We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and unique place to stay”
Review of Cotswold Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chalford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cotswold Yurts
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just spent a week at Cotswold Yurts with our two children, aged 8 months and 3 ½ years – and we loved it. Due to availability, we had to split the week between the Lillyhorn and the Oakridge yurts. The yurts are tastefully decorated, cosy (think of fairy lights and lanterns) and easily heated using the wood burner. The outdoor yurt kitchens are well equipped for cooking a family meal. The compost loos in the woods were fine to use, even with our 3 ½ year old who was fascinated by the process of getting to them and putting in the ashes and saw dust!

The yurts and kitchens are all very clean and have Ecover and Neil’s Yard soaps and fresh flowers – nice touches to go with the tastefully decorated and equipped yurts.

All in all, the yurts and their surroundings are a lovely place to relax and switch off from the rest of the world. For a family, it's a great way to have some quality time together in one big room.

Graham, who runs the place with his partner Blue, built the yurts himself. Both went out of their way to help us out, always at hand to help with any requests whilst leaving you to get on with settling in. Both make you feel like the only sensible thing to do is to chill!

The shared farm kitchen works well for keeping food in the fridge/freezer and cooking if the weather plays up. The showers are clean and the afternoon tea when you arrive is a nice detail that makes you feel at home.

The surrounding area is stunning with picturesque villages, an outdoor pool nearby, farm shops, beautiful towns with nice pubs and the Cotswold Beach and Water park all within a half hour drive away – enough to entertain the whole family. There are several supermarkets within a 15 minute drive away. There are donkeys, cows, chickens and rabbits to entertain the kids on the farm itself, as well as plenty of walks to nearby cafees and pubs.

All in all, a lovely place to spend your holidays. You’re guaranteed to switch off from the world whilst pushing the wheel barrow around and chopping up fire wood for the BBQ. A lovely place for a romantic break for two, or an active holiday for a family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswoldyurts, Owner at Cotswold Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Wow, thanks for your review, it's even more informative than our website. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found everything you wanted to keep the family happy. I have to say it was very cute seeing your fantastic little helper so enthusiastic about the whole outdoor living experience. Hopefully see you again sometime very soon. Warm Regards, Blue & Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Cotswold Yurts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My plan was to convince my wife that camping could be fun and comfortable. However as plans have a habit of changing mine has seriously back-fired as Oakridge Yurt was so perfect in comfort and setting that I've now got no chance of getting her under canvass if it doesn't live up to this experience.
We stayed for three nights and we really didn't want to leave. The Yurt itself is large and beautifully furnished and is located within a beautiful dell that is fully of wild flowers including the odd orchid. The wood-burner quickly takes the chill off the cooler evenings and is very easy to use.
I can't recommend this highly enough

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ryorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswoldyurts, Owner at Cotswold Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm really pleased you appreciated the orchids next to the yurt, they're quite special to us and this year we've had more than ever so, I'm very proud. Do come and visit again sometime, now you're both canvas lovers! Warm Regards, Blue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the second time we've visited Cotswold Yurts and we weren't disappointed !
It's still as beautiful as it was a few years ago, and we chose this place as a 'getaway from it' weekend to relax before our Wedding in 8 weeks time. And we certainly did relax !
The weather was kind to us so we spent most of the time soaking up the sun in the deck chairs on the decking. The woodland that the yurts sit in is just so peaceful and very private from the other yurts...in fact you really wouldn't know anyone else was there !
Thanks to Blue & Graham for another fab, restorative weekend...we will most definitely be back !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank helenbrown911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Oakridge Yurt! Blue and Graham have paid attention to every little detail to make a cosy and relaxing place to stay! We loved the beautiful bath and shower in the horsebox, the loo with a view, and the well equipped field kitchen. We loved the feeling of privacy, surrounded by nature - we saw rabbits, all kinds of birds, butterflies from our verandah. We were sad not to be able to use the fire pit due to the awful weather, but the rain made sitting inside with the woodburner and the fairy lights even more welcome. Thank you for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: The "bathroom" for Oakridge was lovely. We loved being in our own little meadow.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have never seen my husband unwind as quickly as he did here. The place feels so simple and basic, but is in fact really luxurious and comfortable. We stayed for the weekend and only left once to walk to the pub for a meal, but otherwise, if you bring enough food, all you need is here. We felt quite childlike during our time here, as if we were playing house, which as an escape from our busy lives was really rejuvenating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just spent the most amazing week at the mole end Yurt....Graham and Blue were most welcoming and let us get on with our holiday.

The Yurt was amazingly decorated and equiped with everything you need to enjoy a luxury break in the middle of a rural woodland, we also particulary enjoyed the kitchen facilities and the wood oven where we cooked some amazing pizzas.

We are already thinking to comeback later on in the year and we will definitely spread the word not only in the UK but also in our native countries Italy and Spain.

We would not doubt reccomend the Cotswold Yurts to anyone who wants to wind down from a stressful living and wants to enjoy nature in style.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I dont often write reviews but my husband and I love sapperton yurt so much we are booked to go back for the third time next year already. My husband finds it very hard to sit and unwind but Blue and Graham have put so much detail into an already perfect area that I would challege anyone NOT to be able to relax. The bath is amazing the yurt is beond words and even the compost loo is a pleasure to use. If you are looking for a romantic weekend away then look no further because Blue and Graham have thought of everything to make your stay a break that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cotswold Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Yurts

Address: Cowcombe Hill | Chalford, Chalford, Stroud GL53OA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Chalford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chalford
Price Range: £60 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge & Sapperton yurts available for holidays in your very own garden or special place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotswold Yurts Chalford, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing