We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beachfront”
Review of Kota Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kota Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
laguna philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Beachfront”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Me, my Husband and some of our friends stayed here for 4 days last Nov. 23-25 2012 on their Deluxe Cottages...Some says rooms are ordinary yes I agree to that, but the cottages facing the beach is money worth yes again they are not like those resort that gives full luxury but what we feel here is relax which is more important when in vacation.. we never regret chosing KOTA BEACH Resort because first, its away from the Sta. Fe port which may possible that Ferries can oil spill around, 2nd the waves here in the side of KOTA Beach are not big compare the beaches along sta. fe port theres a lot of seaweeds and smalls boats....3rd restaurants are near KOTA Beach...trust me we bike around sta fe and those resorts like container van rooms are just plain resort not beachfront alluring....lastly 4th, around Kota beach it gives you both the view of sunrise and sunset...the other side it will just give you the sunrise view!!! m

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    87
    60
    21
    12
See reviews for
44
74
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malabon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A beachfront resort. We stayed in a nipa-hut room which looks so nice outside but inside, so ordinary. Bathroom doorknob was broken. Airconditioner is fine.

Their food is just okay. The staff is not that friendly and they would not even smile. I would definitely try other resorts when we go back to Cebu.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Room we got was the Amihan. It is a very basic room but very big. It had 2 Queen Sized Beds with a Mattress which felt like it has not been changed for years. The area surrounding the room lacked maintenance. The resort looked like it had seen better days.

The beach front though is a plus, their food here is cheap and delicious.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KingRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were supposed to go to Coron (Busuanga), but the route got cancelled. The airline offered a full refund, then came a new seat sale to Cebu - let's go!
We were looking into the usual Maribago area - quite pricey and we wanted to be at the off-the-beaten path places.
Moalboal was suggested as it was popular among local Cebuanos.
Malapascua was also considered, but we opted for Bantayan Island.
We chose Kota Beach as it was recommended by a friend.
It was great to be on beach front cottages. The resort has a wide shore line with fine white sand.
We got a room with a double plus 1 single bed. We paid P1,700/night.
The food was terrible. It's better to eat at the nearby market where restaurants abound.
The good about Bantayan is it gives you a good feel of nature, afterwhich you can also get the taste of the city of Cebu after.

Room Tip: Get the beach front rooms for easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny philippines
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in Kota Beach Resort during the holy week and we were very fortunate enough to get rooms despite the peak season. I've been a regular of this resort since the '90s. Coming every now and then. This time, its been awhile since I got back and during this visit I was disappointed to what's happening to the resort. Here are my thoughts.

Pros:
1. Best Beach Front in Banayan
2. Affordable rates and big rooms (but offset by the cons)
3. Walking distance to the restaurants
4. You can have canned goods cooked and the marmalade on the toast tasted really good.

Cons:
1. Cockroaches in the room and outside (really really a deal breaker here. I hope they weren't crawling on our beds)
2. Whenever we used the faucet, it smells like the sewage. We had to use the shower to brush our teeth and all. Smelled awful.
3. The cottages are really old. They look the same as they were in the '90s.

The Cons were really bad that it really offset-ed the Pros of this resort. I hope they can improve their facilities since they really have a good beach front that they can capitalize. Such a waste.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantayan Island hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

the place and the beach front is really their asset..dont expect a lot from the rooms because its just normal. just enjoy nature at its best..furing

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemUPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Totally agree w/ the others who said don't be fooled by their picturesque depiction of Kota's resort. Their Amihan room is the worst ever! looks old & suffocating, no interior decor, it's like a four-walled prison cell, old dresser, aircon is like centuries old, we were welcomed by old, dilapidated & dirty sofa & chairs at their filthy veranda...

Accdg to their multiply account they have wi-fi, right??? Well guess what...it's busted!

Twas like a nightmare for me & my hubby that we stayed for less than 3 hours only!... Otherwise Kota would have totally ruined our Sta Fe experience! We decided to look for BETTER resorts w/ BETTER accommodations & Coral Blue Oriental (formerly Bamboo) was our saving grace! it's far far far better than Kota! To even compare the two resorts seems unfitting coz Coral's standards are way beyond Kota.

We checked out from Kota despite the fact that we won't be able to get a refund anymore. We could live w/ that rather than get stuck in their rotten resort. Yes their rates are cheap but their accommodation is not worth a cent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ritzy Lothar Beach Resort & Hotel, Inc
0.0 mi away
St. Bernard Beach Resort
St. Bernard Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Bantayan Island
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kota Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Beach Resort

Property: Kota Beach Resort
Address: F Roska Street, Sante Fe, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kota Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kota Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
Kota Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing