We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Karma Kandara”
Review of Karma Kandara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karma Kandara
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 6 nights in three bedroom villa, for the lobby is nothing special.
PROS :
1. The villa is well designed with wooden roof & ceiling. I like the appliances especially the SMEG dishwasher, microwave, stove etc..basically Karma provides you everything !!
2. The relaxing was completed when you go down to the private beach and we stayed there almost everyday to enjoy the view, sunbathing & snorkeling (you can borrow the fins & goggle)
3. All the staffs really helpful and friendly.
4. You can have stunning view while you are having dinner and wait for the sunset in Namos & Di. Mare .
5. We love the spa in the private room facing into the ocean, really rejuvenate our soul haha..after the spa we dipped to this warm himalayan crystal salt pool with unforgettable view. Totally recommended for couples !!
6. The 300 stair steps from private beach to Di Mare is great experience before you have the spa haha..

CONS:
1. I ordered panna cotta for the dessert in the di mare resto and I wait more 30 minutes which I think its too long to cook small panna cotta.
2. I tried Nasi Goreng, the food presentation is good but unfortunately the taste doesn't as good as it looks. Need to improve the recipe for sure.

TIPS :
1. The place is quite from everywhere its means you need to prepare yourself with your own food & drinks.
2. Pepito supermarket is approx 15 minutes away, its a great supermarket.
3. No phone network in the private beach which is good.

Will be back for sure to have more splendid moment with your spouse : )

Room Tip: For best view, you need to stay in top villa which owned by russian guy, its 5 bedroom villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalimartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Dalimartha

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at Karma Kandara.
Definitely what makes Karma Resorts unique is the presence of our self-contained 3 & 4 bedroom luxury pool villas, yet all set within the 5 star surroundings and amenities of a luxury resort offering you the best of both worlds, not to mention Karma Beach which I am happy you got to enjoy!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Karma Kandara in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at Karma for 6 nights. We were upgraded to a three bedroom villa but since the was only two of us it didn't make a difference to our enjoyment.

The good things first. Firstly awesome location on the cliffs of Uluwatu, friendly staff and Nammos Beach Club is a great place to hang out for a day. Karma spa was amazing.

But some things really let it down especially when you consider the room rate.

The servicing of the room was inconsistent eg during our stay the villa pool went from blue to a milky green

Di Mare was nice but lacked variety and often what you got wasn't what was on the menu eg walnut salad with no walnuts or a zucchini flower omelette with no zucchini flowers.

Service in the Nammos restaurant was terrible on the night we were there. Ordered the Tom Yum and it was inedible and they didn't even de-vein the prawns. Street vendors do that not a 5 star resort. Tried three days in a row to order a grilled Sole and it was never available. Why keep it in the menu? Pizza was supposed to be hand tossed and they were frozen bases. Grab a cabana or a day bed at Nammos beach but don't eat there for dinner would be my suggestion.

We stayed at Allila Uluwatu before this and that is where we would go back. Karma is nice but we were hoping for more. Much more.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foobear1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Foobear

I am sorry to hear of the concerns that you experienced within our di Mare and Karma Beach outlets on this visit, we are continually reviewing our menus to ensure the optimum selections are available for your enjoyment which continue to receive rave reviews and I hope that you were able to sample our Karma Spa Wellness menu which has just been recently nominated within the 2013 Asia Spa awards.

We are continually looking to improve and evolve and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the resort in the future for you to experience our latest additions.

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The robber got into the villa 28 and into the double-bed room which all were locked from inside and take our valuable things while we were sleeping. We are gratefully that nobody woke up while the robber were still inside the room or villa. The Karma Kandara Ungasan Bali's staffs, manager even general manager were so reluctantly handle this matter. We are so disappointed by how they were doing it. Very slow, lack of initiative and have no empathy. On 1st November 2013 I got a letter from COO Karma Resort stated that they are not liable for such personal loss. If they were not the one who should be responsible for the safety of the guest's life and belongings inside the locked-villa and room, then who should? The resort is definitely low in safety standard and have no CCTV for surrounding walls and common area. The wall behind the villa number 28 was only 2 meters high and next to a main road that can be utilized by any pedestrian. Yet the most disappointing thing is they don't care of your safety inside the villa or room. In spite of a beautiful place that we are looking for for holiday, isn't that safety is the bottom line in every holiday specially with children?

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
38  Thank suripto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a fantastic week's stay at this 5 star hotel. The service was fantastic, a big shout out to Donna the concierge who went out of her way multiple times to recommend trips and extremely knowledgeable guides. She could not have been friendlier and more helpful. So many other staff members were also great, everyone seemed to memorize our room #, and took great pleasure in trying to please us. Our 2 bedroom villa was stunning and extremely comfortable. We loved the remote location which afforded much privacy and unparalled sunsets. We ate most of our meals at their Del Mar restaurant, every meal was wonderful. Lunch at the beach restaurant was also very good. I am a seasoned international traveler and this resort gets a 10/10 from me. Wish we lived closer to come back again some day..hopefully we'll find a way.

Room Tip: We had a room near the front of the property but every location offered something unique. We loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonBrit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear BonBrit

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time so much with us and from all of the team it was a pleasure to have you join us for your holiday experience at Karma Kandara. We do hope that you will be able to return to Bali again in the future, or alternatively keep an eye out for our upcoming Karma project in the Bahamas!

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently visited Karma as a group of 8 celebrating a hens week in Bali. We stayed for 2 nights as the 'luxury' part of our holiday and the girls were blown away by the resort & experience. We surprised the hen and on arrival she burst into tears of happiness! We stayed in a 4 bedroom ocean view villa which was a good size and extremely comfortable. We didn't spend much time in the villa during the day as we made the most of the beautiful beach club and Karma pool, both of which were stunning in their appearance. We ate at the beach restaurant and had afternoon tea at di Mare, both of which were great food experiences, and breakfast was also excellent. The staff were super helpful, particular thanks to Hermione in events and our personal concierge, Donna. We really enjoyed the added little extras such as being able to book gazebos and SUP, as well as being invited to managers cocktail hour for complimentary canapes and cocktails. We also had treatments in the spa - although expensive for Bali, having a massage with a view of the ocean is pretty special! It was relaxing and we really felt spoilt - we all agreed that KK was really good value for money considering the 5* experience we received. It's hard to justify in words or photos the spectacular views the resport has, simply paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2, 4br villa close to all amenities and with an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendraG613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Kendra

What a great weekend it looked like as you were all having so much fun! I am glad that you were able to experience so much on our resort in a short period of time and that it will remain a holiday that you will all be talking about together for many years to come. We hope to be inviting you all back again when its time for the next lucky one!

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We recently had a lovely week here with friends and found it to be a peacefull relaxing place to be, quite unique. We were picked up at the airport on arrival and transported back at the conclusion of our holiday at no cost which was much appreciated. Check in was friendly, quick and easy and we were given a welcome drink. The two bedroom, two bathroom, full kitchen villa situated in our own private garden enclosure with pool was very nice and spacious. We were given plenty of bottled water and also fruit each day which was a nice touch. If we needed anything it was only a quick call to housekeeping and someone was around in minutes. It is a lovely resort to walk around , all the villas are in private high rocked wall garden enclosures which are beautifully planted out. Walking around is like walking in rock walled lane ways which gives the place a lovely Mediterranean feel. It is a bit up hill and down dale but this gives it it's great character and there are buggies for use if walking is a problem. As you walk towards the coast side of the resort through all the lovely garden and water areas one finds a gym sitting on the edge of a ravine which is basically untouched jungle, a little further on the Karma Spa for massages and sauna etc which is on the edge overlooking the ocean how relaxing is that. From there walking across the bridge over the ravine which drops about 90 metres to beach level you come to the main pool and restaurant and then the WOW factor sets in as you are on the edge looking at the ocean. The restaurant is situated higher than the pool and above that again is the TEMPLE BAR. The view from all that area over the ocean is SPECTACULAR..You have two options to go down to what is basically a small private beach, [1] walk down 350 steps which curve their way around the clift face or [2] go down by the cable car which of course most people do. We did the steps a couple of times and it is a great workout 700 steps but the glory of looking straight at the ocean while doing it is great for the body and mind. A little warning if you do the steps when the tide is in you won't get to the beach but there is still a lovely rocky area there with some great rocks. Not the best beach for swimming as it is a bit pebbly, so hard on the feet. Great lounges and cabanas down there for lounging around in the sun, soo peacefull like being marooned on a desolate island somewhere. There is a bar and restaurant there and a pizza oven which does lovely pizzas. One night a week they put up a big screen and show movies on the beach. That is a real treat, lying there on a lounge , beautifull nights , watching a movie with the ocean breaking behind the screen, it don't get much better than that. The food in the restaurant was good and around the main pool area is a lovely spot to just relax between dips and take in the view. The resort is a bit isolated no shops within walking distance so you need to get a car or taxi to go shopping or to eat out about 10 minutes away. taxis arrive quickly when rung by reception and are cheap. Staff were all good , very friendly and our concierge Suri was a lovely young lady who looked after us very well , nothing was too much trouble for her. One night all the guest were invited to a Cocktail/canapes party to welcome a executive chef from India. It was a great night held in the Temple Bar and a good chance to meet the chef and management members and other guests, another nice and appreciated touch. It was a pleasure to holiday at Karma Kandara and if you get the chance to stay there you will not be disappointed. To the team there well done.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Roy

Such fantastic comments, thank you and we are delighted to hear that you had such a fabulous time with us. The steps are a great way to make your way down to Karma Beach, and our private inclinator back up is definitely a preferred option once you have been able to enjoy a few of our Chakra cocktails down there! I am glad you were able that you were able to enjoy the cuisine of our celebrity Chef, Kundan from our sister property in India and I hope that you will be able to return in future when we have out next lineup of international Chefs joining us.

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Karma is a very good resort and represents great value for money. Its not the out and out luxury of some of its neighbouring resorts but for sure ticks many boxes. All the reviews are correct regarding the location and the view, stunning. The resort is extremely well laid out with fabulous walkways taking you through Mediterranean style gardens to the restaurants and pool.

The villas (16 is very private) are very good, they are spacious, clean and comfortable. The gardens are mature and full of tropical plants and flowers. There was plenty of room for the six of us in the three bedroom villa, it felt much more like a house than a hotel villa.

The restaurant is very good, the service can be slow but not really a problem once you realise you are in fact on holiday! Breakfasts are very good indeed and although a buffet would have been faster, I doubt the quality would have been as good. My only negative comment is that the furniture, needs a good clean and the table mats at breakfast replaced, bit yucky.

We arranged a an in villa bbq, which was amazing, soooo much food and excellent service. A real treat and worth the money. Just take care if you book the suckling pig dinner as it is a private dining experience for 15 and you will pay for 15 people even if there are six of you. We had not read the detail before booking as it was listed as an activity on the daily events schedule and just assumed it was a spit roast bbq for the whole resort....wrong... Anyway we sorted the issue out with the hotel and they handled the situation very professionally.

The main pool area is amazing but there are only a very few sun loungers, if you are lucky to grab a few its a fab place to spend the day, a pool service with cod drinks etc would have just made it a bit more special.

Unfortunately when we visited the beach restaurant was closed for renovation, would have been good to know this as it did limit the eating options. We sampled the pizzas on a couple of occasions and they were good. Shame that was pretty much all there was to eat there as the sushi was not available during our whole visit.

Given all the hype, the beach itself is a bit of a disappointment, take water shoes as the rocks and coral are difficult to walk on with bare feet. There is some sand but its not really what you could call a sandy beach, the currents are also quite strong so swimming and snorkelling is restricted to short periods at low tide. You can however walk to the next door property quite easily where the beach is sandy and swimming more accessible. Our kids 12 and 13 did enjoy the resort but would have loved more beach activities or at least to be able to go into the sea more. I did notice a number of families from our resort taking up residence next door during the day!

The staff are all very nice indeed, friendly, smiling and attentive. As so many people have said the service can be slow but we never found it a big issue. The couple of issues we had when we stayed were managed well by management and we leave feeling happy, relaxed and well fed.

So in summary, an excellent hotel for relaxing, for larger groups or for couples. I think the public areas are just on the edge of needing a makeover but still look good if you don't look too closely. The service and food are good and finally the view an general relaxed Mediterranean style of the resort and the value for money, spacious and well appointed accommodation make it well worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Travelheapsoftimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Traveller

Thank you for your comments and feedback and choosing to experience Karma Kandara. It is feedback such as this that will continually help us towards our aim of exceeding our guests expectations throughout the entirety of the resort. Our pig on a stick menu is a sumptuous and memorable experience which I am glad you were able to enjoy although I do apologise for any confusion that arose from this as this is designed for larger groups.

As you have seen, Karma Beach has been undertaking renovation which we are now happy to announce has finished bringing a bigger, better and fresher experience to Karma Kandara complete with luxurious new day beds on the beach and I hope that we may be able to invite you back to the resort in future to see the results as we continually look to improve the resort.

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.2 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
1.1 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,015 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,904 reviews
4.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 58 in Jimbaran
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kandara

Address: Jl. Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: £207 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Kandara 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karma Kandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kandara Hotel Ungasan
Karma Kandara Hotel Denpasar
Karma Kandara Denpasar
Karma Kandara Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing