We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend, place is cheap and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ogtong Cave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogtong Cave Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, place is cheap and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect much but this place exceeded our expectations! We stayed at the family room w/ adjoining which has 2 separate rooms (6k overnight which was fair) the only thing i didn't like about their room was the ref, it smelled like jackfruit was stored in there for a month. The place is really clean and the view is really nice. It's just too bad that the shoreline isn't that wide especially if it's high tide, if it's low tide you wouldn't want to swim either because it's full of seaweed. Staff is really friendly, except for the receptionists. I highly recommend this place if you want to just relax and unwind, view is breath taking and the food, it's cheap and tastes good unlike the food at marlin's. we appreciated this place even more when we transferred to marlin's. If we were to come back to bantayan island we'd consider coming back to ogtong cave resort. We did not regret staying here and i'm sure you won't too :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meoooow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
26
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We booked Octong from the website, the Cab was on time to pick us up from the port. Resort is a beautiful landscape right on the beach. it is wide spread. the biggest USP of the resort is its cave right in the resort. You can swim in the cave & it gives u a great feel. We stayed in the sea view room, rooms are just OK, overly priced. thats the only glitch. Other than that, in Bantayan, this is the best place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palamitwipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, nice lobby and general gardens but step inside room, you are up for a shock - sand, dirt, mosquitoes all over, broken aircon, no complimentery drinking water, tiny bathroom with no toiletries, empty mini bar, room smells, aircon was broken and was so noisy that we could not sleep. Poor service where everything is charged extra.Pathetic restaurent that cant b called a place to eat chef has no clue what ia he doing. Basic stuff missing .. so much so no corn flakes. They ask to pay extra for creamer if you need it for coffee ..wow. Too many day users who were very noisy...nice see view but no favilities...They certainly spoiled our vacation and we had to go out to eat and cut short our visit. I will never visit this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaideep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantayan Island hotels

Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This Island in Cebu is a heaven. This is a virgin island with the most beautiful blue sea, white sand, endangered forest and the cleanest beach I’ve ever visited.
During our vacation here in Bantayan we stayed in Ogtong beach resort. This resort is made by natural limestone rocks with landscape garden. They have aircon and non-aircon villas where you can overlook the different scenery of the resort.
They have a swimming pool, fresh water underground cave and beach area. We tried this fresh water underground cave. The water is very cold and very clear. Though it’s rocky, you can enjoy the feeling that you are inside the cave swimming with your family. A must try.
After that experience, we were offered to do island hopping. We agreed and rode on a small boat. We went to various islands and do snorkeling. You can see many species of fishes and you can feed and play with them. Our last stop of the island hopping is the Virgin Island. The name itself can explain why it is called so. It’s the most serine and bluish sea if ever seen. The seafood’s we ate are fresh and so mouth-watering. You can also see starfish in the sea shore and corals. Beautiful creation from God. You should come and see for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

This resort was underrated in the the reviews so I feel compelled to share the wonderful experience that I had in my stay. I have stayed in 5 star resorts,i.e. Shangrila Mactan, Pearl Farm Samal Island, Grand Wailea Oahu,etc,and although the scale was not in the same category the memories and experience was every bit as memorable. The resort was outstanding in all respects,cleanliness, magnificent vistas, a lighted fresh water cave(to bathe and soak and to hide from the hot mid afternoon heat). The food was excellent, I brought fresh crab,clams,scallops,and shrimp from the The Bantayan fish market and the reort chef made the most delicious Bouillabaisse ever( Tinalong), as well as fried shrimp in the shell and baked scallops.In terms of dollar spent per the amount of satisfaction, marginal utility in economic terms , this was over the top! Trust me, I came to stay for 2 days, I stayed for four and then the following week I came for another three.I will be back after the Christmas Holidays and probably stay for at least a week! The price was soooo reasonable.....so come and enjoy and I hope I see you there, the winding road with a wall full of bougainvilleas will lead you there.Ciao!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Art R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
354 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

we realized that we don't need to stay here to also try their amenities because this resort has a sort of walk-in/day tour. They already allow you to take pictures and use the swimming pool with the day tour. There is a bar few steps from the pool. and the pool is overlooking the very beautiful refine white sand beach. the room we got was quite ok but kinda expensive for the place coz there are already places around which just costs more than php 1,000. The service is ok though it will take longer time for them room services.

Overall, nice beach. I recommend this resort because the beach is very beautiful and a quiet place to stay and relax. While you are here, I also suggest you go to Virgin Island. You can go there through a speed boat (ours cost us only Php 1,000 coz just me and my hubby) then the entrance to the island is Php 500 for a speed boat parked on the island which includes free entrance for 5 people and free cottage (with us is our guide and the speed boat operator).

There's no way you can pay less than Php 500 since the only way to get there is through the speed boat =) but with the charm of our speed boat operator, he lured the cashier and charged us only Php 450 =) What we like most about the beach is it is NOT CROWDED and the Virgin Island is TRULY AMAZING white refine sand with very CLEAR WATER! so if you are the type who likes a little privacy (not crowded) you should visit VIRGIN ISLAND. But you should also take your lunch with you since they have grill. They also have refreshments available but really pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The place is very beautiful. The area is well maintained daily. Clean swimming pools and the grass is swept daily. The food was incredible!!! The chef "Roldan" and his assistant "Bong Bong" prepared all sea food we purchased from Bantayan City Port for a small fee. Sooo Good!!! If you want hot coffee/tea you will need to call the desk and they will bring you hot water in a thermos. The refrigerator was large and effective. Rent a motor scooter (take your drivers license and passport) for 200-300 pesos a day or use the tricycle ride which will cost you 40 pesos per person per direction. Leave your valuables at the front desk. It is safe there. The room safe appears like a small jewelery box. The beach access is a little rocky so you may want to try another beach to play in the water. There is access from Ogtong Beach to go island hopping. Ogtong Cave itself was facinating and refreshing. The room and comfort room were clean, hot water for showers, AC was adequate, television had 2 local stations and there is NO WIFI. I heard... "problems with the provider and depends on the wind direction". The internet access was one of the main reasons why I decided to stay here so I was a little disappointed. I did find internet connection in Santa Fe. I love being picked up and dropped off at the port.

Room Tip: Virgin Island Hopping : 30-40 minutes boat ride and your boat person will pick you up at your resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burqueman505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantayan Island
1.0 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
10.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Remigio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.5 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kota Beach Resort
Kota Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bantayan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogtong Cave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogtong Cave Resort

Property: Ogtong Cave Resort
Address: Santa Fe, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ogtong Cave Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ogtong Cave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogtong Cave Hotel Bantayan Island
Ogtong Cave Resort Bantayan Island, Philippines - Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing