We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karma Kandara
Nearby Hotels
Mahagiri Villas Dreamland(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beverly Hills Bali(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asri Jewel Villas & Spa(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CK Villas Bali(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$769
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$791
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$735
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
999
390
134
54
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
999
390
134
54
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdi mare restaurantprivate beachcable carbedroom villathe cliffpersonal conciergeprivate conciergekids clubbeach barinfinity poolstunning locationthree bedroomfamily holidaystar resortindian oceangolf buggymain pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,176 - 1,181 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The best thing about the Karma Kandara is its location - situated on a clifftop above a private beach at South Kuta about 30 minutes drive from Denpasar airport (taxis are easily booked at the airport for about USD16 as opposed to USD50 for the hotel car); the views from the restaurant and pool are spectacular, and the beach (accessed via an inclinator) is a great place for a massage although swimming is not so inviting due to many rocks and an unpredictable surf.
The resort itself is designed as a "get away from it all" place. Its reasonably isolated, about a 15 minute taxi ride from the nearest village. This might be a good or bad thing depending on what you are looking for (get a card from a friendly taxi driver and call them directly rather than get the hotel to organise one - it's haf the price !
The resort is built on a hillside and the narrow roads between the villas are quite steep and difficult to negotiate if you are older - although carts are available for transport if needed.
The villas themselves are very diverse. We shared a 4 bedroom villa between a family of 4 and 2 other couples - the villa layout made this easy as there was 2 levels with a bedroom and bathroom on the lower level, and a separated area on the upper level with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom, as well as the main bedroom and ensuite, and a large kitchen and living area. Other 4 bedroom villas had 2 completely separate villas. The villas are comfortable and large with private pools although these are somewhat exposed to neighbouring villas, and they could do with some updating. The kitchen is well equipped with a full size dishwasher.
Continental breakfast was included and consisted of fruit and a large basket of pastries and toasts. Extra breakfast options (local and western style) were also available, Overall the food was of average quality and resaonably expensive; some of the local restaurants will deliver which is genarally better value.
Karma Kandara is recommended for romantic getaways or groups of friends sharing a vacation. We did not see many children at the resort although it does offer a kids' club. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I could not fault the service. One issue is that only one key is issued per villa - so if you are sharing a villa between a number of couples/families, it might be hard to co-ordinate this - or leaving the villa unsecured which might be a little risky,
All in all, a 5 star location, but really a 3 star resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr_gasman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Dr_Gasman88,

Your feedback is valuable so thank you for taking the time to write this review. Are villas are extremely spacious and provide the privacy one wants if sharing with other couples or family. The living rooms are spacious to spread out but not too spacious to feel far from others. The fully functional kitchen is great for the “do it yourselfers”.

Meter taxis are readily available and the quality is just that. Just like all 5 star resorts, private cars are available with personal meet and greet at the airport and amenities in the car for you such as refreshment and guaranteed high quality of service. As for the high tide, it is rare we get such high tide at Karma Beach but usually gust are able to relax in calm crystal clear water, easy to float in and great for snorkeling.

The menu at the Di Mare is undergoing a transformation so you can expect the quality and taste to be of 5 star quality as most agree it is. When it comes to security, we are very diligent about making sure guests are safe. One way we do this, is by having special keys made in Germany so they can’t be duplicated on the street. We give one key per villa to minimize the chances of one losing a key. However, we do have extra keys for guests with more than one occupier available upon request.

I am glad you loved the scenery, the ocean, the service, the villas, and the overall Karma Kandara experience. We do hope you come back and visit us for the beach and try out our new menu.

Warm regards,

Geoff Drake
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We are just back home from a week at Karma Kandara in Bali. I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is a beautiful place, lovely gardens and amenities and such a quiet spot. We stayed in. 2 x 2 villa and initially asked to be moved because of noise coming from a building site next door to us. The management were happy to attend to us ASAP,and we were very comfy in our new villa. The restaurant and beach cafe/bar offered great service and an appetising array of food. All staff very attentive and happy to chat with us. Must mention Jillian down at the beach cafe and Sylvia our personal concierge as being particularly helpful and looking after us so well. Overall, great place to take a break from a busy life, be spoilt,and smell the roses( actually the frangipani)..... Beautiful.

Room Tip: There are some newer villas, but they are further away from the restaurant and cable car down to the beach. We stayed in both and preferred the older one, which was closer to those services.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dearest Pauline,

It is such a joy to see that you had a truly blissful stay with us and we look forward to your return. Expansion is good and we at Karma Kandara are doing just that. We are implementing about 10 more villas in this magnificent location but it comes with a bit of noise. I am happy we were able to find you something a bit more tranquil then the sound of hammers.

Our di Mare and Karma beach club make some pretty delicious food, especially the Karma Wellness Menu which is easy on the palate and the diet.

Again, thank you for you feedback and letting us know how much you enjoyed yourself.

Warm regards,
Geoff Drake
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friends and I (7 of us) booked a 4 bedrooms villa in early May to attend a wedding in Alila and we have stayed there for 4 nights.

We were really disappointed with the villa we were given (Villa 46) for the following reasons:
1. We booked a 4 bedroom villa, however, one of the bedrooms was a temporary room with sliding doors in the living room and there was no bathroom attached to it. Before we arrived, my friend has double checked with the hotel whether each bedroom has its bathroom. When we asked about it upon arrival, they said there was nothing that can be done as the hotel was fully booked and there was no other villa which we could change to. On our receipt, it stated that ours are in fact a 3 bedroom villa with added beds but the fact was that we have paid for a 4 bedroom villa!!!! Unfortunately, we arrived late evening that day and we have already paid everything before we arrived! And we could just stayed there.
2. One of the shower (of the 3 washrooms) were out of order on the day of our arrival! And it remained so for 2 more nights before they fixed it! Imagine 7 of us sharing 2 bathrooms on the first few days of our vacation, how ridiculous it is for what you are expecting from a 5 star hotel.
3. The air conditioner of one of the bedrooms were out of order for 1 night and believe me, it was really hot in May. The maintenance took quite some time and it was not easy to have these maintenance people in your villa for almost an hour at night.
4. There was an outdoor pool and one outdoor bath-tub but it was of limited privacy as you could easily see someone in their balconies above it.
5. There was no toothbrush/ toothpaste provided. And there was only 1 indoor bathtub available in the whole villa.
6. The safe was not working properly. When I asked someone to come and fix it, it remained broken till the last day of my stay.
7. Service was slow. A lamp was not working, I waited for 2 days before someone changed the light bulb. And if you want to call a golf cart, reserve about 15 minutes for that. (which you can easily walk the distance thrice)

The good things:
1. The beach was really nice which you can do snokelling, canoe, swimming...and the bonus is the tram getting you down there in a few minutes. But some part of the beach was covered by sharp corals, so be careful. You can see small pretty fish, sea urchins, jelly fish...
2. The breakfast area was really nice and the pastries tasted really fresh and good. The coffee brew was also nice.

Both of these things can be done without actually staying in the villa. So if I can choose again, I would probably stay somewhere and take a day trip to Karma beach and enjoyed the sunset at their restaurant. That will do.

It was really disappointing to see the hotel being situated in such a beautiful area with such poor hotel service and maintenance. And for the price we paid, I think it was over-charged.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Noel,
The beach is magnificent I must say, one of the best in Bali. Just listening to the waves makes you forget everything. The Continental package is huge and you said it best, “fresh”.
I am sorry to hear about all the troubles you faced whilst on vacation with us. As you can imagine, when a resort is running at full capacity, assistance with the buggies is needed quite often. As other 5 star resorts, toothbrushes, toothpaste, shaving cream, raisers, and so many more amenities are complimentary and available upon request. I am sorry you were not informed of this.
I’m surprised it took so long to get the light bulb replaced. I am sorry this happened to you and I will be taking a closer look as to why we weren’t able to react quicker.
A beautiful location deserves amazing service and work hard to get there. Thank you again for your valued feedback as we can’t get there without it.

Warm regards,
Geoff Drake
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

First complaint - the website - its terrible hardly any easily accessible information about the resort - I had to troll through everything and anything to get info - surely nowadays this is the easiest access point for potential guests??
The booking process was terrible - we had bought a voucher via a charity auction and when booking the villa had issues with communication - the week prior to our stay I contacted the resort to change how many children would be staying only to be advised that we had no booking and that there was no availability. The staff member advised me that I had not confirmed our booking to which I sent here the email trail clearly stating we had confirmed by email, they had never requested a written confirmation or credit card details etc.
I then panicked of course and checked online for availability - which showed plenty - the staff member then said of yes thats our internet allocation... surely not good customer service.
Then once we arrived and were shown to our villa - we had been allocated one totally different to what I had requested. Luckily after much toing and froing we were upgraded to a four bedroom three ;level villa which was lovely - but located right next to the workers shed and some kind of motor which was very noisy.
Our villa was beautiful but had lots of spider webs and the air con in the living room was broken and our toilet seat was cracked - which unfortunately pinched our buttocks every time we used it. They attempted to fix it - but broke three more times until they replaced it
They also only provided 3 sun lounges for a 4 bedroom villa???
The beach club and pool area is lovely.
The food and beverage is not that great and expensive by Bali standards.
The service too is not that flash - although we did have one stand out staff member Geoff - who redeemed the resort!!Every delightful activity that is offered comes at an extra charge, and all in all we were very disappointed.
Add to that while we were in Seminyak prior to our stay at Karma on every corner was someone touting investment opportunities at Karma!! Very annoying
This resort needs some major work on their skills and food!

Room Tip: Choose a villa close the restaurant and beach
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBuck1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear CBuck,

It was a true pleasure to have met you during your stay here and I hope we can cross paths again. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with your booking and please be advised that there is a new website undergoing construction that will be more “user friendly”.

From the moment you got it in to the moment you left I know my team tried their best to satisfy the needs but we fell short. I am truly sorry for that. We conduct at least two trainings every week so that we can get our team working on all cylinders. The location is a great one and we are constantly striving to create a matching experience.

I agree our villas are lovely and the main pool and beach club are just as exquisite. I do hope you think of us in future when you make your way back to Bali and when do, give me a call and say “Hi”.

Sincerely,

Geoff Drake
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had stayed at Karma Kandara, Bali.
The atmosphere is calm and the resort is just along the sea shore.
The Villas are spacious and we have a homely feeling.
The Villas all have a swimming pool and we have the sea view from the rooms.
The Villas are located at a high level and we have a winch/lift arrangement to go down to the sea shore.
They have live bands in the evening and it was good.
The breakfast is excellent and the scenic beauty is so good.
We had a memorable experience and recommend

Room Tip: If you are 3-4 families, you can take a villa
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAVIKUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Resorts_Group, Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Pavikumar,

We are happy you enjoyed yourself here as the scenery is breathtaking. The “Hill Tram” is quite helpful as having to walk up and down the cliff stairs is no fun at all. We are one of the very few resorts which have such easy access to the beach.

I do have to say, our villas are spacious, homely, and a great value for the price. Spacious kitchen for the “do it yourselfers”, all rooms with their own bathroom, and yes, a lovely “plunge” pool in almost all of our villas.

We are happy you had a very enjoyable and memorable experience here at Karma Kandara and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Geoff Drake
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews