We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gotum Hostel & Restaurant
1 review
“Comfortable and friendly.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The owner accommodated us with the taxi from the airport in a fair price. Great location in the middle of the Phuket old town. You can walk to the bus center, local food store and old town area within 5 minutes. Clean and comfortable place. The owner is being very helpful and friendly. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suthinee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUMphuket, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on Monday 10th of March 2014. I stayed in a mixed dorm room.
The room is very nice, with air conditioning working very well and the beds were very comfortable.
Each set of 2 beds (1 above the other) has a curtain that can be pulled right around the whole bed(s). When I stayed there there was only 1 other guy there but I imagine that even when it's full this feature would add greatly to the privacy.
On the Tuesday I checked out and left my bags there for the day while I visited the market and walked around town for the day killing time - I had a flight from Phuket airport to Bangkok that night around 11.30pm. I had misread the bus timetable from Phuket town to the airport and thought there was a bus departing around 8pm. I leisurely arrived back at the Hostel at 6.25pm to be greeted by the owner (a lovely young-ish lady) and she was panicking on my behalf.
She told me that the last bus leaves at 6.30pm and immediately she used her phone to contact the bus company and confirmed that the 6.30pm bus was the last one. She found out where the bus passes that is nearby the hostel and before I knew what was happening she threw me a helmet and I was hopping on her personal motorbike and she drove me to the nearby pickup spot without a second thought!
You cannot buy service like, such a nice thing to do.
As you can probably guess, I definitely recommend this Hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUM-food-and-drink, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great service Great Hostel
The owner is very friendly
The room is clean comfortable bed
Two toilets the toilets are ok
Near landmarks Phuket's old town
easy to walk to the other places

Next time I'll be here again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo-doubleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUM-food-and-drink, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

we were SO happy to not stay in patong or the crazy overcrowded tourist areas. this place in old town was really great! it wasnt the most social hostel ever, but if you are traveling with people, it awesome! such good cheap restaurants just around the corner (Eleven Two & CO was our fav!!!). The staff are super friendly, got a bottle of water for free each day and even soap & shampoo! that was a nice surprise in a hostel. I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUM-food-and-drink, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hostel has a great location and the rooms are really clean. It also has curtains in each bed, so you can have your own private place.
They only have 2 toilets and the shower is over the toilet!! They are really small and it isn't nice if someone use the shower and then you wanna use the toilet, everything will be wet.
They have A/C in the rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiorella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUM-food-and-drink, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The best customer service we've had in all our trip to Asia! Big breakfast, great location near the lake, clean room, comfortable beds, English channels tv and very good price!
Absolutely recommend it!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valentina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUM-food-and-drink, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Not bad value for money. Got eaten alive by mosquitoes during the night
Restaurant was pretty good, nice Pad Thai. Internet was pretty good.
They didnt tell us they lock up the hostel at midnight and my friend ended up getting locked out for the night. Not exactly great but they did refund him his money for that night as a goodwill gesture.
Location was ok, bit of a walk from the bus-station if you are coming in from the airport

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOTUM-food-and-drink, Owner at Gotum Hostel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you my guest for your review and visit Gotum Hostel & Restaurant. See you nexttime. For you , your family and your friend is my guest don't forget to direct email to me if yours visit phuket for special. / Gotum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#1 of 12 in Talat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hao Hostel
Hao Hostel
#7 of 12 in Talat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
2W Cafe & Hostel
2W Cafe & Hostel
#24 of 213 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quip Bed & Breakfast
Quip Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 180 in Phuket Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fulfill Phuket Hostel
Fulfill Phuket Hostel
#11 of 213 in Phuket Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rattana Residence
Rattana Residence
#98 of 180 in Phuket Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotum Hostel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotum Hostel & Restaurant

Property: Gotum Hostel & Restaurant
Address: 44 Yaowarat Road | Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gotum Hostel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket has a variety of beaches and Phuket town is rich with architectural of Classic Chino-Portuguese homes where Gotum Hostel & Restaurant is located in. Gotum Hostel & Restaurant offers non-smoking dormitory rooms with air-conditioning. The hostel has Standard 10 bed mixed dorm and Standard 8 bed mixed dorm. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning.Price is based on 1 bed basis & per persons. All guests share common showers & toilet facilities as dormitory does not have en-suites. Towels, shower gel and shampoo are provided. Free WIFI is available.Children below 8 yrs old are not allowed and the hostel will contact with the guests within 48 hours after receiving the booking to complete booking to guarantee the bookings.The on-site restaurant serves a variety of Thai and international cuisines.For convenience, the hostel offers airport shuttle services at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gotum Hostel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotum Hostel & Restaurant Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing