We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the snow!”
Review of Snowy Gums Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snowy Gums Chalet
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much we bought 4 more couples! Its a great position in the snow. We have spent over 20 years going to the snow. Some of the places we've stayed have been wonderful and some awful. This suits us the most. The lounge areas are warm and inviting with an open fire and bar. The meals are good quality, (can improve on the breakfasts) the spa and sauna are well maintained. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. There are always little things that can be improved upon however Mel listens and takes these things into account. They sometimes have entertainment, easy listenening. They had a wine and cheese night while we were there. Its great to have the car handy although this needs to be booked if wanting it on site. I would highly recommend this chalet. A good tip is to book directly with the lodge. That way you'll always be assured of getting all the right information.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are similar however if extras staying, some rooms have a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

The chalet is quite well located just a short walk across the carpark to the snow. It has parking on site for a fee and booked in advance. We were a family of 4 adults sharing a room with a king bed (2 singles pushed together) with a mezzanine level and 3 single beds. The shower had heaps of hot flowing water, the beds were large and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. In the main our dinners and breakfasts were very good. Plenty of seating areas for us to congregate before and after dinner and the ambiance of the hotel is very nice.
I have to be honest and mention a couple of things where improvement can be made!
At breakfast time everyone wants a cup of tea or coffee and there is only 1 jug which has to be boiled and a queue of 10 people can be found impatiently waiting - and rightly so!
Two of the 3 mornings there was plenty of food, but our last breakfast they were really struggling to provide food - no bacon, no pancakes, no fruit and of course the coffee queue!
In our room the lighting was very poor - no bedside light and impossible to read.
When your paying $450 a night per couple and you ask for an extra bread roll I think it should be forthcoming quick smart!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Staff were extremely accommodating and even though the travel agent had mislead us with our car parking facilities, the manager was extremely helpful in resolving the issue. Warning to anyone that does book with travel agent; if paying for car parking ensure you ask if this is onsite or offsite. Offsite is obviously cheaper but you will not be able to use your car, without catching the hotel shuttle, as the car park is 9km away. Also, if parking in the national park you will need to pay the national park fees for the full duration of your stay.

The rooms were simple yet clean and comfortable and the food was divine! We had 3 course alternate drop dishes each night & I could not fault any of them.

Easy access and close to slopes. Just want you need after a full day in the snow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FizzyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Snowy Gums is an awesome place to stay! My husband and I stayed here this year with our toddler and enjoyed good food, great service and had a wonderful time! The rooms are warm with comfy new beds and my husband made sure he enjoyed a daily dip in the sauna after a day on the slopes. Snowy Gums is in a great location. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and we enjoyed entertainment suitable to all ages. Great TV room upstairs and internet kiosk available. We wouldn't stay anywhere else! I stayed here last year with a toddler in tow after my husband's business committments prevented him accompanying me. I couldn't fault the staff/service and facilities last year and the staff made sure what could have turned into an arduous task was an enjoyable holiday. Snowy Gums can boast family friendly facilities that are also great for a romantic weekend away or groups. We will be back again before the end of season and are already thinking of the best time to travel to Snowy Gums next year. Thanks to Mel and her team for making my second trip to Smiggins so awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat255331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here in a group of 11 family members for a week end. We last stayed here 5 years ago & absolutely nothing has changed in the meantime. Dated fixtures from the 70's or so, very poor lighting in the bathrooms, no TV's, actually got too hot to sleep at times. On the good side, very comfortable beds and pillows though, so had a good nights sleep (or it could have been the wine??)

A few of the redeeming features of this place is the price, for where you are, and the food. The food would not be out of place at any top restaurant in a capital city etc. It's a pity the waitress forgot to give our order to the chef though, and we had to wait an hour before they realised this. A free round of drinks as compensation though and apologies from the owner.

Yes, the ski room is too small and awkward.

You will be charged $2.50 to withdraw money from their ATM so take extra.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatnSleepMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

2 families who we travelled with, booked 2 rooms which were clean, with a pleasant outlook for what seemed a fair 'on-snow' price. We had previously stayed at the Royal Coachman Ski Lodge down the road where the food was brilliant and the service exemplary. We did not expect this great a difference from 2 similar accommodation. Here the reception staff could not raise a smile, or even a warm greeting. The great snowfalls outside could not compare to the chilly service we got inside. Mistakes in accounts and administration meant that one of the family cars had to park 10km away, where overnight, the door was dented by an unknown cause and would need several weeks at the panel beaters to fix. We noticed attempts to reduce the overhead costs of running this chalet which included minimal hot water for showering, a congested ski storage room, one light bulb per chandelier, one bread roll per guest...limits placed on smiles coming from the staff. The potential is there for a great chalet but the staff will always make or break the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EJand3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smiggin Holes
0.1 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
1.3 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
107 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#8 of 8 in Perisher Valley
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Gums Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Gums Chalet

Address: Plum Pine Rd, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Smiggin Holes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Smiggin Holes
Price Range: £300 - £684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Gums Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Gums is located in Smiggin Holes (part of Perisher Ski Resort) and only 120m to the ski lifts. It has outstanding facilities such as massive spa, sauna, games room, drying room with boot dryer and guest laundry. Relax after a hard days ski around the huge fire as you enjoy a drink from the Cascades Bar and enjoy a fully cooked breakfast each morning and a 3 course dinner each night from the popular Waterfalls Restaurant, as part of your nightly room rate. You can drive right to the front door and unload all your ski gear and there is also limited parking at the chalet itself - so much better than lugging your gear up ski tube or loading and unloading into oversaw transport. Snowy Gums welcomes families and provides fun entertainment at night to make your stay in the snow a complete on-snow experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Snowy Gums Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing