We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in all we had a great time here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yooneek Beach Resort
Arnstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All in all we had a great time here.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's a really nice place to relax, you can go swimming in the sea. However, the beach here is not the very best, there are some bigger stones in the water and partly rocky sea floor. It's advisable to go swimming during high tide. The amount of litter at the beach is within reasonable limits.

The Vista Grande Room on the upper floor towards the beach offers a great view on the sea and the neatly designed resort. The condition of the resort could be better, but was still good. The A/C was kinda loud, but we had the same problem during other stays of our trip. A normal sleeper should be fine with that. The shower had warm water, though the water pressure was somewhat too low.

The staff was friendly and even arranged a private island hopping tour (there will be extra costs for admission to Virgin Island, food and cooking, rental of snorkeling equipment, so plan ahead if you're on a budget) and a tricycle tour around the island (if you're going to visit one of the caves, bring some swimwear and towel).

There are a range of international dishes on the menu, but we sticked to meals typical for the country and under this aspect, the choice was a bit limited. You should plan for a longer wait until your meal is served, but that's apparently the case on the whole island (or at least on all the other 5 places where we ordered dishes).

In Santa Fe you can find a lot of places to dine and drink and you can buy everyday items at the convenience stores. You will see a lot of tourists and the locals are used to them. If you need some cash from an ATM, you'll need to take a tour to Bantayan, where you can find the PNB (Philippine National Bank) ATM right next to the plaza, which is the only one accepting international credit cards. Foreigners are less common here and some locals may look at you curiously. There's also a big market place near the plaza, if you like take a stroll.

To get to Yooneek Beach Resort from Cebu City, you can take a bus ride (I highly recommend to take one of the air conditioned buses, watch out for the AIRCON sign, it's only PHP 160 per person) from North Bus Terminal in Cebu to Hagnaya Port. You have to account for a duration of at least 3 hours or more, depending on traffic.

Ferries go hourly from Hagnaya Port to Bantayan Island, but only during daytime, so make sure you don't arrive too late. There are different kinds of ferries and they will need different amounts of time to cross over. On our trip there, it took us 1 hour and 45 minutes, while on our trip back, it was only 1 hour and a couple of minutes. The ride is about PHP 175 per person.

It is highly advisable to contact the hotel before your stay to arrange for a pick-up from the port, since the porters and drivers at the port are very intrusive - particularly when they see a foreigner - and may overcharge you. Backpackers could also take a walk to the resort, it's not too far.

Room Tip: The Vista Grande Room toward the beach has a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blubberdiblub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
37
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Pros
The staff are warm, friendly and courteous.
The fruit shakes are good and just right for the price. Try banana-papaya or banana-mango shake.
Try also their potato dishes.
The resort is just a five minute walk from the church.
There is free Wi-fi.
The view from the resort is just breath-taking. The clear waters of Bantayan coupled with good weather take a whole lot of stress.

Cons
Food service especially on breakfast time needs improvement on speed. If you travel in a big group like us you may want to arrange ahead of time your breakfast/meals especially when the resort has many guests.
There should be enough power supply on stand by especially in brown-outs.
Improve on pest control.
I hope the transportation from the port to the hotel and vv. would be improved too.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaah09bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

What can I say, that was the Boracay 25 years ago. Everything is going very slowly but also anything that does not bother. Waiting for the food, the ants in the room, low water pressure, cleaning room is u duty(to remember u that u must one day go back to work),frequent power cuts .... u just calm down and letting it flow. Breakfast right next to the beautiful sea repay it all. Food is surprisingly good. In any case, it is necessary to visit the Virgin Island. buy sea food at local market and they will cook for u on island. Bantayan city is worth to visit, just rent the motorbike, u will be surprised. Santa Fe city has some very good restaurant and on saturdays live music. The trip from Cebu city is a little bit stressful bcs of the traffic jam but u can see the country side of island. Very diffrent comparing to Cebu city. I will definitely return. The staff is very friendly. They make the best mango shakes. I fell like a new person after one week.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The real attraction is the beach-front drinking/dining! What a beautiful beach it is. Dinner was really quite good, more than I expected. Bantayan was one of the most incredible places I have seen in the Philippines, and I have seen quite a bit! It's a very sleepy and picturesque island...people here are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IDreamedOfThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

i understand that we all have different opinions but based on my experience, my stay there was worth the price! the beach/shore was clean, room was clean and the staff were really2 friendly..the only con i can say about the resort is that they have limited choice of food..but it was ok, we were satisfied eating their lechon kawali anyway..:) overall, i would really recommend this place..btw, we stayed here may 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keysandstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
248 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

For the price we paid I think we fairly got what our money's worth. The location of the resort is excellent as it is a beach front property so that alone made us booked for this resort. Just like most resorts in the island of Bantayan, Yooneek is a small family-run resort so service is personalized and good as long as you don't expect a 5-star service that you will get in those generic resort chains. They serve very good pizzas and pastas aside from the usual local dishes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kegler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

It's not the most beautiful resort, it is quiet old. Needs to be updated, but had a wonderful time. It's not the most important thing that it looks good, but it is the atmosphere and Yooneek prooves this. The food (for Philippine standards) was very good. Prices for the food are really good. Staff is very helpful and friendly.?The airco is à little bit noisy and there is no hot water... Wifi works good. Would defenitly stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robinenilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#4 of 17 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kota Beach Resort
Kota Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bantayan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunday Flower Resort
Sunday Flower Resort
#2 of 10 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yooneek Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yooneek Beach Resort

Property: Yooneek Beach Resort
Address: Santa Fe, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yooneek Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Yooneek Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
Yooneek Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing