We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hype”
Review of Baan Suwantawe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Suwantawe
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I came to this hotel following the advise from Tripadvisor reviewers, and have to say I am quite disappointed.

The hotel is good enough, but not worth the certificates of excellence, in my opinion. The room is just ok, and the facilities are nothing remarkable. The staff is also very dry and definitely the less friendly hotel staff I encountered in Thailand.

Sure, the location is good, in the centre of Phuket, but then you should be wondering why you want to stay in Phuket at all: there are some nice bars and restaurants, but not much more to enjoy here. Finally, the prices were just ok, no Thai bargain here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mikael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Baan Suwantawe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We flew in late..and didn't get to our room until late. The front desk was nice and the room/hotel was clean and quiet. The pool was beautiful even though we didn't get a chance to stay in it. Nice restaurant and liquor store right down the street which was convenient as well.

We really loved our patio. Like I said we went for dinner down the street, bought some cocktails and had a few drinks on our beautiful patio. There was live music at the bar across the street and we listened on the patio and it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very central hotel, good value for money. Only 2 minutes walk from restaurants/cafes/shops. And its about 10 minutes from bus station where you can catch buses to pretty much anywhere for 35 baht. The pool area was very nice, rooms are spacious, very modern and air conditioned. The reception staff were fantastic. We couldn't fault the domestic ladies that clean the rooms, they were fantastic.(and we are clean freaks, so thats saying something!!!). I would be happy to stay here again. Thank you Baan Suwantawe!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights hoping to spend some time in Phuket Town after coming back from other islands. The hotel is good for the amount it charges with neat and spacious rooms. The hotel has no restaurants, so you'll need to look for food nearby. Not a problem if you're willing to walk a few blocks and explore the area. On the weekends you can enjoy the Indy market, which is right across the street. A few drawbacks - the bar across the street is quite loud & not sure how "clean" the bedsheets were - felt sticky and by the 2nd night my skin was growing little bumps from being infected by something.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Baan Suwantawe is great little hotel located in Phuket town that offer awesome value for money.

It is clean,staff is nice and the rooms are spacious. They do have decent pool but unfortunately we were not able to use it do to some small construction work but we didnt mind to much.

If you plant to stay for couple of days you cant make mistake staying here:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beliblisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed there for only one night but it was a comfortable and soothing stay. A small cozy clean comfortable hotel. Well stocked mini bar, clean toilet, comfortable bed. Calm and quiet environment. And all these for a very reasonable cost !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeepa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a nice hotel if you have to stay in Phuket Town for the night. Relatively clean and comfortable and spacious rooms, good facilities, nice balcony over looking in the pool.... Although we didn't think it was as great as every body had said on line!
The biggest negative is that any restaurant for breakfast or dinner is at least a good 10 or 15 mins walk away (If you can find any) which is not ideal if you are tired from traveling or in a rush in the morning to catch the ferry!

Phuket Town its self: DO NOT EXPECT MUCH, In fact don't expect anything.... i would really suggest that you avoid staying in this town as much as possible. We stayed because we were catching the ferry in the morning however i wish i'd stayed in bangkok for the night and paid the taxi in and out as this town was a waste of a night. the markets and shops are not great at all, a good restaurant is hard to find. Not much to do and really crappy if i'm truly honest!

Room Tip: The rooms all face over the pool and are good size.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.1 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 90 in Phuket Town
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#2 of 90 in Phuket Town
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 328 in Patong
740 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.8 mi away
The Malika Hotel
The Malika Hotel
#1 of 9 in Talat Yai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suwantawe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suwantawe

Address: 1/10 Dibuk Rd., Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
#8 Best Value Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Suwantawe 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Suwantawe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suwantawe Hotel Phuket Town
Baan Suwantawe Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing