We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Taranna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2008

A wonderful experience. Well priced, plentiful breakfast, clean rooms and friendly, helpful hosts. A good way to meet other guests over a port in the communal lounge room.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2reveal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2007 and could have stayed a week - it was our favorite of all our accommodations
in Australia. It is a very historic property, being convict-built (see their website for details). We had a room with
2 beds and our own cute little private entrance, and it was adorable. A little fridge in the room had milk and there
were delicious homemade cookies. They have a cozy little common room with hundreds of books, a log-burning fireplace
and complimentary sherry. The owners are not underfoot but can be summoned with a buzzer. The owner recommended a restaurant right down the road which had the best food we ate anywhere
in Australia, and much more reasonable than Sydney prices. Our room had a DVD player and they have lots of
DVDs in the common room to borrow. It's right on a nice little cove and only a 10-minute drive into Port Arthur.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotTooFussySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

This B&B was converted from an administrative office during the colonial convict period in Tasmania. It had also served as the local postoffice from late 19th to early 20th century. It has been completely modernized, but that would have ruined the mood. We had one of the few en suite rooms. It was oddly shaped, evidently because it had served as the post office site. The furnishings were comfortable and antique. A high point is the guest lounge offering complimentary port and sherry, where the guests could mingle informally in the evening. The clientele, while mostly Australian, was international, and we had some interesting conversations over the libations. The breakfast was good if you like sausage, bacon etc. Fortunately there was a selection of cereals.
Overall it was a fascinating place to say to experience the history.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charleyeaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikolai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Igna_Gar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
6.3 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
583 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
397 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
368 reviews
8.0 mi away
Harpers on the Beach
Harpers on the Beach
#1 of 2 in White Beach
191 reviews
7.6 mi away
Storm Bay Guest House
Storm Bay Guest House
#2 of 2 in White Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Bay Convict Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Bay Convict Station

Address: 5862 Arthur Hwy | (10 km before Port Arthur), Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taranna
Price Range: £77 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Bay Convict Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tired of staying in the same old impersonal hotel, unit or suburban house? Then stay in a 170 year old part of Australia's history. In continuous use since circa 1838, the Norfolk Bay Convict Station has a long history of warm hospitality and a strong connection with the history and landscape within which it sits. This iconic, absolute waterfront historic house was convict built in 1838 as part of the Port Arthur penal settlement. It now offers guests a unique experience whilst also offering warm, hosted and comfortable heritage accommodation a short 10 minute drive from Port Arthur and the many attractions of the Tasman Peninsula. Come, stay and be welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Bay Convict Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing