We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bazna(Medias)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Korona Hotel(Sighisoara)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Savri(Sighisoara)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imperial Inn(Tirgu Mures)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
246
23
13
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
23
13
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalea verdepiece of heavengreen hillsbeautiful countrysidegourmet experiencehis wifesaxon villagetrufflefabulous foodteam buildingsmall villagemagical placequiet placecentral heatingrelaxing stayhighly recommend this placewine tasting
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This resort is probably the best option for travelers willing to explore Transylvanian wilderness while maintaining access to western facilities and standards. It is set in the very remote and small, saxon village of Cund and enjoying beautiful landscapes of hills and forests. The houses of the resort blend in very well architecturally with the rest of the village and area. Our room (apartment 3) was quite large, nicely decorated and we were pleased to find an espresso machine, jbl iphone sounddock, two large bottles of complimentary water and welcome cookies when we arrived. We also liked the 'friendly but discrete' attitude of the owners. Accommodation itself is very nice and certainly good value for money. Food however is where we had mixed feelings. We enjoyed the restaurant's terrace, the food itself and that there is no menu choice. You get a three course meal with the 'specials of the day' and everything we had was very tasty, well-balanced, and healthy. Labeling the food as gourmet would be a stretch, though. What we did not like like was that food and beverages are ridiculously expensive, even higher than the best restaurants in Bucharest, and there is no alternative option in the area. Also, waiting staff in the restaurant seemed quiet and aloof.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vladonebeenhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

At Valea Verde you will find the retreat of your dream and some very welcoming hosts. The place is perfect because, in its simplicity, creates a wellbeing feeling that slows you down and makes you able to see and enjoy all the things around you.
The only thing that exceeds the beauty of the place is the culinary skillfulness of Jonas. The food cooked by Jonas is by itself a tourist attraction, a reason for which you should not miss Valea Verde . We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Costin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I really do believe that passing through the gates of Valea Verde Retreat is like entering heaven and Jonas is the equivalent of Saint Peter, welcoming you with a warm voice and a pleasant smile :). The food... can't really be fully described... all I can say is that it is an experience everyone should enjoy at least once in a lifetime.
Flickering candles, soft voices, savory food, excellent wines and quiet smiles... what more can you ask in life? I know: cozy rooms designed for your pleasure! There it is: the perfect recipe for a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It had been a long day by the time we rolled into the Valea Verde Resort in beautiful Transylvania. In fact it was dark. I really couldn't see the place, but as we walked through the large wooden doors into the compound, I COULD see two smiling gentlemen cooking an amazing paella on an outdoor grill, and bottles of wine, chilled and waiting for us.

This was just the beginning of an extraordinary, unexpected adventure in this unique resort in the midst of the tiny village of Cund. Every night was a culinary treat, hosted by the chef and owner, Jonas Schafer and his wife and partner, Ulrike. Everything was made from scratch, including the bread, and each course was accompanied by a wine especially chosen from the international variety in Jonas's wine cellar.

The dining room also served as a studio or library during the day, equipped with wi-fi, a warming fireplace and shelves full of books and magazines, we worked all day, stopping for meals and coffee breaks.

Each of us had our own room and bath, centrally heated, with flat screen TV and our own front porch. For our free time, there were trails and traditional Romanian horse-drawn wagons, making exploring the town and the surrounding hills and forests an unforgettable pleasure.

I know I was privileged to stay at Valea Verde and I hope i have that privilege again.

Room Tip: Ask Jonas how each room differs, in terms of size and what the windows face before choosing.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Following the exact directions provided by Jonas, the host at Valea Verde Resort, we got to Cund, after ”climbing two hills and passing through an uninhabited valley”. The place was exactly as depicted in the photos we saw on the website and more. We had a wonderful time here, the rooms are warm and the details make you feel like home. The owner upgraded our reservation to one of the larger properties, Samways house, that had central heating and so much extra space (we had four rooms for the four of us). The kitchen is well-equipped so I improvised a nice dinner and breakfast. The surroundings are nice as well, we climbed up-hill and enjoyed the view.
Regrets: we stayed there just for a night and we couldn't enjoy the fine meals cooked by the friendly host, Jonas, we are more of a budget tourists. Hope that we will be able to go back there in summer!
What I liked best: the changing light and the way it interacted with the colors of each room.
What I liked least: the mattress on our bed that was kind of hard and the way the doors creaked.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews