We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quanit old village pub”
Review of The White Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Lion
Ranked #1 of 2 Bourton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“quanit old village pub”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Quaint old stone walled pub that has loads of character, friendly staff, good variety of beers and cider and comfortable rooms (although the standard double bed is very small). Restaurant food was very average and breakfast was a bit limited with just a small choice of cereals and only one fruit juice. Orders were taken by the chef as there were no other staff on duty. Strange way of running things.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    36
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
24
71
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Visby, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Typical busy local English Country pub with good quality food and beer. Clean and Nice rooms - only thing to watch out for is that they are directly above the bar and restaurant and the sound insulation is poor. On our stay (friday night) the music was no issue at all - just loud people, but it didn't stop until 00:30, so light sleepers might find this a drawback

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were driving from Cornwall to London and wanted to have lunch. Rather than eating a burger or a dreary sandwich, we decided to exit the A303 at a point where there were a couple of villages very close by, in the hope of quickly finding a half decent country pub or tea room. We were very lucky to strike gold in the form of The White Lion, in peaceful Bourton just a few minutes off the main road. My daughter was delighted with her fish and chips - well cooked in light crispy batter with tartare sauce, chunky chips and a crunchy side salad. I had a perfectly cooked loin of salmon, wonderfully fresh, with minted new potatoes, asparagus and spring greens. All of the food was skilfully prepared and at a total cost of just under £21, including a glass of lemonade for my daughter, we thought it was good value too. We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 659CatherineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked in for a two-night stay and had a thoroughly lovely time.

The room was big and had Sky TV, the bathroom was big enough and the shower was amazing. The bed was big and super comfy - I think the pillows are the comfiest I've ever slept on. We were offered breakfast at a time that suited us (10am) and had a great cooked breakfast on both days.

We didn't have dinner at the pub, but only because we were down for a wedding and therefore had other plans. We did have a drink while a few people tucked in to their dinners - all of which smelt and looked very tasty.

The staff looked after us very well and made us feel really welcome. It's a fab little pub as well as a B&B and the locals are great - we even had a nice lady offering us a lift to the wedding we were down for.

I do agree with a previous review about the mirror in the bathroom and I would have loved a big bath sheet, rather than a bath towel - but both of those are niggles rather than complaints. I would highly recommend The White Lion and will definitely be booking in again if we find ourselves down in Dorset again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was a one night stopover. However, thus was the first real taste of our summer holiday. The room although cosy offered period charm and was in good order and bed was comfy. The food dinner and breakfast was of high quality and the service was profession and friendly. The bar was again cosy and the locals drinking there were warm, welcoming and friendly. There is addition seating outside to drink you Scumpy.

Room Tip: If staying longer i'd take the larger room, but for one or two nights the smaller room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

One of the best value rooms I have ever booked -good space and great customer service - good location - really pretty and great value for money - website pictures don't do the place justice. Stayed a weekendfor racing and good location and food on site was good

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank julietb880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

stayed for 2 nights august bank holiday food was excellent room was lovely the red room, could of done with a chest of drawers and mirror in bathroom was not fixed to wall just leaning on sink but apart from that stay was very enjoyable will return for 3rd stay. waiter great personality and good at job .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 37butch1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton
5.7 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#15 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Property: The White Lion
Address: High Street, Bourton SP8 5AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bourton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Bourton
The White Lion Bourton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing