We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flyfishing in Ireland”
Review of Armcashel B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Armcashel B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Castlerea B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flyfishing in Ireland”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great place to stay in Castlerea. Rita is very knowledgable about the area and is friendly and helpful. Meals and room was good. Location was only a short drive to town. Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were four visitors who spent two nights in this lovely place last November 2013. It was our second visit the first being in August 2013, when Rita the owner came to pick us up from Athlone over an hour away as we had missed our train connection, it was something truly amazing coming from someone who didn’t know us!

Rita prepares a wide variety of tasty breakfasts we could choose from different cereals, healthy fruits. The rooms are clean, spacious and offer a delightful view of the beautiful Irish countryside, they are equipped with: TV, Hairdryer… The bathrooms are clean, and full size shower products are provided. We have taken some pictures and put them on Trip Advisor.

Rita is a very special lady; kind organised and very hospitable. Upon our arrival we were offered tea and cake and a warm welcome in a charming authentic Irish home. We can’t express our gratitude enough: Thank you very much Rita!

We highly recommend a stay at this B&B

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swizy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

You've got to experience Armcashel's B&B in Castlerea, Roscommon. Wife and I were there celebrating our 50th and doing some genealogy research. Rita is the perfect hostess, warm and friendly, and helpful in every way. Rooms are clean, tidy, and certainly affordable in comparison with Dublin rates. Castlerea is on the rail line so you can get to anyplace from there, only an hour or so from Galway by car. Rita knows everyone and helps with setting appointments and suggesting places to eat and visit. Breakfast was more than you would ever want, served on time and hot. I could not give a higher recommendation for a B&B than Armcashel and I hope to get back there soon for another visit.
Steve and Sue - Pittsburgh, Pa

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My cousin, his wife and I spent a delightful time at this charming B & B. Rita Morgan, the owner/operator, was very friendly and helpful. Her rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable. Her breakfast was generous with a nice variety of foods. The location was convenient with ample parking. I recommend this B & B,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintonWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Rita was very gracious about us turning up many hours later than we had originally planned. The B&B was clean and homely and the bed was very comfortable. Rita very kindly got up extra early and cooked us some delicious scrambled egg and toast - nothing seemed too much trouble and we enjoyed our brief stay very much. A lovely stay in a lovely B&B with a lovely owner. What more can you ask. :-) Thank you Rita and thanks for the advice and kind words over breakfast. Kindest of wishes...Debbie & Brian. x

Room Tip: Our satnav did not take us to the correct location so be aware that the B&B is known locally as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri-n-Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We three adults stayed for five nights in July 2013 and received a very warm and friendly welcome on arrival and throughout our stay. Clean and comfortable rooms. Nothing was too much trouble. We are really happy to highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Please ignore the last review by Barry U. I stayed here at the same time as barry with my wife and had a great experience. Yes i heard the cockeral but not that early in the morning and any way when you are staying in the countryside what do you expect. Bedroom clean tidy lots of room, good shower, great breakfast but the best thing about Armcashel is the host Rita. She could not have been more hospitable, making tea or coffee for us any time of day usually with some lovely cake to go with it, she can also tell you the best places to go and visit while you are there she even offered to run us into the local town at night and pick us up later so we could have a good drink, nuff said.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and the room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlerea
16.3 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
24.2 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
20.0 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
20.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armcashel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armcashel B&B

Property: Armcashel B&B
Address: Knock Road, Castlerea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Castlerea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlerea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armcashel B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Armcashel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armcashel B&B Castlerea, Ireland - County Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing