We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, nice surroundings but food not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

2nd trip to this Restraunt in 3 years, first time was great, sadly this time no where near as good.

The staff, music and ambience are great, ample parking and very easy to find of you haven't been here before.

Sadly though, the food is below average on a taste and quality scale.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wheelyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Phuket town is really for a 1 day stop over with no real sights,shopping and no beach if you are looking for a cheap good value one night stay this hotel is perfect.

Location: walking distance to old town and main shopping area, not very touristy town as well as bus station 1 which you can catch a pink local bus to bus station 2 for longer trips an buses to all beaches on Phuket.

Room: every room is unique ours was huge. Some furniture a bit dated but everything worked including the wifi. Shower head and water pressure and temp superb. Microwave and basic kitchen facilities if needed. Huge firm bed and very clean room overall.

Value: great value for money as the room rate is very good and you get more than you paid for.

Breakfast: unlike a previous reviewer I thought the breakfast was the best I has in my 2 week stay in thailand. Thai sweets an Thai options I did not see at any other hotels as well as huge buffet of all European and American options. Excellent.

Service: swift, friendly, professional. Good.

Overall only fault is that Phuket town is not a long term stay kinda place and that is no fault of the hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Really nice room for a great price!

Pros:
- clean
- friendly staff
- air conditioning
- beautiful rooms

Cons:
- not very good breakfast
- not close to anything (not many choices of restaurants, no shopping, no beaches)
- not pedestrian friendly; busy road with barely little areas to walk on the sides
- wifi is slow

Overall: Good stopover place but not a good area to stay for a long period of time!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sher88zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Although there isn't much to do in that Phuket Town, the hotel itself is good value for money. Rooms are massive, clean and reasonable priced.

My only advice is, do not book a cab with them, as they charge you about 5 times the local rates. Aside from that, would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel was great. It's very affordable and is a nice traditional Thai designed hotel. The room was brilliant with everything in the mini bar FREE!!
It is located next to a fantastic restaurant that's really cheap. Also next door is an amazing spa that you get 50% discount on. We used the spa and restaurant a lot!

The location is okay. We loved the hotel, but we prefer to be near beaches etc, so we didn't love the location of this hotel, but it if you're not into the beaches then it's perfect. Plus, it's in Phuket Town so you shouldn't expect to be near the beach.

The breakfast on the rooftop was average. The milk was warm and breads quite stale. But, it was a free breakfast and given the cost of the room was okay.

Overall, we loved the hotel and would recommend to anyone. We probably wouldn't stay here again ourselves but that is only because we love being on the beach in Phuket!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor-NZ-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We went there for 2 nights for a short visit in Phuket City, and considering the price we paid it was a great place indeed, a nice welcoming hall, enormous and clean room, the breakfast served in the rooftop excellent.
just next to the hotel you would find also a good restaurant with a nice terrace.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomFelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have always wanted to visit Phuket and decided to add it on after my group trip to Asia ended. Unfortunately my timing was for the 28 of December, which is high season for Thailand. High season means two things: 1) rooms are harder to find, and 2) room prices are inflated. I was more concerned about budget than staying in a hotel on a beach, so I found my way to Sino House. In all honesty, I truly liked my room and enjoyed my stay.

Pros: #1 The hotel doubles as short-term housing so the rooms are very spacious and include kitchenettes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave and dishes. #2 There is free WiFi that works very well in your room. #3 There is a small counter in the corner of the lobby with complimentary water, coffee, tea and cookies for guests to enjoy. #4 There is a spa on the other side of the hotel's parking lot that offers a discount for Sino House guests. #5 There is a restaurant right next to the hotel so you need not walk far for something to eat. #6 The included breakfast buffet is small but has several good options.

Cons: #1 There was a dingy smell of sorts that hit my nose every time I stepped foot in the room. It was mildly unpleasant at first but eventually I didn't notice it. I stayed in my room for three nights so by no means was the smell intolerable. #2 Staying in Phuket Town is cheaper than the major areas (Patong, Kata, Phuket, etc.) for a reason. The reason being it's a 20-30 minute drive away from those areas and is nowhere near a beach. #3 There wasn't really too much in the area for someone who likes to explore. I didn't get the impression that Phuket Town is much of a tourist destination. Most of the dining spots/storefronts are for locals and there aren't many options for shopping. #4 Phuket Town is a little further removed from tourists to the point where you won't find very many people who speak or understand English.

Recommendations: #1 If you're like me and budget takes precedence over the beautiful room on the beach, I highly recommend staying in Phuket Town. #2 Don't be surprised if you get incorrect directions from the Sino House staff that leads to you getting lost. #3 Due to the language barrier, should you decide to go out and explore, pay attention to where you turn as well as recognizable landmarks around you so you can find your own way back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank appetite4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#4 of 92 in Phuket Town
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#1 of 92 in Phuket Town
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 92 in Phuket Town
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meroom
Meroom
#3 of 11 in Talat Yai
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malika Hotel
The Malika Hotel
#2 of 11 in Talat Yai
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment

Address: 1 Montree Rd. | Talad -Yai, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: £24 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sino House Phuket Hotel, a warm and comfortable hotel located in downtown Phuket. 57 Beautiful rooms, each individually designed, have the charm and character of Sino-Portugues style. At Sino House Phuket Hotel, you will find everything you need for either a joyful holiday or an important business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sino Hotel Apartment
Sino Hotel Phuket Town
Sino House Phuket Hotel And Apartment Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing