We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Nice, Bit Overpriced.”
Review of Phuket Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phuket Backpacker
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Cost 300 a night for a dorm room, without proper walls (pretty noisy). Floor makes it sound like there is an elephant trek going on in the hallway. No towels provided, unlike nearly every other hostel/guesthouse. Double room is at minimum 700, vastly overpriced compared to other places, ironically not really good for budget backpackers. Not allowed to take own food and drink into the hostel, makes no sense when backpacking especially how expensive their food was. Bed was comfortable and clean with hot showers, no complaints about the staff, WiFi also very good. If your on a budget stay elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JackMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Clean dorm room with good air con. Good location that transport and local people know if your lost. Great info from the staff who speak good English and have sound advice on what price to expect including some deals for trips which are cheaper. Atmosphere was second to none with so many different nationalities mixing every night to chat. Cheap bar. Efficient laundry service and a 'no job to big' attitude. It was refreshing to meet staff like Art who speak good English and therefore can have in depth discussion and share humour.

Location is great for phi phi and island trips/local beaches but isn't busy with shops and markets like other areas. I would come back solely to experience this hostel again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here over Christmas time last year, gotta say it was the best hostel Iv stayed in at that time. it was clean, staff were really friendly & its only a 2 Min walk to the beach. Banglar road where the clubs & bars are is just around the corner, I recommend this hostel to anyone that is young and on their travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel for two nights. We were over in the Patong area for two nights and decided to get away from the hustle and bustle. Phuket town is a great little area with really easy access to public transportation to the rest of the island. There is a bit of a night life but nothing too crazy. Phuket Backpacker is SUPER easy to find and right next door to 7-11. There is a great movie/family room downstairs near the bar where we met a bunch of other backpackers. We stayed in a private room with AC for $20. It was cheapest to book on hostel world.com. The room was clean and the AC was nice to have. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for an inexpensive hotel in a safe area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at Phuket Backpackers for one night. We wanted to arrange a airport transport which took a lot of effort to organise but in the end there was someone to pick us up.

The room itself was really nice, very clean with nice facilities.

In the morning we asked them to help us to arrange a ferry ticket to Koh Lanta. The staff gave us inaccurate advice about how to get there and made us feel like we were really inconveniencing them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_Woodsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hostel staff are really friendly!! Even if there English lacks a little they more than make up for itinerant effort!!! Tour desk was helpful and drinks cheap. The receptionist was honest about this butstill the one downside was that we were in their second building and it teamed of dead animal in the hallway... but the room was smell free at least :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyUSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here by accident... we thought we had booked the Patong backpacker and realized our mistake after taking a taxi ride to the Patong Backpacker and showing the reciept of the deposit. Yeah, not very smart, but it ended up being one of the best mistakes we made. The Phuket backpacker was a great way to meet other travelers. There is an open area with a tv, computers (and it's right next to the bar which doesn't hurt) where we met some life long friends. The staff had a good sense of humor which made our experience that much better. They were always friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
8.5 mi away
Thai Palace Resort
Thai Palace Resort
#14 of 43 in Rawai
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baan Oui
Baan Oui
#5 of 15 in Nai Harn
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#2 of 12 in Talat Yai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Paradise Inn Phuket
Paradise Inn Phuket
#2 of 4 in Karon Beach
60 reviews
5.8 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#16 of 231 in Patong
190 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fin Hostel Phuket
Fin Hostel Phuket
#6 of 118 in Karon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Backpacker

Address: 165 Ranong Rd | T. Taladnaue, A. Maung, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phuket Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened: Contemporary Thai / Chinese fusion boutique hostel, conveniently located in the centre of Phuket town. Great value with sophistication! Very welcome to Phuket Backpacker. We are centrally located in the bustling heart of Phuket Town. A town rich with Thai culture & history. We offer a home away from home. With our newly renovated property we offer our guests clean & comfortable accommodation set in a contemporary boutique Asian fusion style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Phuket Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Backpacker Hotel Phuket
Phuket Backpacker Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing