We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quip Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 197 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stumbled on Quip last minute as we were getting off the ferry from Koh Phi Phi and had to stay overnight in Phuket before an early flight the next day. We were immediately impressed by the lobby decor as it was something we would expect to see in a trendy Brooklyn hotel.

The hotel was extremely clean and modern. The rooms were sparse but had everything we needed and the bathrooms were a nice change from what we were used to seeing. The hotel also had a restaurant/bar area and our stay included complimentary breakfast.

From what we saw, this was one of the nicer hotels in the city of Phuket and was walking distance from many locations. It was also conveniently located next to the bus to the airport. I would definitely recommend Quip if you need a place to stay when passing through.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

When you arrive at quip you can't help but be impressed with it's funky reception and downstairs cafe.

The rooms however are average, clean but so so beds, slow to cool down and the TV only has thai channels as opposed to the usual cable/sat options , WiFi average/ok speed.

Bathroom has a nice hot shower, plugs etc

They didn't clean my room but I've since noticed a please clean my room sign that I maybe should have put out- it's not entirely obvious though.

overall it's a nice place, being new they have a few areas to improve on but once they do it'll be a good place to stay. Breakfast was one of those areas - White bread/toast & cornflakes or choco things and filter coffee. kinda expected a little more.

I got a good deal on agoda so not too bothered but I'd be slightly disappointed if I paid anymore for this room and service

Still budget rooms are hard to find in Phuket and it's a lot better than some of the other similar priced places I've stayed in the town.

Hopefully they'll take note of some of the comments as it could be a cracking place to stay if they up their game slightly

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEdusei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were attracted by the bright lights of this warehouse style space - what a great entrance. The mini cooper reception desk and banks of vintage TVs paved the way to the cafe where we had a delicious spicy salmon salad and the crispiest, tastiest skinny fries. The whole place was like a party for my eyes, whether it was the crowd of immaculate Barbies lining the wall, the old skool hairdryer stand or the beautiful Burberry upholstered scooter. The service was great and the atmosphere was funky, loved it! A nice change from plate after plate of noodles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Checked in to this hotel a few days ago (3/3/2013). Manage to find this after checking with Sino Imperial Hotel which is directly opposite of this hotel. The so call car park is at open air which is opposite of the hotel and beside Sino Imperial Hotel. Which means you have to carry your luggage across the busy street (Phuket Road). It's not too bad for me, but for those who has many luggages, it might be troublesome.

Personally i find Sino Imperial has a better location.

The check in process is ok. Just feel a bit busy that i have to pay 500Baht for an extra room card.

The lobby is nice and cooling. It's nicely decorated with lots of antique (old TVs, telephones etc). It has a cafe and sell nice coffee.

There isn't any 7-11 or convenient store, there you have to drive out to get staffs.

The room it self is simple. The bed is on a construction wood crate, which can be quite low for some people. The wall and floor is cemented, which is quite interesting. The bed is very hard and not really comfortable. The aircon is located at the entrance which can be quite far from the bed. It can be quite hot and it took quite some time to cool down the room.

The service is not really good as my room was not tidy up the 2nd day. They didn't provide me extra drinking water, there we have to drive out to get water since there's any convenient store around. In the last day, we requested for old newspaper for wrapping our refrigerated stuffs, but the receptionist just say no without even searching the back.

Personally i think there are lots of improvements on the service though you can't change much on the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingsiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank siloxanewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rijkard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sarisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#4 of 93 in Phuket Town
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 93 in Phuket Town
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#1 of 93 in Phuket Town
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
0.8 mi away
Sino Inn Phuket
Sino Inn Phuket
#12 of 197 in Phuket Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quip Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quip Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54 Phuket Rd, Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Price Range: £17 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quip Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quip Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quip Bed & Breakfast Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing