We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Bernard Beach Resort-Amazing Place For Realxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Bernard Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“St. Bernard Beach Resort-Amazing Place For Realxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

NO fuss, only relaxing and disconnected.
A big thank you from the bottom of my heart to Flemming and Eden who make me feel very welcome.
Initially i have booked the place for 2 night but i stayed 10 nights cos i love it.
For my birthday i got a free birthday cake from Flemming which was a litlle touch and made me feel welcome.
The place is great , real phillipines with an european twist of reasonable priced food and very clean.
The staff is very helpfull and polite.
In my last day i have received a complimentary breakfast which was great.
Good luck with your bossiness in the new year and thank you from the bottom of my heart for a great service.

COSMIN LAZAR-ROMANIA

Room Tip: I had bungalow number 10 by the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cosminuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for one night only in January after two marvelous days spent in Malapascua. Compared to Malapascua's friendly small island community, Bantayan felt completely different, more catering to tourists (although little developed) and less genuinely friendly, which means many more people will approach you all the time trying to sell a service, and rip you off more frequently. We picked this resort as a cheap option suggested in our guide, but you can find better value for money places in Santa Fe. The resort is nestled in a local village, and you drive through a stretch of dirtroad and local huts, cows, goat and chicken before reaching it, this all being much less picturesque than it might sound. Plan to rent a motorbike if staying there as you can't easily get to the shops and bars of Santa Fe walking. We found the big bird cages mentioned by other travelers quite eery and a bit filthy, they don'd add much charm to the already bit depressing setting of the resort. Small round bungalows are arranged in a narrow and dark alley leading to the beach. You can choose between bungalows with AC, which are a tiny bit more decent and proper and a bit more expensive, and ones with fan, which cost a bit less. Be aware that the cheaper ones also have no glass windows, just fly gitter covered kind of windows. If you might be bothered by the birds go for the more expensive AC bungalows that have proper windows. We stayed in the cheaper one that also had a less appealing bathroom, and only cold water. Both options offer equally tiny rooms. Unfortunately even the beach itself was not very inviting, filthy with garbage and covered with tons of seagrass. The owners are very friendly and helpful people (as also said in the other reviews) and I really regret giving St Bernard a bad review, but you're very likely to have a better time staying somewhere else for the same money.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the beach are farther from the birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nmouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantayan Island hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I decided to write this review because this place is really a hidden gem..
I totally disagree with the bird sick review.. stay somewhere else if you dont like birds, it is a free world, dont pollute the world with your negative attitude towards animals. The statements about you would get sick really tells me that the person dont know much, and he would probably also get very sick crossing the street or swimming in the sea...
The birds are not that near the rooms anyway... The guy who runs the place does a huge job to breed and help some endangered bird species, some is even trained slowly to be set into the wild again.

The round huts reminded me of something from the hobbits village in Lord of the Rings, they are very awsomly constructed and very cousy inside :) - Rooms were clean and tidy...

The staff is very friendly.. I even tried to buy some fresh fish and craps from one of the local fishers on the beach, and the kitchen prepared a great dish for us.. Prices are fair.

I really fell in love with the place and the Island.. I love that there is not so many cars, few motorcycles and lots of bicycles.. Bantayan was like travelling back to the good old days.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here sometime in 2010. Bantayan is a lovely unexploited spot in the Visayas. I'm very happy on my stay with Eden and Fleming of St. Bernard. They were warm and friendly. That's correct you are surrounded by an aviary and I don't mind. It wasn't like what the poster below me described. This place was clean as they have a lot of staff to help out. If you are allergic to birds though, stay somewhere else. If it's not an issue, I'd stay here again. Note that the beach front of this resort is not that swimmable. There are other better beach fronts.They serve very good breakfast here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimeCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cebu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Those who go to this resort should be aware that this is a resort and AVIARY. Literally there are hundreds of birds on a very small property. The windows of the units open out directly onto bird cages which are larger than the rooms themselves.

The room, which is only CLEANED EVERY 3 DAYS, had small mites crawling on the bedsheets. The smell of the birds penetrates the whole area except for the beachfront, including the room. Opening the windows is not an option because of the bugs.

Then there are the flies. Birds attract flies, and the dozens of aviaries large and small (3 of them are larger than the rooms) placed in a tiny area means flies, lots of them. These flies ensure that whatever is in the bird cages ends up on your food, and crawling over your skin.

I developed a persistent severe cough during my short stay there which, a week later, has not gone away. I am currently scheduled to go to the hospital for a series of checks to see if this is because of bird exposure (http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps019)

Unfortunately the website FAILS TO WARN about this situation. Nor do the ADVISE you when you book. Those who are sensitive to insect bites, have allergies, asthma, or other conditions should definitely avoid this resort. I suffered from rashes, bites and other irritations. This place is UNHEALTHFUL AND UNSAFE.

If they decided to move the birds out of the resort to another location, the place would be okay. But its just not worth exposing oneself to the kinds of HEALTH RISKS involved.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from the birds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakbayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banawa, cebu, philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

My wife and I stayed there for 5 days shortly after our marriege. We fell in love with the place. So much so we came back the following year and brought my wife's mother and cousin. they also loved it. no complaints. great food. great prices. very very friendly staff. They made us feel very welcomed. I have no complaints what so ever. We will be back...I miss it already...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovemywifeandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hals, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We have visited St. Bernard Beach Resort 2 years i a row, and still want to come back.
This little nice resort, well hidden between 2 fishing villages is just the perfect place for relaxing and great adventures.
This year we celebrated my fathers 70 birthday, and thanks to Flemming, Eden and the rest of Saint Bernard, we where able to give him the "big surprice party"
The accommodations is situated between palmtree´s in a beautiful garden, with many rare and beautiful birds.
On the way from the harbour, you can see a big sign with St. Bernard´s logo. It says
"St. Bernard Beach Resort the place you will return too" , and guess what, they where right, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoneman9370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bantayan Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kota Beach Resort
Kota Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Bantayan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ritzy Lothar Beach Resort & Hotel, Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Bernard Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Bernard Beach Resort

Property: St. Bernard Beach Resort
Address: Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Bernard Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Bernard Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Bernard Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
St. Bernard Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing