We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kota Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin's Beach Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amihan Beach Cabanas(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ogtong Cave Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
St. Bernard Beach Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
63
94
68
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
94
68
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskota beachsand barthe cottagesstandard aircondeluxe cottagewalking distancethird rowclean watersanta fefront officecoconut treespros and conssliding doorfood establishmentsslow serviceaccommodating staffferry boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We chose Kota Beach because the owner is a friend of my cousin yet our stay is unimaginable. We got an unfriendly & non service oriented customer service. The receptionist is rude. They even wont extend extra mileage by even allowing us to store our marketed products. They charged BIG time.

The rooms we got was like a ward room of a public hospital. Its their AMIHAN rooms. The aircon sucks, the CR would remind you of a horror movie--- door handle broken, bathroom lights flickered on & off, and whats worst, my cousin couldn't fit (literally) inside the cubicle. They didn't provide towels & basic toiletries (soap, shampoo).

The beachfront rooms are ok but that would compensate the view you can get from the balcony.

The penthouse room got a funtastic view but the aircon sucks. It couldn't compensate the heat.

The restaurant has a nice view but the food choices is limited & the service is snail-paced.

Their amenities like billiard is not free & charges guests P15/game.

The only positive feedback i could give is the panoramic view and the beach scene.

I would definitely be back in Bantayan but I wont ever GO BACK to this resort ever again! This is a THUMBS DOWN for us!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeckli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed at Kota Beach almost a year ago with 3 of my friends when we were in Bantayan Island. What we loved about this resort is the beachfront. There are other resorts around the area, and we also tried to explore them (their surroundings at least) during our stay. Most of them, if not all, probably offer even better accommodation options than Kota Beach, but Kota has the better beachfront in that area. I loved the view during sunrise and sunset! It's really peaceful and serene. We woke up a little earlier in the morning and stayed a little bit more outside before twilight because it was what we originally wanted to see before we booked a room here.

Although it's more expensive, we stayed at one of the cottages fronting the beach so that we could take advantage of the view. Aside from that, there was nothing special about it. It was average to say the least. The cottage is actually a mid-sized room with a bathroom plus a small porch outside where you can chill and spend lazy afternoons reading a book or drinking coffee if it's your kind of thing. Aside from the beachfront, the free round-trip port transfers pretty much sealed the deal. The port is not too far however, so you may take a tricycle or "potpot" for example. Most of the beach resorts here offer free airport transfers by the way, so you have a lot of options. In Kota, there are also other accommodation types aside from the cottages, so you can choose the type that would fit your needs and budget.

At that time, I'm not sure if they already offered free Wi-Fi, but they did offer the basic amenities like towels and toiletries. The hotel also has a restaurant near the lobby. The prices are reasonable and the food palatable, but there are a few restaurants and bars outside the resort (within walking distance) where you can dine. They offer more options, and you'll be able to see a lot of tourists in that area also. The resort has bikes for rent for those who would like to explore the place more. It was in my bucket list, but we weren't able to do that because we chose to go island hopping and snorkeling for the most part. Nevertheless, there's a lot to see. Although small, the island is beautiful. I would like to go back some time in the future. :)

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront cottages for a fantastic view during sunrise and sunset :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingEray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Nice beachfront resort. Beach beds are provided. Shore is actually clean and quiet. Sand is not as fine as I expected but good enough.

Bar: Just by the beach, nice and clean with billiards table provided and free wifi. Relaxing and good too.

Restaurant. Average. Food is okay, but a few to choose from. There are many restaurants outside just walking distance away from the resort so If you ever got tired of ordering the same food, you can actually just go out.

Rooms: Outdated. If you are a simple traveler, I think, this won't be a big deal. Rooms are clean enough but with dim lights with super old windows. Towels, soap and bathroom tissues are the basic toiletries provided. No hot water in the shower.

For the price of this resort, I think you're getting more than what you paid for as it is actually cheap. So if you're on a budget, a simple traveler who wants a peaceful environment where you can relax, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Me, my Husband and some of our friends stayed here for 4 days last Nov. 23-25 2012 on their Deluxe Cottages...Some says rooms are ordinary yes I agree to that, but the cottages facing the beach is money worth yes again they are not like those resort that gives full luxury but what we feel here is relax which is more important when in vacation.. we never regret chosing KOTA BEACH Resort because first, its away from the Sta. Fe port which may possible that Ferries can oil spill around, 2nd the waves here in the side of KOTA Beach are not big compare the beaches along sta. fe port theres a lot of seaweeds and smalls boats....3rd restaurants are near KOTA Beach...trust me we bike around sta fe and those resorts like container van rooms are just plain resort not beachfront alluring....lastly 4th, around Kota beach it gives you both the view of sunrise and sunset...the other side it will just give you the sunrise view!!! m

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OceanSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A beachfront resort. We stayed in a nipa-hut room which looks so nice outside but inside, so ordinary. Bathroom doorknob was broken. Airconditioner is fine.

Their food is just okay. The staff is not that friendly and they would not even smile. I would definitely try other resorts when we go back to Cebu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews