We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it's cheap price”
Review of Sinthavee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinthavee Hotel
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Phuket Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth it's cheap price”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend as a stopover after coming back from Phi Phi. After leaving there I didn't think anywhere could be as bad but how wrong was I! The lady who checked us in didn't know where our room was and sent us to the wrong floor. We had to try different floors until we found it. The lights along the corridor didn't work so you couldn't really see the room numbers. Along with that the whole place smelt awful, including our room. We had requested a double room but got a twin room. The bathroom was covered in mould and the door had holes in it. The decor was incredibly outdated. The fridge was rusty. The paint was coming off the wall. We were not even given half a roll of toilet roll, no spares. The wifi was not free, luckily many restaurants and cafés had free wifi so we didn't pay for it.
As a whole I wouldn't really bother going to Phuket Town, we were right in the centre where it was supposed to be lively but most things were shut. Definitely not this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    25
    11
    28
See reviews for
2
22
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

well looking at the photos you will be forgiven for think this is a nice place. there is a reason why its super cheap. the lobby looks great but the rooms are extremely dingy, but then i only paid a few bucks a night for the room and it suited my needs i was hardly there. the staff barely spoke anything but thai. i did not come across a pool at all. so the pics are definitely misleading. if you just want a cheap place to sleep then stay here but if you want a bit more for your holiday avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: just do your self a favour and stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel that I have been to in Phuket. The hotel looks so old & there is not enough space to park the car. In order to go the room, you have to climb one more floor to get to the elevator. Imagine if you have kids & lots of luggage. The room was awful, smelt weird & the bathroom was horrible. It gave me the creeps that I skipped bath at night. The furniture was dusty & the TV did not function at all. I will never come back to this hotel again & I don't recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank By5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived after booking the hotel on the back of the pics we had see on trip advisor but didn't read any reviews which was a MASSIVE mistake!! The hotel has obviously been very grand in its day but now it is just a rundown horrendous excuse for a hotel and if I am honest I think it may be more used as a brothel rather than a hotel now.

The hotel had this weird creepy feeling as soon as you walk in. We got the lift to our room and had to walk along the corridor past old shops and salons which have since been closed down and boarded up a long time ago. We opened the door to our room which was so dirty.

Bed linen was horrifically marked as were the towels in the bathroom, obv unchanged since the last occupant. The carpet was stained as were the walls??? As soon as we seen the state of the room we about turned and headed back to reception where we were given a refund no questions asked! They obv acknowledge how bad the place is!

Do yourself and your own sanity a favour by not going near this place!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McGill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The price was right. The photos were nice. The location was perfect. Everything looked good. So we booked the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed at the spacious entrance way, the comfortable cushioned couches in the lobby and the impressive grand staircase leading up to the rooms. WOW!

We were shown to our room. It was not as impressive, of course. However, it looked pretty clean. The bed was made. The refridgerator was humming. The air conditioning worked great. But the lampshade had sizable water stains and the room STANK with mildew. That musty smell never went away even after we tried to air out the room by opening the windows. We should have asked for another room. But we didn't.

We checked out the bathroom and was greeted by a TORN and MOLDY shower curtain. It was FILTHY!!! Check out the photo. Why, oh why, didn't we move?? Never again will we stay in this awful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank baldeagle7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, USA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

At one time, this was probably a nice hotel but now it is amazing that this place is still open. It looks like maintenance has not been done for decades. In the room the locally made wooden box that is between the twin beds (with the light switches and a little flat top for personal stuff) was hanging from the wires. The handle on the refrigerator door was broken (and obviously had been for a long time). At the awful included breakfast (fried eggs that were stone cold, toast, rice, thin sliced canned ham and something that looked like coffee) there were three guests (besides the seven in my group). Since the hotel has 10 or ll stories of rooms, that does not indicate a very substantial occupancy. All the hotel shops are boarded up and unavailable. I see many reviewers call the place creepy. I had not really thought of it that way but I can surely see how that could be their impression. The good news is that the beds were ok and there was hot water in both the shower and the bathroom sink (not something we had in some other hotels we stopped at on our 5 day trip). If the price was 500 Baht (about $15) it would have been a good deal but at $50 it was overpriced for a Phuket town hotel far from the beach. A nice boutique hotel can be had for $30 right within an easy walk to Patong beach and this hotel is nowhere near a beach. The photos are VERY deceiving. They did have a person to deliver the bags to and from the room (he looked like he had worked there for at least 50 years but the bags got to the right place at the right time) and the bill was accurate.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Oh, where to begin...This is a weird, weird hotel... I can't quite put my finger on it but it is kind of creepy, in a way that makes you amazed you are still alive in the morning. As we found ourselves back for a second night, it is starting to feel like the Hotel California.
We ended up here because it was the only "budget" hotel in Phuket that wasn't full. We paid $500 B. The staff are all very pleasant. The lobby is cavernous and devoid of human life. To get to the rooms, you walk down a large corridor that was once lined with shops, all of which are closed and empty. The elevator is scary and the lights that tell you what floor you are on short out. The carpets are filthy and stained and the hotel is massive and laid out in a confusing way. I do not believe the hotel owns a vacuum cleaner. The rooms have seen better days, the TV's don't work, some of the lights don't work, the floors are filthy' the windows are dirty BUT here is the weird thing... the bed sheets and bathrooms in both the rooms were surprisingly clean!
Upon our arrival on night two, I asked reception about the swimming pool that is pictured on Trip Advisor and other promotional photos, she laughed rather slyly, shook her head and said, "No. There is no pool here." Internet cost $50 B and the wi-fi works.
If the hotel stopped its false advertising (swimming pool, etc) and invested in some new carpet, paint, someone to service the elevator and a vacuum... it could actually be an okay place...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinchipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
1.3 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
0.3 mi away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#13 of 89 in Phuket Town
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twin Inn Hotel
Twin Inn Hotel
#59 of 89 in Phuket Town
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rome Place Hotel
Rome Place Hotel
#67 of 89 in Phuket Town
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
PHUKET TOWN INN
PHUKET TOWN INN
#7 of 9 in Talat Yai
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mei Zhou Phuket
Mei Zhou Phuket
#28 of 89 in Phuket Town
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinthavee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinthavee Hotel

Property: Sinthavee Hotel
Address: 89 Phang-Nga Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sinthavee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sinthavee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinthavee Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing