We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Gem - fantastic b&b ever!”
Review of La Pillebourdiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pillebourdiere
Ranked #1 of 2 Oisly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Well where do I start! Spotlessly clean, lovely location, wonderful breakfast but by far what stood out the most for me was the owner Sue who was the best host I have ever met.
Nothing was too much trouble and you felt like family not guests staying in a b&b.

Sues wealth of knowledge was a massive help in arranging our daily activities and her oversized map really helped us to plan our journey each day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 109Natalie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

After previously visiting the B&B for only one night, we finally got round to a further visit for 4 nights. As before Sue is the perfect host, very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The B&B is in a beautiful location and perfect for exploring the area. The accommodation is of a very high standard and the breakfast is lovely with lots of home made jams! We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

OK I'm totally in love with this place so will rave. This is our second time. We had the 'Piment Vert' chambre, which was undergoing renovation >new, when we last stayed here. Very comfortable bed with fresh high quality linen and what appeared to be (oh so nice)feather(?)pillows. The room is super clean, very spacious, with a big comfortable sofa/lounge and huge coffee table. The property, a barn, like many in France, looks unassuming from the exterior. Set near the tiny town of Oisly amid wine sheds and vineyards. Once inside, it is quietly stylish in a very comfortable way, without being pretentious. I ADORE the brand new ensuite, with sloping celing, huge exposed beams, a very fancy large shower which had a 'rainfall' head as well as the hand-held... hard not to linger here! Greeted warmly, a glass of wine later and we were all set to eat our pre-purchased supermarket salad/oeuf/jambon meals. Out comes the Villeroy and Boch plates, cutley and fresh wine glasses for us to use! After a sound sleep, it was lovely to take advantage of the sunshine and have a very nice breakfast outside: homemade jams, baguettes, yoghurt, cereal etc. Shame we could only stay one night. It's a great base from which to explore the Loire castles etc.
Note there are stairs up to the rooms. A nearby vineyard had a bird scarer(bang occasionally) which ceased at night of course and started after we arose - about 8.20am I think, on the night/day we stayed).
The owners relatives have a brand new upmarket B&B in St Ives, Cornwall, UK. Owner -Sue helped set this one up too. Unfortunately I had already prepaid for our accom. in nearby Port Isaac UK -otherwise I would definitely have wanted to stay there(depending on $$).
La Pillebourdiere is an absolute BARGAIN. Remains the BEST B & B we have stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. The room next to ours had a shower over the bath for exhausted travellers (cy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc123Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Very nice old house completely renovated, clean, beautiful bathroom, big rooms, good location to explore Loire valley. The hostess Sue is very kind, lovely lady. She provided us vouchers to get discount on entrance fee for several castles. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlenaS748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I just returned from 4 days at La Pillebourdiere with my family and I would hugely recommend it. The property is quiet and very well appointed and Sue is the perfect hostess. Nothing is too much trouble and she produces a wonderful breakfast - much of it homemade. The location is perfect for striking out to the various chateaux and wineries. Sue has all the local knowledge which is invaluable in the planning of your itineraries and local wine buying. The village of Oisly is pretty quiet, but does sport a gourmet restaurant all of 3 minutes' walk from Sue's front door. The nearby town of Contres will supply you with all other needs (including a garage which fixed a bit of damaged trim on the car for free!). Overall a delightful experience despite mixed weather and well worth the 380 mile drive from London!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you want to explore the Loire region, there's only one place to stay and that's in La Pillebourdière. The room was very spacious, breakfast delicous with homemade products and on top of that there is Sue, the hostess, a lovely lady, who will make your stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Sue was a wonderful guest. The house is an extremely well renovated farm, the room is spacious, clean and wonderfully decorated. All famous castles were within easy reach.
We will definately come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapati75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oisly
9.6 mi away
Les Jardins de Beauval
Les Jardins de Beauval
#1 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
2,755 reviews
8.9 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
286 reviews
7.3 mi away
L'Escale des Chateaux de la Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Le Moulin des Charmes
14.1 mi away
La Maison du Carroir
La Maison du Carroir
#1 of 20 in Blois
267 reviews
12 mi away
Les Pierres d'Aurele
Les Pierres d'Aurele
#1 of 10 in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pillebourdiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pillebourdiere

Address: 18 route du Vivier, 41700 Oisly, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Oisly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oisly
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire valley, surrounded by the vineyards of Touraine and within easy reach of some of the most beautiful castles of France, we welcome you at la Pillebourdiere, an old wine farm built in 1813 which has been converted into a comfortable and peaceful B & B, making it the perfect setting to explore the splendour and history of days gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pillebourdiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing