniquely my review about the coffee shop/Bakery/Restaurant "154 Café" located in this hotel.

Good variety of ;freshly brewed) coffee (hot/cold), pastry & sandwiches available free wifi, comfy sitting (indoor/outdoor), clean toilet and it's open till late (~12:30am) good value for money !
One of my favourite downtown Phuket city !
* I've forgotten...easy parking too !
(juste use the hotel facilities)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mariworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The location is good, the rooms are clean, and the gym is full-service. The hotel lobby was well-decorated. There seemed to be some fun entertainment down there. The cafe and the spa were both convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelsupUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.3 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
Novotel Phuket Phokeethra
#25 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence
2.5 mi away
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
#47 of 83 in Phuket Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phuket City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phuket City Hotel

Property: Royal Phuket City Hotel
Address: 154 Phang Nga Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Phuket City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I'am asst.Manager.Manager of royal phuket city hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Royal Phuket City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phuket Town City Hotel
Royal Phuket City Hotel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing