We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Truth”
Review of Phuket Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phuket Backpacker
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My experience at the Phuket Backepacker was an Amazing one to say the least, instantly hitting it off with the staff being the natually kind and helpful people they are. Locals as well, as were the fellow Backpackers passing through. Rooms are perfecly fine, and the location of the hostel is perfect, this is my honest oppinion, and suggest to have a look in if ever in Phuket Town witch in itself is very insightful. :)

Room Tip: just ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

The common area of this hostel is very impressive and what you see in all the pictures on hostelworld etc. The check-in process was slow - painfully slow. The staff at reception seemed very unorganised, which we later found to be the case every time we had dealings with them (besides the female manager who was really helpful and who we spoke to on a couple of occasions when the staff decided to change our room rate). We had booked a private room, which we didn't realise was not in the same main building as the rest of he hostel, and which certainly wasn't decorated to the same standard. The corridors were very smelly and bare, a bit like an empty warehouse, which often felt a bit eerie when arriving back late at night. Despite this, the room was clean and nicely decorated, the tv worked well and the bed was comfortable. We still felt that the hostel was good value, although i should note that they upgraded us to an ac room on arrival (we assume they accidentally gave our fan room to someone else) and tried to charge us extra for the following nights. We would definitely stay here again if we were back in the area, now that we know what to expect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had quite a pleasant stay here- double room was nice with good fan and very comfy bed, social area is nice and you can watch dvd in room for free which we loved. The mixed berry shakes at the bar are well worth the 100bht really nice, however there are no veggie options for food what so ever and the breakfast featured undercooked eggs.
Laundry service is good and returns next day.
The staff were pleasant during our stay, however when we tried to ask some questions later in afternoon about transport they became impatient and rude, just ignoring us and then saying "do you even stay here?". We just needed to book transport to airport for our late flight. In the end we felt so unwelcome to wait at hotel even though we had been buying food and drinks that we got our bags and chose to wait the 5 hours at airport instead of here. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights while in Phuket. We enjoyed our stay and the hostel has a good location in Phuket Town rather than in the more touristy Patong. However, while the staff are friendly, even though 3 or 4 people might be at the reception desk only one will serve anyone at a time even though there might be five people waiting to get help. The main problem I had with the hostel was that we bought bus tickets to travel to Bangkok overnight from them. We were told these tickets were for a comfortable bus with a toilet and that we'd be served dinner too. In actuality the bus was really uncomfortable, with no toilet and no dinner and only one stop off. The bus left an hour later than we were told it would and the price printed on the ticket was less than half of what we paid the hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AislingMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Cost 300 a night for a dorm room, without proper walls (pretty noisy). Floor makes it sound like there is an elephant trek going on in the hallway. No towels provided, unlike nearly every other hostel/guesthouse. Double room is at minimum 700, vastly overpriced compared to other places, ironically not really good for budget backpackers. Not allowed to take own food and drink into the hostel, makes no sense when backpacking especially how expensive their food was. Bed was comfortable and clean with hot showers, no complaints about the staff, WiFi also very good. If your on a budget stay elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JackMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Clean dorm room with good air con. Good location that transport and local people know if your lost. Great info from the staff who speak good English and have sound advice on what price to expect including some deals for trips which are cheaper. Atmosphere was second to none with so many different nationalities mixing every night to chat. Cheap bar. Efficient laundry service and a 'no job to big' attitude. It was refreshing to meet staff like Art who speak good English and therefore can have in depth discussion and share humour.

Location is great for phi phi and island trips/local beaches but isn't busy with shops and markets like other areas. I would come back solely to experience this hostel again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here over Christmas time last year, gotta say it was the best hostel Iv stayed in at that time. it was clean, staff were really friendly & its only a 2 Min walk to the beach. Banglar road where the clubs & bars are is just around the corner, I recommend this hostel to anyone that is young and on their travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.7 mi away
Hao Hostel
Hao Hostel
#9 of 14 in Talat Yai
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#2 of 14 in Talat Yai
77 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fin Hostel Phuket
Fin Hostel Phuket
#6 of 121 in Karon
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Patong Backpacker Hostel
Patong Backpacker Hostel
#22 of 237 in Patong
170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#26 of 237 in Patong
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phuket Sunny Hostel
Phuket Sunny Hostel
#50 of 238 in Phuket Town
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Backpacker

Address: 165 Ranong Rd | T. Taladnaue, A. Maung, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phuket Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened: Contemporary Thai / Chinese fusion boutique hostel, conveniently located in the centre of Phuket town. Great value with sophistication! Very welcome to Phuket Backpacker. We are centrally located in the bustling heart of Phuket Town. A town rich with Thai culture & history. We offer a home away from home. With our newly renovated property we offer our guests clean & comfortable accommodation set in a contemporary boutique Asian fusion style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Phuket Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Backpacker Hotel Phuket
Phuket Backpacker Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing