We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free ticket, where to go?”
Review of Kota Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kota Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Free ticket, where to go?”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were supposed to go to Coron (Busuanga), but the route got cancelled. The airline offered a full refund, then came a new seat sale to Cebu - let's go!
We were looking into the usual Maribago area - quite pricey and we wanted to be at the off-the-beaten path places.
Moalboal was suggested as it was popular among local Cebuanos.
Malapascua was also considered, but we opted for Bantayan Island.
We chose Kota Beach as it was recommended by a friend.
It was great to be on beach front cottages. The resort has a wide shore line with fine white sand.
We got a room with a double plus 1 single bed. We paid P1,700/night.
The food was terrible. It's better to eat at the nearby market where restaurants abound.
The good about Bantayan is it gives you a good feel of nature, afterwhich you can also get the taste of the city of Cebu after.

Room Tip: Get the beach front rooms for easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    85
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
44
73
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sunny philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in Kota Beach Resort during the holy week and we were very fortunate enough to get rooms despite the peak season. I've been a regular of this resort since the '90s. Coming every now and then. This time, its been awhile since I got back and during this visit I was disappointed to what's happening to the resort. Here are my thoughts.

Pros:
1. Best Beach Front in Banayan
2. Affordable rates and big rooms (but offset by the cons)
3. Walking distance to the restaurants
4. You can have canned goods cooked and the marmalade on the toast tasted really good.

Cons:
1. Cockroaches in the room and outside (really really a deal breaker here. I hope they weren't crawling on our beds)
2. Whenever we used the faucet, it smells like the sewage. We had to use the shower to brush our teeth and all. Smelled awful.
3. The cottages are really old. They look the same as they were in the '90s.

The Cons were really bad that it really offset-ed the Pros of this resort. I hope they can improve their facilities since they really have a good beach front that they can capitalize. Such a waste.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantayan Island hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

the place and the beach front is really their asset..dont expect a lot from the rooms because its just normal. just enjoy nature at its best..furing

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemUPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Totally agree w/ the others who said don't be fooled by their picturesque depiction of Kota's resort. Their Amihan room is the worst ever! looks old & suffocating, no interior decor, it's like a four-walled prison cell, old dresser, aircon is like centuries old, we were welcomed by old, dilapidated & dirty sofa & chairs at their filthy veranda...

Accdg to their multiply account they have wi-fi, right??? Well guess what...it's busted!

Twas like a nightmare for me & my hubby that we stayed for less than 3 hours only!... Otherwise Kota would have totally ruined our Sta Fe experience! We decided to look for BETTER resorts w/ BETTER accommodations & Coral Blue Oriental (formerly Bamboo) was our saving grace! it's far far far better than Kota! To even compare the two resorts seems unfitting coz Coral's standards are way beyond Kota.

We checked out from Kota despite the fact that we won't be able to get a refund anymore. We could live w/ that rather than get stuck in their rotten resort. Yes their rates are cheap but their accommodation is not worth a cent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapu Lapu, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed with family and friend who loved it as we all did
Friendly staff great beach and reasoable prices
We will be back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The only beachfront accommodation I know that is budget friendly, aside from Marlin's Beach Resort (which is quite on the high-end). Friendly staff, provides quite good homecooked meals. Rooms are quaint, we stayed in a cottage-style which gave us a lot of privacy (and also the chills, resort is quite dark at night). The place is not for the picky traveler, but it does provide the basic accommodation. We have to transfer here a night after we stayed at CouCou Lodge because of the proximity to the beach, and some personal reasons I don't want to disclose. Our contact here was Dodong. He is very polite and friendly to us and easily attended to our request to transfer. Pedicabs abound at their gate which made it easy for us to go around Sta. Fe town. Just be careful in saying yes to everyone, they actually take it as commitment.

Room Tip: If you are on a tight budget but still want the luxury of a beachfront, stay at Kota Beach Resort. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerslumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Great location, value for money and nice staff. The resort is nestled on the corner of the island with a long beach line to the right. The locals were very helpful as cooked fresh seafood, which were very delicious.

I traveled a couple of times to Bantayan but stayed here in Kota Beach twice, first in 2008 and the next in 2010.

The pictures I posted were taken in 2008, sometime around late September. The sand and waters were great. I couldn't say the same thing when we went there in 2010, around May. The beach wasn't very clean and the sand wasn't fine, must be the season.

Room Tip: The bungalows are a bit pricey but offer much room, especially if you're traveling with lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animasoIa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ritzy Lothar Beach Resort & Hotel, Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Beach Resort

Property: Kota Beach Resort
Address: F Roska Street, Sante Fe, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kota Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kota Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
Kota Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing