We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Experience!”

Phuket Thai Cookery School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phuket Thai Cookery School is definitely the one and only place in phuket island that offers you a haven of peace and serenity away from hustle of the city. Nestled in a prestine beach paradise on Siray beach, Phuket Thai Cookery School allows you comfort and serenity while cooking favorite Thai dishes and enjoying your home made delicious meal. At the Phuket Thai Cookery School, you will feel relaxed by the beautiful natural surroundings from crystal clear water to the panoramic ocean view that is just a stone throw from your kitchen. You can walk off your food along the beach or lay down on our soft cushions and pillows provided on our wooden sundeck in your siesta break.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Experience!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

During our last stay at Phuket my girlfriend and I decided to visit a cooking course, because we are big fans of thai food. We found (via TripAdvisor) the Phuket Thai Cookery school and can fully recommend this company to anybody who is interested to learn some additional skills in asian or especialy Thai cooking.

Everything worked very well. Fast and friendly support by email around our booking, easy and in time pick up at our hotel in Patong Beach and transfer to Phuket town, where we first visited the market to see and learn about the ingredients.

On this day we have been the only customers also we would have wished the company a bigger request by curious tourists (but we were at Phuket during lower season). After finishing shopping we had a transfer to the school itself, which isn´t in Phuket Town, but on the outer skirts of the city directly on the shores of the Indian Ocean! We found a realy nice open air kitchen so while cooking or eating the food, we had a beautiful overview to the turquise sea.
This is a must see, instead of a boring class-room somewhere around in the city.

All instructors are very very friendly, speak perfect English, so understanding is quite easy. Everything is prepared on arrival, the kitchen is clean and nicely furnished. All ingredients are fresh and presented to the pupils in a perfect m manner. It was a joy first to be teached and to try what the instructors were cooking as a lesson and after that seeing that our own attempt was also a total success. We had 5 dishes, from startres, to soup to maincorse and then a desert, which we all will produce at home back in Germany. You can buy some special ingrediants that will last long in your kitchen.

We had a beautiful holiday experience that we will remember often when cooking those dishes at home.

As written in the beginning: We can fully reccomend this experience to any other tourist looking to have a good time at Phuket!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LinkImPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    49
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“thai cooking class made fun”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Looked at a few options and choose this one and glad we did. well run and good choice of things to cook. Different menu (5 courses) for each day, with a trip round the market beforehand to see what eh locals buy.

As someone who enjoys cooking this was a great way to learn the way and how Thai's cook. Whether novice or enthusiast, something for everyone…… and you get to keep the recipes.

Definitely one to do if this is your thing

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We chose the Phuket Thai Cookery School because we were advised by our tour guide Yvonne that is was the better one to go to. What a great choice. We went to the Thai Markets where the Thai people do their shopping and were shown different foods and how they are made then off to the school. The buses we were picked up in were lovely and the drivers could actually drive. The location of the school was amazing right on the waterfront. James was our Teacher for the day and he made the course very entertaining and fun to learn. We chose the Friday course as that is the food we love to eat in Thailand. The facilities were very clean, food was fresh and plenty of water on hand to drink at our leisure. Great value for money. Thank you James and staff for a fabulous day. We will be back on our next visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I highly recommend doing the thai cookery school to everyone. They give you very good instruction in cooking all the meals. You gain confidence in your cooking skills. It's very relaxed and you feel no pressure. It is just a lot of fun. The staff are happy and friendly and very good with their instruction. James the chef is very entertaining and funny. I had a fantastic day and it is well worth it. The food is great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's fun & you learn lots.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I really enjoyed my day at Phuket Thai Cookery School. The day started with an early morning pick up from my hotel by mini van with other participating students. In old Phuket town we were met by a tutor who took us on a walk through the market showing & explaining what all the different vegetables, fruit & spices etc were for. Then it was another ride to the cooking school where the day's schedule was explained. There 5 different dishes to prepare & cook & each dish was demonstrated by a tutor chef, each one of them spoke excellent English and made the lessons light hearted. After each demonstration students went to their cooking stations to prepare & cook that dish under the guidance of a tutor and then we got to eat what we had created.
There was a break in the middle of the day when we got to appreciate the fabulous setting relaxing on the deck built over the beach. Some students even went for a swim.
At the end of the day each student was presented with a diploma to take home plus we received recipe cards printed with the dishes we'd cooked. There were other recipe cards for sale along with the special blue aprons for 400 Baht.
I recommend to anyone who has the slightest interest in cooking to do a day's course at Phuket Thai Cookery School, if you have the opportunity. Its well run, fun & you learn lots.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhondda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Phuket Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing