We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our worst dining experience EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Patio de Lajares
Ranked #1 of 1 Lajares B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were recommended this restaurant & went there with expectations!! The food was good but brilliant certainly not worth the 142€ we paid for a 3 course meal with a bottle of house red!! Mind you they did lay on entertainment in the guise of Hannah a co owner who was drunk when we got there & continued to get more drunk as the evening went on, not a pretty sight!! She was so drunk she couldn't even make a coffee at the end of our meal!
A large table of 10 people were allowed to smoke in the restaurant & so did the owner after he had finished his culinary delights. Apparently the no smoking ban has arrived in Lajares.
All in all NOT a very pleasant experience & not one we will be repeating or recommending!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for El Patio de Lajares
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Reiner and Ingrid who run this restaurant with rooms are the most friendly of hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are a feast and if you eat there you are in for a treat. All the food is lovingly prepared by Reiner who treats cooking as an art form. As previous reviewers have said El Patio is a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with balcony are delighful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you are looking for something different from the big beach resort hotels then try this small hotel in the pretty village of Lajares. With just 6 bedrooms Hana and Reiner treat you as their house guests and take real interest in what you are planning to do and give some helpful tips about where to go. It is a lovely peaceful little spot with a nice swimming pool and garden area and the bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped. We loved our balcony with the two cushioned benches. As others have mentioned the breakfasts are wonderful and we never needed lunch. the restaurant food is in a different category from the other, very pleasant, places in El Cotillo (10 minutes away by car). This is fine, gourmet dining and I will review it under restaurants as I do not know why it hasn't appeared there before. My only small caveat is that wifi is only available in the public area and not the bedrooms but that is only a minor thing. We loved our 11 night stay there

Room Tip: An upstairs room gets more sun
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynDalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having read the previous reviews our expectations were met and we were warmly welcomed and entertained by our hosts as if we were guests at their table. The food was delicious. It had been prepared with a genuine passion for taste and quality and served in an environment that reflected this. A memorable experience to be embraced for what it is!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent part of this year's holidays (December 2012), 5 days in the El Patio. It is a peaceful and uniquely built in the style of an inn. The kind hospitality of the owners and the excellent breakfast have added even more to the spacious and very comfortable room. Some of the balconies and the pool face south making it ideal for the winter months. It was a truly lovely stay. It is located in Lajares, a bit further from the beaches but in a 10-20 min drive from several different locations of interest. Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecile0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed 10 nights here - having previously visited Fuerteventura, we knew we wanted to stay in Lajares.

From the outset even in the booking process it was apparent that Hanna has a keen sense of detail and is genuinely enthusistic about her guests and the business. This extended to the great welcome we received on arrival - with cava and tapas - the perfect start to the holiday!

The accommodation itself was very comfortable, well appointed and spacious with a regular change of towels. The only comment we would suggest is that some of the linen, whilst clean, was starting to get small holes.

Otherwise, we really enjoyed our time. Rainer is in charge of the kitchen and the daily breakfasts are certainly plentiful - a big plus! We also ate twice in the restaurant and can see why it has received the praise (although a little pricey). But it's not just about the actual food and quality of food - it's as much about the dining experience - Hanna and Rainer are very entertaining!

It's worth mentioning the pleasant pool too - the gardens are a very peaceful and relaxing setting.

Overall, if you want a souless, immaculate and bland hotel then this is not for you. However, if you enjoy personable people (and do bear in mind that Hanna and Rainer are not only great hosts but also entertaining characters whose enthusiasm may not always agree with all types of people) then this is not just another hotel stay but also a great experience.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwise99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I chose to stay here when my wife and I were visiting Fuerteventura for a business trip. I live in La Palma but I am a British citizen. I read the other reviews before visiting Hannah and Rainer and therefore I was not surprised by anything. Hannah and Rainer took great care of us and attended to our special needs also.

Breakfast and supper deserve a special mention. Good food does not go out of fashion and should not be given an origen. I come from families that have had houses for centuries that have more rooms than humans have fingers and toes so I found the quality of food to be an absolute pleasure and correct.

Like everything in life planning is of key importance and with Hannah and Rainer you need to PLAN and COMMUNICATE well if you are speaking only English. It helps to know Spanish and/or German as they speak German natively. Hannah's English is not perfect: is your German perfect?

I visited because I needed peace. I loved Hannah's cats and just had time for a quick swim in the pool.

Hannah and Rainer are strong minded and speak their mind so make sure you have the ability to express your opinion and you will a great time.

I did not like the position of the reading lights in the room. They were shinning in my face. The fridge was leaking a small amount of water. Hey, I ask the reader...¿Is your house perfect? Nothing can reach perfection.

When I can I will return to El Patio.
Thank you very much H y R,
Mr. Ouchterlony

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOuchterlony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajares
5.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
4.1 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 45 in Corralejo
1,409 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique & Villas Oasis Casa Vieja
4.8 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#2 of 2 in El Cotillo
101 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio de Lajares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio de Lajares

Address: Calle Cerca Nueva 9 | Fuerteventura Canaries, 35650 Lajares, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Lajares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lajares
Price Range: £69 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Patio de Lajares 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a treasure in the canary islands. Best food with daily changing dishes, with german and spanish influences, cooked by owner and chef Rainer Feuchter. Luxurios surrounding, large wine list with Bordeaux Chateaus. 6 large hotel rooms with aircond. and heating, protected pool terrace, best service by Hanna. An unforgettable atmosphere. Quietness! Feel privat in your own villa! Beaches to reach in 5 minutes! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your El Patio de Lajares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio De Hotel Lajares
El Patio De Lajares Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing