We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, terrible weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malandela's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Malkerns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was a little haven with what, we were told had good views, but in the 3 days of our stay, it rained everyday.
Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the lovely gardens, swimming pool and the outside area as it was cold and wet.
Luckily the accommodation was lovely. we were in the purple room which was very spacious with a kitchen area which had a fridge and coffee/ tea making facilities but no cutlery or crockery.
The room was very clean and comfortable and the verandah was sheltered from the rain so we enjoyed watching the lovely birds.
The breakfast was very good and the meals at the restaurant were tasty, well cooked and reasonably priced.The breakfast had the best coffee that we have had.
The only thing that lets this place down is the staff. They are not very friendly, more interested in chatting and their mobiles rather then serving customers. The B and B staff were fine as was Sonia in the information place.
The other thing is that there is no telly and the lighting is dim. As we were unlucky enough with weather, there was nothing to do. We couldn't read or watch TV.
There was a Tv in the bar that showed sports which was okay but you had to watch what was already on.
I also feel that WiFi should be free or cheap and this needs to be improved.
If you are on the ground floor, it can be boisy when people are moving around upstairs. The floor was very squeeky.
Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We really enjoyed this B&B! The location is very nice with some nice views from the restaurant. The rooms are nicely decorated and you can see that the is alot of attention for details. The breakfast is really good and the staff very helpfull. Also very nice is that there is a small travel agency in the same complex which offers very good tours into the area, we really enjoyed the day trip!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joukje J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I was here last month and stayed for a total of 4 nights. The rooms were great, the view was stunning, and the food.... AMAZING!! So good, and so delish! Their bacon avo salad.... I was obsessed with it and now I make it a few times a week since I've been back home.

I highly recommend staying here and would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent two nights at Malandela's as part of a longer 3-week trip. It is an attractive B&B with gorgeous gardens. Rooms were simple and didn't have enough lighting but had some nice decor touches. Breakfast was tasty and the restaurant on the grounds was very good. The staff was not especially helpful or friendly, although there was nothing to complain about either. Malandela's is part of an incredible complex that includes a concert venue and several boutiques selling Swazi crafts - it's a fascinating place. I didn't stay other places in Swaziland, but have to believe this is one of the best places you could stay there.

Room Tip: There is a nice double room on the second floor that was good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We enjoyed our three days at Malandelas and can recommend this lovely and cute place to everyone who appreciates a nice B&B in a great surrounding with a nice pool and garden. Breakfast was great, staff very friendly and helpful and the nearby House on Fire just amazing. The room was pretty small but very cosy and nicely designed. Would definitely love to come back another day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Malandela is a lovely bed & breakfast, located in the middle of a wonderful tropical garden. The pool looks very clean and is quite large. The restaurant nearby is not to be missed with good food, reasonnable prices and good "vibes".
The breakfast is really very good with high quality home made products (but small portions).
We would have expected a warmer welcome...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThierryThenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is by far the BEST place you could stay in Swaziland. A Really affordable Bed and Breakfast offering the facilities you would otherwise expect in a five star establishment. Really stunning well looked after gardens, Incredible staff who are lovely and welcoming. The place is clean, a lot of detail is paid attention to and you couldn't be more at ease. With a lovely farm pub to watch sport and have a drink, a beautiful farm house restaurant to order meals from i cant stress what good value for money this establishment is! Love to Happiness, Zandi and Lungile - you guys do a fantastic job, see you soon x

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaBang0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malkerns
4.5 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
740 reviews
4.3 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
6.9 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
287 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
#1 of 2 in Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malandela's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malandela's Guest House

Address: Mahlanya Road, Malkerns M204, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Manzini District > Malkerns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Malkerns
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Malandela's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malandela`s Bed And Breakfast Hotel Malkerns
Malandela`s b&b
Malandela's Guest House Swaziland/Malkerns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing