We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahagiri Villas Dreamland(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beverly Hills Bali(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asri Jewel Villas & Spa(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CK Villas Bali(Ungasan)(Great Value!)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karma Kandara(Ungasan)
US$606
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
200
35
16
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
35
16
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla tamaramavilla norabeach clubthe cliffinfinity poolcinema roombutler servicewedding locationvilla guestswedding heldbridal partyvip accessday trippersmaster bedroombooked villaheaven on earthincredible place
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at Jamadara for one night, as our niece had her wedding in Uluwatu area and provided this accomodation for the family members.

Truly love the view, it is incredible, and if i have to describe in one sentence, i would say that it is paradise on earth :) well maybe some will think that i am exagerrating , but pls come and you will know what i mean :)


For the rooms ( if i am not mistaken, it called Jamadara) , the Master Bedroom is fantastic. But we stayed in different room, it is still ok, but no TV inside the room. We have a beatiful pool with the Ocean view. This is the perfect place for having your honeymoon, or to have a dream wedding :)

For the breakfast, it is good but not so special. The staffs- I dont find many staffs when i am around. So i had to find everything by self, such as went to the kitchen area for borrowing spoons for my daughter when she wanted to eat her cake in the room.

Overall, this is a very wonderful staying experince. Well, this is very pricey villa, but i really hope to stay here again one day, maybe the next year when i am celebrating our 10years wedding anniversary :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meilanny_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Meilanny K,

thanks for your review. With each villa a butler is allocated 8 hours daily. Of course we want the butlers to be attentive but yet many guests do enjoy the privacy of our villas and prefer to not have a butler always in full view. Needless your point will be mentioned during our next training session. We have recently made some improvements to our breakfast menu based on guest feedback. TV’s are not in each bedroom but are of course available in the living and media rooms. Most guests are happy with this as they stay at Semara to experience the villa and the comprehensive resorts facilities including the spectacular Finns Beach Club. We do appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you for your wedding anniversary.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ten of us shared a villa for a friend's wedding over the weekend of the 3rd - 6th October 2013. First impressions were fantastic, but like Salt on the Beach in North Freo it promises so much and doesn't deliver.

Our rooms were crawling with ants and other small biting insects, no fridge in the room to keep the water cool and the only tv's were in the common rooms. The Butler did his best to play hide and seek every time we needed assistance.

The food selection was tasteless and expensive. The coffee $11 AUD for a latte? They should do themselves a favour and poach the chefs, barista, food, coffee and staff from the Sea Circus in Seminyak.....

Overall a great location that lacks the basics to keep people coming back. There are better spots out there that won't require you to spend $4000 AUD per couple for three nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the Semara all together.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MontrealStResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write feedback on our resort. We are so sorry that you found our facilities insufficient and felt that the Butler was not around when you required him. We pride ourselves on our attentive Butlers so were very surprised to hear your feedback, we will be sure to speak with him regarding this. I am sorry that you didn’t mention your dissatisfaction during your stay so that we may have been able to change butlers or rectify the problems while you were still here.

Each Villa has pest control on a daily basis in each room but will ask the pest control to look into your complaint. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, such a pity you did not say anything while you were onsite allowing us to solve the problem right away.

In regards the price of our coffee, a latte here is Rp50,000++ (approximately US$6)

As per our website the rates are US$2244++ per 5 bedroom villa per night which works out to US$1,629 per couple sharing for 3 nights inclusive of tax and service.

In regards to your comment on the staff from Sea Circus, I have to agree that they are wonderful and great friends of ours. We wouldn’t dream of stealing their staff however, will refresh our staff on the necessary training to ensure that we meet our guests expectations.

I offer you our sincerest apologies regarding your stay and take your feedback very seriously. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Bali.

Warmest Regards

Mandy McDermid – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

WOW - wow wow.

Stunning resort that we were lucky to stay at for my brothers wedding last week. The whole resort was booked out so we got to see most of the different villas and every one has something unique and stunning. We stayed in Nora and it was the more modern minimalist of the villas with a amazing infinity pool and lovely gazebo right on the cliff edge.

The resort staff were very helpful & went well out of their way to meet our requests (including a last minute drive to Seminyak and back to pick up some concert tickets!) not to mention the nail polish remover...

Finns beach club was stunning as well & the Day Spa AMAZING - THAT view is what dreams are made of.

I will be back (when I win lotto).... Or I'm lucky enough to go to another wedding :)

Oh my only negative is that the restaurant isn't designed to cater for everyone at the same time for breakfast (in case anyone is planning on booking it out and having a group breakfast as food ran out and there wasn't enough tables & queue for eggs) - but with a view like that I am happy to sit around waiting for eggs!

Room Tip: Each villa is unique & stunning
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myboyfriendsanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for writing this review on our resort. So glad you had a great time at R & J’s wedding. Nora is a great villa and offers all the guests the utmost privacy so is great for sharing. We pride ourselves on the attentiveness of our staff in the villas so I am happy to hear that they helped out to make your stay special.

Your note regarding the spa is appreciated, next time you will have to come and try out our Spa Bales at Finns Beach Club. Heavenly!

I do apologise about the delay with your breakfast, we have looked into this and have changed the service style so as to be able to accommodate larger groups at ease.

Hope to see you again when you win the lotto!!

Warmest Regards

Mandy McDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The beauty of this hotel is beyond description. I saw the pictures on its website and wondered whether they look the same in reality (as you know, many hotels do not look so beautiful as they appear on pictures). But this one is a typical exception!!!!!

Once you stepped in, your eyes savor a divinely designed and perfectly maintained garden scattered by sublime houses (each of which has a vast pool standing on the top of the cliff, offering a breathtaking 360 degrees view of the Indian Ocean, Wow).

The public pool is in a curved design and looks so unbelievably pretty. Much prettier than on pictures!

The gym is smartly located in the midst of the cliff, offering a soul-soothing view in the course of your cardio and weights training, and the fragrance they used in here is a vast happy surprise. I love the fragrance so much.

The biggest highlight is the beach down under the cliff. I honestly the clearest water in Bali in RIGHT HERE!!! The ocean water near the shore is as crystal clear as that I saw in Maldives this June. And the beach here is so clean and not crowded at all. So you have an unobstructed panoramic ocean view all to yourself. The Finn’s Club, the unforgettably pretty bar & restaurant of this wonderful hotel on the picture-perfect beach, is accompanied by some thatched huts a bit higher on the hillside. I did a one hour long massage under one of the huts. The massage lady is named Tyra who did a wonderful job in Balinese massage. The view, the finger skills, the wind, the beach, the hut, the music wafting over from the restaurant, the sunshine, and the select guests of better quality (mostly white people, not so many Asians) who are quietly enjoying themselves by reading books on the beach chairs, all worked together to make the whole massage experience A Life-time Highlight!!!

Miss Linda, a comely Balinese lady receptionist, was so kind in showing my around some of their houses, each of which definitely stunned me by its ingenious design and captivating ocean view.

There are two tennis courts as well, much to my liking.

A gorgeous place to stay, when you visit Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Duncan J,

Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed comment on our stunning resort. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay here. There are 7 x 5 Bedroom Villas available, all with a different design so you can easily find one that suits your taste and groups requirements. There are also our Guest Suites that are perfect for couples.

I will pass your comments on to our fantastic Spa Therapists who will be delighted to have such good feedback. We also have massage beds in all the villas so next time you must try having a treatment in the comfort of your villa.

Thanks for your comments regarding Finns, it truly is a piece of paradise.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Please check your email for our past guest offers !

Warm Regards and many thanks

Mandy McDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in the Tamarama villa for a friend's wedding. Our friends hired out the whole resort for their wedding, and we had the good fortune of being invited! Absolutely breath taking views, attentive and friendly staff, gorgeous accommodation. We felt like we were in heaven. Hopefully we will get to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andershenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Andershenn,

so glad you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Tamarama. The views are truly magnificent. With our fantastic staff and two heavenly swimming pools Tamarama is the perfect villa for a holiday with family and friends. We hope to welcome you back here again very soon. Check the “ Specials “ area on our website for the best rates available. WE currently have 50% OFF Villas for stays from 01 Nov – 28 Feb 2013 excluding Peak Season. Thanks for your review.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews