We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded hotel great for honeymooners”
Review of Karma Kandara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karma Kandara
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Secluded hotel great for honeymooners”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Karma Kandara is fairly difficult to get to - the unpaved road leading to the hotel can be rather uncomfortable. This is a resort for those who want a secluded, romantic resort (like us honeymooners), not for those who want to explore Bali.

We had a seafacing villa with a gorgeous infinity pool. The villa was spacious, luxurious and comfortable, with free wi-fi. The indoors/outdoors rainforest shower was nice, though it was a bit of a surprise not to have a bathtub.

As for the hotel facilities, the highlights must be the di Mare restaurant which has fantastic views of the sea, with good food, as well as the private beach which can be reached by an inclinator. The spa has lovely cabins facing the sea, though they are still building the bathroom facilities so you should use your villa bathroom before going to the spa. There is a small but well-stocked library. The grounds are lushly landscaped to give a feeling of a cross between a Balinese garden and a Mediterranean terrace.

The staff were warm, friendly and usually prompt, but out-of-the-usual requests such as our honeymoon perks were met with some bewilderment at first, and it took repeated calls to get a simple thing like the standard honeymooners' layout - which rather spoilt the experience. The staff is friendly but seem rather inexperienced, perhaps as the resort is rather new. Hopefully, they will get better with time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We are happy to hear that you chose Karma Kandara as your honeymoon destination, Forest Muse. We take pride in our well-trained and professional staff and have looked into what made your experience here not so agreeable. Our evolution is ongoing and we appreciate comments such as yours in order to improve services to our guests.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    290
    98
    38
    36
See reviews for
531
385
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Beautiful place but the service was shocking and it's extremely over priced for what it is. I have been to much nicer places and have spent half the price. Not to forget it has one of the worse spas I have ever been to.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravellor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We are sorry to hear that you may not have had the most favorable experience with us. If you could be more specific as to what problems you had at our spa we can use this information to improve our services and perhaps also entice you to give us another try after we’ve resolved any issues that need correcting.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The hotel is stunningly beautifulwith probably the best view on Bali, 5* luxury with private pool for every villa. The only downsides are it's location at the end of 4km of dreadful road meaning you are rather cut off and the restaurants are very pricey although the food is great. The staff are a gem & really can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thanks for the feedback. We firmly believe that we have one of the most sublime views on the island and are glad to hear that you agree with us! Our roads have been repaired and we have notified our staff about your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Whilst the location is absolutely stunning, the service is atrocious (extremely bad experiences in the restaurant and spa) to the point of being insultingly rude - one example would be being in the restaurant when raining and asking to borrow an umbrella to get back to the villa, with the staff telling us to go and get the umbrellas from the villa, and also being told that we were lying when suggesting that pink chicken was undercooked. Everything at the resort seems to be focused on making as much money as possible from the guests as it is so far from anywhere. Food prices are outrageous (probably twice compared to other leading resorts in Bali such as the Four Seasons, Bulgari and Amanusa). We had to call a doctor while staying there and the resort added an additional $100 on top of the doctor's fee. The same applies to booking cars from the resort as well. Whilst the resort itself is beautiful, there is no way I would recommend going there - there are far better located, similarly stunning and far cheaper villas.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StyleTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your comments, StyleTraveller. And sorry for the unfavorable experiences you might have encountered while at Karma. As policy, we take all feedback seriously and are in constant process of enhancing our services. We hope you are able to make it back at some point to see the vast improvements we’ve made here over the years.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
1.1 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Villas at AYANA Resort BALI
4.0 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kandara

Property: Karma Kandara
Address: Jalan Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#2 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Kandara 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Kandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kandara Hotel Ungasan
Karma Kandara Hotel Denpasar
Karma Kandara Denpasar
Karma Kandara Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing