We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Changbaishan Resort
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Fusong County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was with a group and I was very impressed by the hotel. It is a mountain hotel, with very good facilities, and wide and warm decorated romos. The food at the restaurant was chinese and International, excellent quality and a good service.
I fulfilled my expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertoChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, General Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to provide us with some comments regarding your stay at The Westin Changbaishan Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback when we get things right. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Westin Changbaishan next year or earlier during the summer season; which is also a beautiful time for this area. Warm regards – Bruce Humphry – Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visit there at the beginning of Feb. The hotel is located at the beautiful valley with a world class ski resort(That's my main propose). The facility of the hotel is ok. New and nice. However; I ordered a bottle of champange before I arrived and I told the guest relations that " DO NOT DISCLOSE" to my boy friend...
But...of course, they mentioned it during the check-in. Then we ordred in room dining...I remember was a cesar salad...but the salad came with one fork!( the in room dining already comfirmed I have 2 people)...OK..then they gave us 2 candle for romatic...but...again...no lighter...(We were staying in the Non-Smoking room, not excepted us are smoker?)
Anyway, there are many hotel there, will just simple choose the other hotel for my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose the other one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, General Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback when we get things right and also those areas which require some improvement. Thank you for taking the time to write some comments. We have provided feedback and additional training to our associates so immediate improvement can be made to ensure these matters raised do not occur again in the future. We hope you will join us again in Changbaishan. Warm regards.
Bruce Humphry – Complex Manager
非常感谢您的评论,不管是对我们的肯定还是提出的宝贵建议。我们已将问题回馈给员工和进行更多的培训以便迅速提高服务来保证此类事件不再发生。我们期待您的下一次长白山之旅。真诚祝愿 !
韩福瑞-总经理

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I had to stay in the resort due to my flight cancellation and chose Sheraton. It was late Nov, there seemed to be only about 20 guests. Room was comfy and clean. Facilities were great. The breakfast was a mixture of Chinese and Western (mostly), with fresh bread and juice. The staff were very polite and attentive. Didn't use other facilities but it was an pleasant stay for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PablosDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry X, General Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write some comments about your experience when staying at our Sheraton Hotel, they are sincerely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again when next your travel plans include Changbaishan. Warm regards Bruce Humphry – Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Summary:
* Dining services are good. Room quality is good, though not thoroughly cleaned (dust balls on floor, spill spots on counter tops)
* Guest Services staff needs better training, in customer service and in English.
* Climate control & internet need improvement. Get a room with a balcony. One room we were put in was above 30C in the winter with windows that didn't open.
* Hot water pressure fluxuates, meaning that your shower can cycle between warm and scalding, or cold and lukewarm. Your choice. Oh, and the hot/cold/off label on our sink was installed incorrectly, so that hot was labeled "cold", off, was labeled "hot", and cold was labeled "off".

I booked an X-mas package for 3 nights, which includes free internet, breakfast & dinner, and welcome fruit and wine.

At check-in, the receptionist didn't speak any English, so she communicated with my Chinese partner instead of me. We were taken to our room, which only had wired internet (no wifi). We called the desk and asked if any wifi rooms were available. About 15 minutes later, they sent someone to take us to a new room.

The worker who took us to the new room dropped us off and left quickly, without making sure the new room was acceptable. The temperature in the new room was above 30C/86F. The windows could not be opened and the A/C could not produce cool air. After calling the front desk, they sent a maintenance worker 15 minutes later who could not solve the temperature problem. Further, the room did not have wifi.

After waiting another 15 minutes for the staff to send someone to solve the problem, we walked back to the front desk to sort things out. We asked to just be put back in the first room, which didn't have wifi, but was at least a comfortable temperature. At the front desk, the SPG counter declined to help us. When we said we are SPG members, she seemed to imply that we were lying by asking what our SPG number was.

A couple hours after we settled into our room, the welcome fruit and wine included in our xmas package hadn't arrived. I called the front desk to request them. Thirty minutes later, I called again. Two hours later, they still hadn't arrived. I called again and the receptionist said that someone would call me back. She seemed uncomfortable with speaking English. Fifteen minutes later, no call, so I called them back and asked in Chinese if she can speak English. She said "not so well" so I asked about the fruit & wine in Chinese. She said something very rapidly in Chinese that I did not understand most of. Several hours later, at 9:00pm the "welcome" snacks arrived.

The breakfast and dinner buffet in Feast were managed much better. The staff was friendly and attentive, though sometimes a bit understaffed especially at breakfast. The selection & quality were very good and the food items almost never ran out without being replaced quickly. I was excited to see a beer other than Yanjing & Qingdao on the menu, but disappointed to find out that they don't actually have that beer in stock.

The shuttle bus was also handled poorly. Instead of letting guests wait inside, they send everyone out into the sub-zero temperatures to battle for a seat on the bus. There are no tickets and no queues. Just a mad dash across the icy sidewalk to claim a seat on the bus, which can't pull all the way to the entrance because the roundabout has been parked full of cars.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. We were shown one room with windows that didn't open. It was 30C/86F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeijingJonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaChangbaishan, Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leave the comments to us. We will most certainly pass your comments on to the team so we can improve. The management team takes all comments seriously, sharing them with our associates so we may resolve the issues highlighted. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our going efforts to improve our service. Hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The Chinese developer (Wanda) did an excellent job building a world class ski resort which the Starwood Group manage very poorly. Save your money and nerves and don't stay there and especially don't dine in their restaurants!

Clueless staff welcome you when you come in. They are very badly trained and don't know much. Reception is short of hands and no one provide service at the preferred guests reception. The rooms are spacious but not properly cleaned. The management obviously lack commercial sense.It takes an hour to get a bottle of water to the room so we even didn't dare to order from the room service menu.The lobby bar is freezing so no one seats there. Instead of scheduling maintenance work when people are away during the day, in the afternoon 20 workers were erecting scaffolding in the middle of the lobby. The menu in the Chinese restaurant (Sheraton) is dull. the breakfast is not impressive and half of the dining area is very cold. The worst of all is the Korean restaurant in the Westin (connected to the Sheraton). Terrible service!! After 30 mins waiting they told us they run out of soup and after another 20 mins they also run out of meat (in a grill restaurant!!). All around angry customers were shouting at the waiters which were walking around like zombies not even serving tea to those waiting for their food. We called the restaurant manager and told him how bad the place is managed but besides mumbling that he was sorry he had nothing more meaningful to say (so we left without paying our bill). Over all very disappointing experience!

The Ski area is not bad. Runs are wide, well groomed but short. Around 10 slopes were open out of 30 something available. Ski lifts are covered and there are several gondolas. Plenty practice area for beginners. Problems again start when people are involved. There are no trail maps available. At the lifts no one can tell you which trails are closed because no one inform the staff. Some of the closed trails are not marked and climbing back by foot after reaching a dead end is not fun. At the ski centre gear is provided by non professional people. Skis are not adjusted to fit the boots and no one cares about making sure the bindings are adjusted to the skiers levels. Rentals are for one day only so every day time is wasted renting and returning the equipment. Most of the signs are in Chinese only. Limited food options around and all the supermarkets run out of mineral water already in the early afternoon. Connections from the hotels to the site are by local small dirty taxis. There was supposed to be a shuttle bus but it was never to be seen...

Over all a place with good potential which must have costed a fair bit of capital to develop but where is the management ?!?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theperfectspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaChangbaishan, Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leave the comments to us. We will most certainly pass your comments on to the team so we can improve. The management team takes all comments seriously, sharing them with our associates so we may resolve the issues highlighted. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our going efforts to improve our service. Hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I'm still staying within the hotel and I'm sorry to say that the management and staff quality are extremely BAD.
1. We were driving by our own car to go on a vacation and we had an car accident right after we get off high-way. We contacted hotel and they did manage to send two taxi to pick us up. However when we arrive they ask for DOUBLE price of regular display price (we confirmed with local drivers.) And hotel staff confirmed it when we trying to get a reasonable answer from the hotel.
2. The nightmare continues after when we trying to check-in. Front desk inform us that our reservation were two rooms instead three (we booked three.). After half hour of waiting without any apologies on this hotel miscommunication of reservation, we finally checked in and we were extremely starving.
3. There's no wifi inside room and lots of facilities such as spa and swimming pool are located in Westin which is a 15mins walk from Sheraton. I dont no why this hotel even a five-star resort since two hotels are sharing basic facilities?
4. Because of the long hike to spa, we dicied to call an in room spa service. The spa send in the masseuse and she refuse to provide the full body massage which we told the spa department. Turns out she thinks that my friend is too big and she will be exhausted.
5. With all these horrible experience, the most disappointing one is that none of them are solved by the hotel managers and all they do is throwing responsibility like balls and no one solves it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaChangbaishan, Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear of your experience .The management team takes all comments seriously, sharing them with our associates so we may resolve the issues highlighted. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our going efforts to improve our service.I do hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with 单个酒店
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
长白山万达威斯汀及喜来登度假酒店, Manager at Sheraton Changbaishan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fusong County hotels
0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Changbaishan
Hyatt Regency Changbaishan
#3 of 69 in Fusong County
67 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Changbaishan
Holiday Inn Resort Changbaishan
#6 of 69 in Fusong County
52 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Changbaishan
Holiday Inn Express Changbaishan
#8 of 69 in Fusong County
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Westin Changbaishan Resort
The Westin Changbaishan Resort
#1 of 69 in Fusong County
89 reviews
0 mi away
Park Hyatt Changbaishan
Park Hyatt Changbaishan
#4 of 69 in Fusong County
21 reviews
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Changbaishan Suites
Holiday Inn Changbaishan Suites
#11 of 69 in Fusong County
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Changbaishan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Changbaishan Resort

Address: No.369 Baiyun Road, Changbaishan International Resort, Fusong County 134504, China
Region: China > Jilin > Fusong County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Fusong County
Price Range: £197 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Changbaishan Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Changbaishan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing