We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place you have to go to”
Review of Valea Verde Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valea Verde Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cund
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place you have to go to”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After an 8 km road adventure through the Transylvania hills we reached Valea Verde Retreat. There we found a beautiful location, amazing food, great staff, a wonderful owner and a great selection of wines and whiskey! A 4 days relaxing holiday surrounded by nature and special people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rox_Brustur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    14
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
81
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This resort is probably the best option for travelers willing to explore Transylvanian wilderness while maintaining access to western facilities and standards. It is set in the very remote and small, saxon village of Cund and enjoying beautiful landscapes of hills and forests. The houses of the resort blend in very well architecturally with the rest of the village and area. Our room (apartment 3) was quite large, nicely decorated and we were pleased to find an espresso machine, jbl iphone sounddock, two large bottles of complimentary water and welcome cookies when we arrived. We also liked the 'friendly but discrete' attitude of the owners. Accommodation itself is very nice and certainly good value for money. Food however is where we had mixed feelings. We enjoyed the restaurant's terrace, the food itself and that there is no menu choice. You get a three course meal with the 'specials of the day' and everything we had was very tasty, well-balanced, and healthy. Labeling the food as gourmet would be a stretch, though. What we did not like like was that food and beverages are ridiculously expensive, even higher than the best restaurants in Bucharest, and there is no alternative option in the area. Also, waiting staff in the restaurant seemed quiet and aloof.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vladonebeenhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

At Valea Verde you will find the retreat of your dream and some very welcoming hosts. The place is perfect because, in its simplicity, creates a wellbeing feeling that slows you down and makes you able to see and enjoy all the things around you.
The only thing that exceeds the beauty of the place is the culinary skillfulness of Jonas. The food cooked by Jonas is by itself a tourist attraction, a reason for which you should not miss Valea Verde . We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Costin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zalau, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I really do believe that passing through the gates of Valea Verde Retreat is like entering heaven and Jonas is the equivalent of Saint Peter, welcoming you with a warm voice and a pleasant smile :). The food... can't really be fully described... all I can say is that it is an experience everyone should enjoy at least once in a lifetime.
Flickering candles, soft voices, savory food, excellent wines and quiet smiles... what more can you ask in life? I know: cozy rooms designed for your pleasure! There it is: the perfect recipe for a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It had been a long day by the time we rolled into the Valea Verde Resort in beautiful Transylvania. In fact it was dark. I really couldn't see the place, but as we walked through the large wooden doors into the compound, I COULD see two smiling gentlemen cooking an amazing paella on an outdoor grill, and bottles of wine, chilled and waiting for us.

This was just the beginning of an extraordinary, unexpected adventure in this unique resort in the midst of the tiny village of Cund. Every night was a culinary treat, hosted by the chef and owner, Jonas Schafer and his wife and partner, Ulrike. Everything was made from scratch, including the bread, and each course was accompanied by a wine especially chosen from the international variety in Jonas's wine cellar.

The dining room also served as a studio or library during the day, equipped with wi-fi, a warming fireplace and shelves full of books and magazines, we worked all day, stopping for meals and coffee breaks.

Each of us had our own room and bath, centrally heated, with flat screen TV and our own front porch. For our free time, there were trails and traditional Romanian horse-drawn wagons, making exploring the town and the surrounding hills and forests an unforgettable pleasure.

I know I was privileged to stay at Valea Verde and I hope i have that privilege again.

Room Tip: Ask Jonas how each room differs, in terms of size and what the windows face before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Following the exact directions provided by Jonas, the host at Valea Verde Resort, we got to Cund, after ”climbing two hills and passing through an uninhabited valley”. The place was exactly as depicted in the photos we saw on the website and more. We had a wonderful time here, the rooms are warm and the details make you feel like home. The owner upgraded our reservation to one of the larger properties, Samways house, that had central heating and so much extra space (we had four rooms for the four of us). The kitchen is well-equipped so I improvised a nice dinner and breakfast. The surroundings are nice as well, we climbed up-hill and enjoyed the view.
Regrets: we stayed there just for a night and we couldn't enjoy the fine meals cooked by the friendly host, Jonas, we are more of a budget tourists. Hope that we will be able to go back there in summer!
What I liked best: the changing light and the way it interacted with the colors of each room.
What I liked least: the mattress on our bed that was kind of hard and the way the doors creaked.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This has been our 3rd visit and our 2nd staying in one of the 'Retreat' apartments in the main complex. 3 couples for the Valentine's weekend package. The welcome was as warm as ever, the food was astonishingly good, as always. Nice touches like massage or manicure (for the ladies), horse-drawn carriage (well - an authentic farmer's cart) to explore the beautiful landscape, and 6 & 7 course dinners with wine pairing from the amazing Roland Birr. So often (especially in Romania) places drop their standards soon after opening but not here - Jonas, Ulrike and the team keep standards high. Very high. If you like fine dining you will be in Heaven. It's not cheap by any means but after 3 visits I still feel it was very good value - and I'll be back soon.

Room Tip: The 'Valea Verde Apartments' are in the main complex and are very convenient if you want ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StvAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cund
14.0 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 12 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.9 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hotel BinderBubi
Hotel BinderBubi
#4 of 12 in Sighisoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel PRIVO
Hotel PRIVO
#1 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
10.1 mi away
BinderBubi Hotel
BinderBubi Hotel
#1 of 2 in Medias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valea Verde Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valea Verde Resort

Property: Valea Verde Resort
Address: Strada Principala 119 | Sat Cund, Comuna Bahnea, Cund 547057, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Cund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a romantic valley not far from the medieval town of Sighisoara lies the Valea Verde Resort. Here we have established a very special place for our guests in the small village of Cund. Our love of nature, our close affinity with the country, our special sense for creating a soothing and relaxed atmosphere and our passion for good food formed the essential principles that guided us in our endeavour. When walking under the canopy of ancient trees, horse riding in the hills, watching the sunset by the natural pool or enjoying a romantic candlelight dinner in our restaurant - you will find your spirit for the eternal values that count in life rekindled. By tranquility and nature. Stimulation and relaxation. Family and friends. Being active and moving about. And the ability to celebrate every minute of your time in Cund with all your senses. With our very best wishes, Jonas and Ulrike Schafer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valea Verde Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valea Verde Hotel Cund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing