We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elegant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Hills Kandy(Heerassagala)
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYLOFT-KANDY by YATHRA(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Change Hotel(Heerassagala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
351
65
12
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
65
12
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuksri lankaswimming poolsunrise and sunsetamazing viewsbeautiful gardenbreakfast tablestayed longerfresh juiceoff the beaten trackdahlhotel ownersmall hotelpeace and quietwould highly recommend this hotelloved this hotelfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights here in July, it was a great experience. The staff (especially the manager) were very very helpful and friendly. The house is clean and spacious, with amazing views of the mountains and the counrtyside. We had dinner here both nights, they were the best meals we had in Sri Lanka. It is located a good distance from the centre of town but it is well worth if you want a relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Beautiful Place to Stay", which gives us strength to provide our guests with more facilities and services at our best.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more at Elegant Hotel with more facilities and services.

Thanking you once again.

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The house is a bit far from the city centre (30 min by tuk tuk), but the owner can arrange easy and cheap transferts. The mansion sits upon a beautiful quite hill. Our room was huge, extremly clean and well layed out, with a breathtaking view of the sourrounding hills of Kandy. The food was delicious, especially rice and curry, curd and other sri lankan dishes. If in kandy again we would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Quite and Breathtaking Mansion upon a Hill", which gives us strength to move forward with our heads held high in tourist industry.

Hope you will visit us again in your next vacation to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again.

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel, Kandy Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from our 2 week travels in Sri Lanka and our very first stop was the Elegant Hotel. Udaya, the owner, organised airport pick up and also our tuk tuks during our stay, which was excellent and good value, as suggested via other reviews it's not the easiest to find. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the staff are very attentive. We stayed at 7 different guesthouses in various locations during our trip around Sri Lanka and we can honestly say that the best authentic Sri Lankan cuisine was that from Elegant, throughout our trip nothing quite hit the mark like the food for breakfast and dinner at Elegant. We loved it here and would recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lisey_lambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at tripadvisor web site as "Wonderful Hotel and Excellent Staff", which gives us strength to move forward in hospitality trade with our heads held high.

Also We would like to inform you that we were awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the valuable comments of our valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next vacation to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent five days at this hotel, on a trip mostly business oriented, but very eager to find some peace and quiet in between. We certainly found it here! The hotel was very clean, up to date and the staff, especially Mr. Udaya Herath were extremely helpful and accommodating.The surroundings from the hilltop hotel were stunning!The garden beautifully manicured, and a bird watchers paradise! We requested home grown vegetables for our dinner on most nights.The vegetarian meal fresh from Mr. Udaya's garden was deliciously prepared. We shall certainly go there again and would highly recommend anyone who loves nature to spend a few days there.
Dr. & Mrs Upali Seneviratne
U.S.A

Room Tip: Choose the Lotus room, overlooking the mountains
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suneetha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we do highly appreciate your comment regarding Elegant Hotel as "Peaceful, Beautiful close to nature", which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality industry.

Also I would like to mention that we are awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the comments which our valuable guests have made.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with great facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the Elegant hotel. Yes, it is a 30-min tuktuk ride from Kandy but you'll be rewarded with a well-run guest house/hotel against a beautiful and serence backdrop. Our room was perhaps a tad smallish but the nice private balcony overseeing the garden made up for that. What sets this place apart is that staff really strives to make a good impression. All people from the owner to the cleaners to the waiter were genuinely friendly. Breakfast was also very good, especially while overlooking the hills in the morning sun on the outdoor terrace. By far one of the best places we stayed at during our Sri Lanka trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiHeadhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we do highly appreciate your comment regarding Elegant Hotel as "Great Service, Quiet Surroundings", which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality industry.

Also I would like to mention that we are awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the comments which our valuable guests have made.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with great facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews