We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful snow bound ski resort for family holiday if you have young children”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlottes Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Charlottes Pass
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“wonderful snow bound ski resort for family holiday if you have young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was our 4th year to Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel, doing a 5night spring family special. I really enjoy the location. Completely snow bound ski in and out from the door to the lifts. You catch the snow tractor transport from Perisher tube station up to Charlottes pass and then you stay put for the week. Need to ensure you have everything you might need, there is a little shop but very expensive for sundries.
We do the all inclusive package with ski hire, group lessons, lifts, and all meals. Breakfast buffet, limited lunch menu (pie and chips, soup or salad) and but wonderful 3 course al-a-carte dinner menu. Children under 14years eat in kids club for dinner.
The family package was great when the kids were little because of the kids club and kids dinner time. But once they reach 14years - you pay for children as adults and they eat in the restaurant al-a-carte menu - which is not really appealing for young teens. My 15yr daughter was keen to eat in the adults restaurant but struggled with the al-a-carte menu options. The restaurant was flexible making little changes to the dishes or allowing entree as main, but most evenings the process was an unpleasant ordeal – with her disliking the foods except for desert!.
I love this resort, it has a great atmosphere and no lines for the ski lifts, great people with a family friendly feel. But now that both my children will be over the age of 14years - I think I may have to look to one of the lodges in the charlotte village to stay (or leave the children at home!!), this might give us the benefit of the location but more flexibility for dining. It would be great if the resort looked at how it could better cater for teens.
Highly recommend for families with children aged 3years to 13years.

Room Tip: The rooms are ordinary, you are there for the snowbound location. Most of the time spent on the snow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaznic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Cut the long story short, here are the Positives;- 1)Skiing right out the reception door. 2)If any members of your family or your self want to take a break from skiing, you can do so at any time & enjoy a game of pool or have a scooner.3)Not cueing for endless lines for the lift & the poma.4)Well managed quality 3 course meal dinner.5)Good relaxing HTL atmosphere. Negatives;-1)Over charging ski lessons comparing to its quality & no refund policy for early returned gears-eg/hire ski for 3 days, return after 1day,no refund for the other 2days.2)poor breakfast buffet-very basic.3)The hot/cold water system in the rooms does not work for shower-better off having bath mixing the water to the right temperature manualy.4)no TV in the rooms & no ventilation in the bathroom could leave the whole room unpleasent.5)no more than 1-2 power points in the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are better as the ground floor is always noisy with people walking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karol95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Chalet for the first time. It won't be the last. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The meals are generous and delicious. The rooms are spacious and the common areas are perfect for the location - open fires, a few bars (although not rowdy) and pool tables and space for the kids to run around. Both our kids enjoyed the kids club, although we only put them in for a few hours a day as the slopes were just perfect for lessons. The beauty of this place is that you walk out the front door and onto the slopes. The hire shop is about 50 metres from the chalet and the staff there are also helpful. I have uploaded some photos as there are very few on the Chalet website and on Tripadvisor. I hope it gives a good indication of what you get for your money (note: we had the standard room and it was clean and comfy. Bathroom looked refurbished. Kids loved the bunk beds). We didn't have a tv in our room and Internet was pretty expensive ($25 for 24 hours of Wifi) but really we didn't need it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisacarter7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights right at the start of ski season 2012. We dropped our baggage at the Chalet's desk at Perisher and then drove back and parked at the Ski Tube. As there were blizzard conditions the oversnow transport took a little longer to get to the Chalet (about 40 mins). Once we arrived we were informed that our room wouldn't be ready for another hour but this gave us a chance to look around. The kids club was great. They take kids from 3 up and provide them with morning (9.30 - 11.30) and afternoon sessions (1.30 - 4.30 I think) and then take them for their dinner at 5.30 and a movie to follow, so that you can enjoy your 3-course dinner every evening. The all-inclusive part of this place is great because you don't have to think about things too much. Food is good and drinks are actually reasonably priced. We read reviews that said the rooms were tired etc etc but our room was clean and quite modern. We were worried about noise as we were directly opposite the kids club door and just round the corner from reception but we couldn't hear a peep. Staff were very eager to help and the whole 3 days were really without fault. The slopes at Charlotte's Pass aren't exactly going to sustain the interest of advanced skiers, but for families or beginner / intermediate skiers, this provides a great place to ski, without the people traffic you'll find at Perisher. We are looking forward to coming here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Location was beautiful! We arrived too early to check in so we left our luggage in the hotel and went out exploring. The staff took care of everything, they were very helpful. When we got back to check in, our luggage was in our room. Everything was taken care of. The room was lovely with amazing views. The hotel is nice and cosy with a main lounge area where everyone would sit around the fireplace. The food was also quite nice.
Would recommend!
The only problem was that I couldn't sleep at night due to the high winds..although that's not the hotel's problem!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

It is the highest point in the snowy mountains cute chalet, great kids minding and kids club, excellent staff, good food, but as soon as u get into your room you ate taken back to uni, "the smell of oily sheets" so you sniff around and it is actually the pillows wow they must have been here since this place was built, first night slept on a couple of towels covered with a t shirt the second night a rain vest was a more fluffy option, rooms very tired clean bathrooms though.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed for three nights with two children (11 & 13) in perfect ski conditions. One TV is shared in the common lounge area and one open fire was operational which can get very crowded at 5pm when the bar opens! Rooms are very basic with non consistent servicing. A la carte meals at the restaurant were fabulous however children under 13 need to pay $30 each (kids club meals included free but as our children are too old for kids club nuggets & chips we opted to pay). Buffet nights were great if you like seafood! Otherwise basic roasts & veg. The staff are all over the place - some were great and others rude and awful!
Important note - Book your dinner reservations for your entire stay as soon as you arrive as early spots book out fast (our first night we ate at 8pm!!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Are-you-packing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottes Pass
24.0 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
23.1 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
7.5 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cooma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
White Manor Motel
White Manor Motel
#1 of 10 in Cooma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
6.8 mi away
High Country Motel Tours
22.6 mi away
Snowy Mountains Resort
Snowy Mountains Resort
#2 of 2 in Adaminaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel

Property: Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel
Address: Kosciuszko Road, Charlottes Pass, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Charlottes Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Charlottes Pass
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel Kosciuszko National Park, Australia - Charlottes Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing