We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lodge, Awesome staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smiggin Holes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My father and I stayed at lodge 21 in Smiggins for our snow trip and we will keep coming back.
The staff are awesome,the location is perfect, the dinners are a highlight every night and the rooms are cosy and warm. The owner could not have been more helpful to ensure our stay was comfortble and our ski trip went well.
Skye the manager, Rosie the chef, Matt the doorman and Jim the resident trivia master and cross country champion were all there to help our holiday run smoothly and ensure it was great fun.
It is an older lodge that has been maintained well and that is what gives it some character and we loved it.
The rates are great for on snow accomodation and as mentioned the location is perfect only 100 m from the lifts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hamish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Lodge 21 is across the road from Smiggin Holes ski fields. There was a mix up with our room when we arrived so we went and hired our ski gear while it was being fixed up.It was an amazing 3 night stay, weather perfect for skiing. Staff were very friendly and the meals were to die for. The chef outdid herself every night. It is an old lodge but for the location, hospitality and great food would easily stay there again next year and recommend to friends and family. Has great family atmosphere and made new friends with the guests staying there. Probably the only down side is you hardly saw the owner and he was no where to be seen the morning we hard to book out. It was the staff who made the place warm and welcome each day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsandy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Agree with many other reviewers on this property: excellent location (very short walk to snow and lifts), good homecooked food and wonderful staff (I can't stress enough how fantastic the staff were and must mention lovely, friendly Skye), owner was friendly and accommodating ... but very tired, old rooms desperately in need of a facelift, locks are broken, appliances all make noises, beds are shabby (but linens were clean & crisp), priced to expect more. Perhaps not an ideal family lodge but the location simply cannot be beaten for quick ski access at Smiggs!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFamily5Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed mid week two nights with a 5 week old baby. escellent location, cheap rate ($210pn) and included hot breakfast of bacon, eggs, tomato,mushies and a changing nightly menu of soup, lamb shanks and dessert. Good centeral living area with open fire place. Staff are only too happy to help. Had to help dig us out the day we left. Constant hot water and comfy bed. Rooms are a little small but need to be for the heating to be nice and comfy. Can see how people would complain of the noise as a backpacker/busjer was singing until 3am. (not good when you have broken sleep with a little one and need all you can get) and we heard him loud and clear.

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be back in the off-peak season.

Room Tip: Small rooms heat better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I'm writing this, so no one goes there and experience something straight from 'Fawlty Tower', they should advertise as a 'backpackers lodge with not so budget price'. Party all the time, drinking, food was awful, rooms disgusting, not once had room cleaned(they claim they do, but I can tell you they didn't touch my bed or anything), hot water in the shower was so hot, nearly burned my skin(I don't think this place comply with any safety or health regulation). On windy nights, the windows rattle so much you have a feeling the whole place is going to colapse. Some mornings we were greeted by the owner(drunk, 8 o'clock in the morning), wich was pretty scary...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yukari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I rarely participate in such feedback though I am compelled through reading dubious comments on holidays @ Lodge 21. I have been a regular visitor to Smiggins for over twenty years, and my many wonderful holiday memories are largely centred at Lodge 21.
The owners international experience adds to providing a snow holiday that considers and values, families. The intimate, relaxed atmosphere provides great reprieve from a serious, and "up-tight" world, in a beautiful and fun setting.
My Swedish friend commented "it's snowing in the tropics" when he noticed snowgums with pow on the leaves near 21. The inclusive trivia at breakfast, starts a warm connection between guests. For the best value and a wonderful on-snow holiday experience, I definately recommend Lodge 21.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great place will be going back,there was 7 of us ageing from 4 to 74, 5 adults 2 young ones,the staff and management are a great bunch of people and very helpful,rooms are very tidy and serve there purpose,the food was great and a most hardy breakfast to keep you energised through the day,wonderful fire place area and TV room,all ski hiring of equipment is next door so hiring and returning of equipment was no problems,ski lifts are across the road making it very easy to hit the slopes,nothing bad to say about Hotel 21 besides wishing that I could of been there longer : ) ,When We Holiday, We Holiday.

Room Tip: Room 11 for a couple was great with ski mountain views ,12 had the same views and fitted 5 peeps wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diablito66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
0.1 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
1.2 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
112 reviews
10.2 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 21 Smiggin Holes

Address: Munyang Road, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing