We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our favorite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fallons Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fallons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Castlerea B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not our favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed only one night at Fallons after a long day of driving and visiting Clonmacnoise. So we were all a bit tired when we arrived. We were not offered tea upon arrival which we could have used for sure. There are kettles in the room for heating water for coffee or tea. But when I looked inside it was so disgusting I wouldn't use it! We had been warned by a TA poster that Castlerea's water supply had been contaminated by the winter storms and was not drinkable. When we arrived at the B&B we were told that they had bottled water for sale if we wanted it to drink or brush our teeth. I know it isn't the locals fault that the water isn't drinkable but we felt the price for the bottled water was far above the B&Bs cost and felt they were taking advantage of a bad situation.
We wanted to take a walk to stretch our legs after the drive but the B&B is located on a main road that we didn't feel safe walking. I happened to notice the drive that enters the B&B continues on over a railroad track. There are gates you have to open to get across. Be careful but do take the walk. It is basically a farmers track that leads thru fields and eventually comes to a house. It was a very pleasant walk. It would have been nice if we had been told about the walk rather than finding it ourselves.
When we returned from eating in town, I laid down and my wife and our traveling companion went to the lounge to relax a bit. They were able to get tea at that time which apparently tasted fine. The next morning breakfast was very good but we all agreed the tea was terrible. I don't know if this had to do with the water or something else but none of us drank it.
We all agreed this B&B was not near the top of the list of B&Bs we stayed at this year or prior years for that matter. I was surprised to see so many glowing reviews as our experience just didn't match that of others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
17
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here two nights in a very spacious room. We were walking, so it was a bit difficult to get to the b&b safely, as it is located along an N route, but the owners drove us a couple of times to the village of Castlerea and picked us up again at request. Also, there is a good walking path from the village, but we didn't know about it when we first arrived. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruits and lots of choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoukelineA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This lovely B & B is great value for money. Spotless, and very roomy. A very relaxing place to stay and a lovely breakfast in a peaceful breakfast room with great views. The owners were wonderful and chatted to us over breakfast. Highly recommend and would stay there anytime we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really enjoyed a stay here last month, easy to get to, near every part of the west of ireland, very nice people, well done! They were very good and provided a great breakfast in the morning! Cant wait to return later next month

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SpudGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Second time staying here. Good value for money, spotless and comfy. Wifi was the only thing that left this homely b&b down. Plenty of parking space. Lovely cooked breakfast. Great signage. Would recommend to anyone staying in castlerea. Well done to Helen and Tom

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Ballygarvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here whilst trying to do some ancestry on my Grandfathers family. The building is a lovely modern spacious one near the main road just outside Castlerea. The bedrooms are spacious and modern. It is so quiet and is in a beautiful setting.

The breakfast room is large and is a conservatory type room so lots of light. The Irish breakfast is fantastic!

The hosts were very welcoming & friendly, very helpful and very accommodating to our requests. Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dkgfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this place. Very comfortable, well furnished, good location, reasonable prices, and extremely friendly and helpful hosts. They helpfully agreed to my sister printing her boarding pass when she couldn't have done so before, going out of their way to get the printer working to enable this to happen. Thank you again. A great place to stay if you're in the area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank FredWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castlerea hotels
0.0 mi away
Armcashel B&B
Armcashel B&B
#2 of 5 in Castlerea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fallons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallons Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fallons Bed and Breakfast
Address: Knock Road, Arm | Roscommon, Castlerea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Castlerea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castlerea
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallons is an attractive dormer style family run bed & breakfast situated on the outskirts of Castlerea Town. Peaceful and unspoilt, Fallons is bright and spacious and tastefully decorated throughout. The large bedrooms are on ground floor level each with en suite, TV, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities as standard.Wholesome Home Cooked Breakfast is served in the spacious sun-room. A relaxing visitors lounge is available for guests to unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallons Bed And Breakfast Castlerea, Ireland - County Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing