We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Elephants!!

I think the best part of the whole experience was the Elephant trekking.I was a bit skeptical when... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2017
RajShetty72
,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
via mobile
Boring except for elephant ride

We did the 6 in 1 safari tour which was a half day 4 hour trip in November 2014. The walk through... read more

Reviewed 25 November 2014
JLI323
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 23 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Phuket Town
from US$123.10
More Info
from US$127.16
More Info
from US$127.00
More Info
from US$93.50
More Info
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
4
7
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
5
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We were taken around to meet the elephants. We love the young cute elephant. We bought bananas there to feed them. Then we had elephant ride. It was quite a long ride and a bit scary at times but overall we enjoyed the ride. It is once a life time experience.

Thank Ng Yow L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

We did the 6 in 1 safari tour which was a half day 4 hour trip in November 2014.

The walk through the jungle to the waterfall was pretty slippy and dangerous. Once at the waterfall, which wasn't very impressive, some of the group went swimming. The guide didn't provide any information on the waterfall or the area, she just sat there and chilled while some of the group were swimming.

After we went to the gibben project and saw a few animals and were told of their mistreatment before being rescued which was interesting.

We were really disappointed with the canoeing. Based on the brochure, it looked like we would row our own canoe, however an employee took us on a quick trip in the canoe around a circuit - again there was absolutely no info provided on what waters we were in or what we were looking at.

The elephant ride was a great experience and a highlight of the trip. It was around 30mins and we went along muddy tracks, through a river and up a pretty scary hill! We even got a chance to sit on the elephants neck while the mahoot took photographs on our phone which was brill.

Overall, a really disappointing trip except for the elephant ride. We found it boring and the guide provided absolutely no useful information. Would recommend just doing the elephant ride and skipping the rest!

4  Thank JLI323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

It's so cool today. Real fresh air from nature. The biggest waterfall in Phuket at Bangpae waterfall in khai Pra Theo National Park.Happy to see gibbon habilitation. The foreigner is volunteers in Thailand. Thanks for their kind. Nice location for Elephant trekking because Elephant walk troughs little river from waterfall. This company do good take care with theirs animals. Beautiful buffalo and cart walk in the plain green field ,got feeling seem like Thai local people daily life. Thanks for Guide LadyBerry! Thanks for Driver(don't know his name ;) )

Thank King N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

I did the Bang Pae Safari and really enjoyed the pretty waterfall and canoe ride. The Gibbon rehabilitation centre was an eye opening experience, they told me all about the plight of the Gibbon monkey in Thailand who are poached, drugged and kept captive to perform to tourists. The centre was doing a great job to rehabilitate these precious animals. But the elephant trek was just horrible and appalling. These beautiful creatures were chained to a very small concrete block, no bigger than a single car park. They looked extremely unhealthy and dehydrated with weeping eyes and dried out skin with sores. The keepers were way more interested in making some money off the photos than caring for the elephants and were very harsh with them constantly yelling orders at them and banging them with a knife ended stick. It's is clear that this instrument has been used to harshly train the poor elephants because any time the keeper got the stick out the elephant cowered and went back to following orders. (By the way the elephants only 'disobedience' was eating some grass off the ground.) In order for the people to ride atop the elephant there were chains all around it's body which looked incredibly tight and sore especially around it's neck. There were also many other animals kept in captivity there in terrible states including a huge majestic python in a cage fit for a hamster! I hope this review encourages the Bang Pae safari group to put money into helping these beautiful animals and making the tour much more animal friendly as it was incredibly upsetting seeing the elephants treated in such a cruel and violent way. Otherwise the other aspects of the tour were quite nice.

5  Thank louisemcalpine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went on the mini safari. Wasn't quite what i expected, but still had fun.
Elephant trekking takes around 30 mins, through a little jungle and the fields. Then onto the Gibbon Project, which was interesting, and a walk to the waterfall. We went swimming - no one else was interested, but the guides waited for us, so not a problem.
Buffalo Cart ride - we could have happily skipped this part

1  Thank mcgowan_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews