We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early morning wake up call”
Review of Armcashel B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Armcashel B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Castlerea B&B and Inns
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Early morning wake up call”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay in castlerea recently, an upbeat town in the midwest of connaught. Visiting with old friends and making new ones. I stayed with mrs morgan, she is a nice Irish woman. However I found the place a little tired and old fashioned, its hard to describe but it was the general atmosphere that would not inspire me to stay again. I chose a b&b rather than a hotel as I wanted the personal experience of Irish hosting. I disappointingly found it lacking, and it wasnt even that busy so I was surprised at her lack of interest in the guests, but thats more an observation than a complaint. The only complaint I have was that I adore my sleep, and tend to sleep in after 6am, which I imagine is normal, unfortunately, I was sharply awoken my a cockerel crowing in the early hours, it was impossible to sleep on after that as he did not stop for several hours. I would rather have stayed somewhere quieter.

Room Tip: One where you wont hear the cockerel crowing in the early hours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Barry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
17
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Cozy, clean, conmfortable... Excellent rooms, excellent breakfast, excellent shower...
Rita is an amazing hostess, she is worried about her guests and make you feel home.
The Armcashel is the perfect place if you want to experience "an Irish homestay".
Thank you for everything, Rita!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarianaAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our stay at Armcashel B&B was a perfect stay. Rita was the quintessential Irish hostess.
the place was immaculate, the food was sooo good and plenty of it. We asked if there
was a laundry near by and she offered to do our laundry for us! You won't find in that in the
good ole U S of A. The B&B was easy to find being on a main road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cunnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Rita is a wonderful host, made me feel very welcome when I stayed here in June 2012. My nan was in the area to visit friends and I stayed at the B&B on my own and had a great time. The rooms are very clean and tidy and Rita is always on hand should you need anything. An amazing breakfast each morning which filled you up until dinner time. Will be back again :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Armcashel. Rita was the perfect host. The house is very well set up so that you do not feel you are intruding on the family. The rooms were very clean with plenty of storage. Nice clean bathroom with shower grls snd shampoos provided. The bed was very comfy. The weather was bitter cold but the rooms were cosy and a wool blanket between top sheet and duvet added extra comfort. Rita also put hot water bottles in the beds- just perfect. There is a guest lounge available 24 hours where there is tea coffee and biscuits and magazines. Lovely big breakfast room with picturesque views and a lovely Irish breakfast with loads of tea and toast and more if you wanted. Also great selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt for the more health conscious. On our arrival we were served tea and scones with jam in the lounge, once again this was very welcome after a long day of travelling. Thoroughly recommend the Armcashel and I will definitely stay here again if Rita is not fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Rita couldn't be more helpful, you wanted for nothing and were brilliantly looked after. The rooms are simple, clean and spacious with everything you would need for a short stay in the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Very nice place to stay when you’re travelling around Ireland! Rooms are cozy, view from the windows is fantastically peaceful and nice, and breakfast is delicious. But the most important is that Rita (the owner) is extremely friendly and hospitable. Although we arrived quite late and Rita was very busy because of high B&B’s occupancy she found a time to chat and she really made us feel like at home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realpetrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerea
16.3 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
644 reviews
20.0 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
707 reviews
9.6 mi away
Durkin's Bar, Restaurant & Accomodation
Durkin's Bar, Restaurant & Accom...
#1 of 2 in Ballaghaderreen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Marnic House Bed and Breakfast
Marnic House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Ballyhaunis
7 reviews
16.5 mi away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armcashel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armcashel B&B

Property: Armcashel B&B
Address: Knock Road, Castlerea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Castlerea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlerea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armcashel B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Armcashel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armcashel B&B Castlerea, Ireland - County Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing