We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doggy diners ??????” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Lion
Ranked #1 of 2 Bourton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doggy diners ??????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My partner and i booked a table for lunch today as a treat for my sons 16th birthday. Having dined here on a previous occasion we were very much looking forward to our meal as our last visit was very enjoyable both food and service were exceptional . However on arrival today having purchased our drinks at the bar we were directed to our table in the restaurant where upon we were transported back in time to mediviel England complete with dogs on laps eating of dinner plates , and barking and squabbling whilst owners ate pudding and did nothing to discipline these unruly animals , ( Dont get me wrong we expect to find dogs in country pubs in bar areas but sitting on laps at tables licking plates ???) When the barking reached a totally unacceptable level due to discord amongst the and yes i do mean pack we counted 7 not that i am not an expert on dogs but im quite sure that more than two constitutes a pack . We then shared our displeasure with fellow diners who where located nearer to the scene of the affray than us! and were equally appalled . Having experienced dogs being taken back and forth past our table while we where trying to enjoy our meal ,we reached a point of utter disbelief and annoyance that the new manger would allow diners not only to allow dogs to eat of plates but also to allow other diners to suffer the discomfort of having to put with such a display of blatant disregard for the sensibilties of other diners..Having complained to the manager on the appropriateness of allowing such a large number of dogs into a public eating area we were informed that hygiene was not an issue as crockery was sterilised and it was ok as long as the dogs did not enter food preparation areas. However he made no comment on the noise level of our fellow canine diners or indeed offered no recompense or apology for this unusual display of country living .
Is it just me that thinks this is not is unacceptable ????

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    35
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
24
70
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

A bit late with our comments but better late than never. We stayed for just one night (a Friday) and was prepared to cancel based on a previous guests comment. However we arrived at lunchtime and thought it was perfectly acceptable so we booked in and had a light lunch in the bar. A more than generous baguette was provided with some of the nicest chips ever had. We then ventured out to Stourhead and some of the villages to return to a comfortable room and a quick drink. Our evening meal was very good, it's not fine dining as such but that is why we went to this pub. The chef needs to be congratulated as she was also providing meals for a celebration party of 28 people at the same time as us, no delays and we were made more than welcome. Being a Friday there was music, a young girl with guitar - she should be on X Factor. Bottom line is that the pub, restaurant and accommodation were perfectly acceptable, yes a mistake with the size of bed but that does not warrant the negative comments made previously by another guest. I was pleased to see the positive comments from a guest before my comments, I read the whole summary and could not agree more. We were in room 2 and it was fine. Thanks for a lovely stay, we will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I fancied a break out West Country way and found the White Lion via Mr. Google - three nights for the price of two. It's well placed to go to Bath (30 Miles), Cheddar Gorge (30 miles), Shaftesbury (10 miles - The 'Hovis' Hill) and you drive past Stonehenge on the way. Also, it's only about 1.5 hours from SW London/Surrey area. Gorgeous countryside - Let us remember what a beautiful country this is - and very close to Stourhead House which is well worth a visit. Stunning landscaped gardens and they have their own pub. The White Lion is two 19th century buildings into one and looks like it. Picture box on the outside, great big stone walls and wonky walls and floors. Just what I love in an old building, but not decrepit at all. Bar area is plain and old and is where much of the wonkiness is. The restaurant is lovely and retains the atmosphere of age but has been done out recently. There is also artwork on the wall that you can buy. If you like your real ale, and I do, you'll be good as it was delicious, Otter Amber and Black Sheep Ale being the limited choice but it was quality over quantity. The restaurant and food served were very good. Perhaps not Michelin Star but certainly top quality. We eat there all three nights, mainly because of the location and our schedule. We would go out, do stuff, come back for a sneaky siesta and then be ready for a drink late afternoon/early evening. The pub is not near anything and if you fancy a change of scene, you will have to drive, perhaps my only negative thought about the whole stay. Not a problem for us as the food was good, and the menu varied, enough to keep us there. I have read some reviews and the main complaints, it seems, are with the rooms. We stayed in Room 3, the same as the Lady who has just slated it staying on the 13/09. The room is delightful! Yes, it does feel like you're at sea when you walk across the floor in the dark, but I love that. Yes, the mirror is on the sink, not the wall, and is slightly inconvenient but so what? My wife didn't mind it and she puts on as much make-up as the next lady (and she is 5'7" so still had to bend down... a tiny bit). Yes, the light for the bathroom is a strip on the wall, but there is a light above the shower as well, plenty to see what you're doing. Yes, the toilet is noisy because of the Saniflow, but it stops when it's finished. Yes, the wardrobe is a pole in the alcove above a small chest of drawers. But come on, it's a B & B in a pub. The window sills are almost like window seats and provide shelf space. You are not staying there for a fortnights holiday and it's perfectly fine unless you are ultra-fussy and I'm happy to live out of the suitcase. The bed IS a King size. We have a king size at home and this isn't a double. Also, my wife says that it is the most comfortable beds she has ever slept in. Talking with the staff, it cost over £1000. We were immensely chuffed with the room it was lovely, I hope we get the same one on our next visit. Mind your head going in and out though as the door is only about 5' tall and wifey banged her head every time! Breakfast was a full English, but not a greasy spoon one. Seemed to be all grilled and the sausages were to die for!! The best thing, probably for me, was the friendly staff. From the moment we arrived, where they didn't even ask who we were, we found them very friendly and extremely helpful. Had a nice chat with the manage (young guy with a beard) and also the chef (younger guy, no beard) who we spoke to congratulate him on his food the night before.

Can't answer about the noise from the bar as we were there mid-week and didn't hear a thing but it is a working pub with live music at the weekends so, if I were you, stay in the bar, have some of the beautiful Otter Amber and enjoy the music before going to bed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renters999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Everything that could be wrong was wrong. A terrible experience had at the White Lion. Due to my partner being 6'4" we ALWAYS search for and book rooms with KINGSIZE beds. After finding on Expedia this place, it stated that 2 nights in a double room would be £110 or 2 nights in a superior kingsize room with kingsize bed would be £150. We therefore booked the kingsize. On arrival at the B&B we were put in room number 3 which had to our surprise a double bed. We complained to the bar staff and were told they didn't know anything about the rooms, they thought them all double beds. We had a terrible nights sleep being squashed up with my partner constantly banging his feet on the foot board to the bed.

The door to our room did not have a handle on it as it was broken off and to open and close it we had to do this my means of mole grips that had been fixed to the door.

The only light to work inthe bathroom was the one over the shower itself. The light at the other end of the bathroom over the toilet and sink area did not work.

The mirror that was provided in the bathroom was not even fitted to the wall. It was placed on the sink itself causing limited space to work the taps and when applying make up or just needing to use the mirror for whatever reason you had to bend and stoop to be able to see into it.

The toilet was flushed using a saniflow system - we have never heard anything so noisy in our life. It was horrendous.

The room is sparsely furnished and would benefit from a chest of drawers or dressing table as there is nowhere to put personal belongings like hairdryer, perfume, deo, laptop as there is no free area to do so apart from the window sill. The wardrobe area is just a rail in the corner of the room with a small 3 drawer bedside cabinet beneath it.

We ate the first night in the White Lion and had no real complaints regarding the food but the second night we ordered Rib eye Steak. We have never in our life been served with such a small measly portion of steak. The waitress forget which was which for we had to find that out for ourselves. There was no glasses provided with the jug of water given to us. We were not given steak knives just butter knives to eat our meal with and when we attempted to eat the steak it was just pure fat, with very little edible meat to be found. It was utterly disgusting and complaint made.

That was the final straw, we could not take any more and did not wish to spend the second night in that B&B after having had a terrible meal and was faced with a terrible night cramped in a double bed.

Perhaps we were unlucky and just fell foul to a bad weekend with it including Friday 13th But what has amazed me is the fact we had to shell out good money for all the above.

I shall be taking this further with management of the establishment as it totally ruined a second anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: If you want a nice kingsized bed - go elsewhere - THIS PLACE DOESN'T HAVE ONE - so ignore advert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely pub...very helpful and friendly staff...was here for The Lionfest...fabulous day...very well organised...plenty of parking...great venue...good location...excellent line up of bands...will hopefully return again next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 74Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely traditional pub with very friendly staff. We stayed midweek for a night in the red room, which was reasonable value but a little basic - the room looked unfinished and rather hurriedly put together, a light bulb in the bathroom was out of action, and the mirror in the bathroom was balanced precariously on the sink. But the room was comfortable, if a bit noisy from guests in the restaurant. Breakfast was really good, despite us asking to have it earlier than normally available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouM740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Very conveniently located with an attractive beer garden. Very good food with excellent service and reasonable value. Check your bill as we were accidentally over charged the price of a bottle for a glass of wine which we did not discover until after we left. They will make a refund in due course I hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 4 in Mere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Property: The White Lion
Address: High Street, Bourton SP8 5AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bourton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Bourton
The White Lion Bourton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing