We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise in Bali”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Our first time visit to Semara villas in Bali. We stayed in the villa named 'Tamarama' which is the most amazing & beautifully designed villa I have ever seen. The first impression on walking in is that you are in a Hampton's inspired, luxury villa in the Bahamas - but of course you are in a far nicer place, the cliff tops of the most southern part of Bali. The views are like nothing else - simply breathtaking!

Our friends stayed in the villa next door to ours. It had a completely different design with an infinity pool that jutted out right to the edge of the cliff face!

The staff are exactly what you would expect from a high level hotel/villa, and that is highly accommodating in every way.

The beach club sits on a private beach in front of the villa complex at the bottom of the cliff and has the clearest, cleanest water you will find anywhere in Bali.

I would highly recommend this place for those looking for an AMAZING experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernlightsAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased you had such a fantastic time during your stay at Semara. The beach club is truly spectacular with water like the Caribbean, it is the perfect place to come and spend the day away from all the hustle and bustle, it is also a fantastic venue for a private event or party.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and we sincerely hope you will be back one day to try out one of the other 6 villas, Ambar is ideal for a family holiday. Or maybe you could come and stay in one of our fantastic suite rooms in Nora or Chintamani,
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Mandy McDermid - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    23
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Jamadara and loved the layout and spectacular view!!. The place is perfect for weddings as it has 7 5-bedroom villas. Semara is the perfect combination of luxury and comfort with added privacy and without the chaos and mass feel of the bigger resorts the likes of Ayana and the Banyan Tree.

It was love at first sight as we set foot into the grounds and the villa and we have since booked the place for our wedding to be held here next year!

Although beautiful, we found the service level of our butlers not quite up to notch given the price tag. and we aren't being demanding here to be honest but simple examples like ordering breakfast of banana pancakes , sausages and plain soft boiled eggs were not fulfilled. Eggs were done wrong or served raw, pancakes were burnt and when we asked the butler we realised that the day butler and the night butler miscommunicated yet neither could/would fix the situation. On our final day upon check out however, there was a new butler assigned and he was amazing so perhaps it was just a case of newbie but given the price tag, we felt our simple requests really could have been met better.

Also we booked a villa for 10 pax but due to last minute changes there were only 4 of us. As every villa comes with 10 vouchers for a free 20 min massage, we were ecstatic to be handed 10 vouchers to be used among 4 of us but only upon booking the spa were we informed that we could only use 1 voucher each. To be honest we would have been ok if it was stated clearly in the terms and conditions but it was rather vague and since we were paying for 10 pax anyway we really should have been entitled to use all 10. Plus the butler handed us 10 vouchers, why do that if you would only allow us to use 1 per adult??

Given that we were looking to book the place to hold our wedding, the management was awesome and gave us a tour of unoccupied villas.

Tamarama - favourite for weddings given its layout an unique colonial design is slightly more dated given its popularity but gorgeous all the same!

Ambar - is the closest to the Selatan (lobby area) beautiful pool and great view from the master bedroom. Huge entertainment room perfect for kids.

Jamadara - we found this to be have one of the nicest pool, infinity and looks out to the cliff with a sunken couch/.bar area next to the pool. Layout and bedrooms are simpler with a more contemporary feel.

Nora - rooms have a more private feel and believe guests who book a suite will be given a room in Nora as there is more privacy to its room entrance as opposed to the other villas which are more "family-style"

Cintamani - has a walkway linked to Nora. Every room has its own plungepool and is the farthest from the lobby but gorgeous views of the cliff.

Santai Sorga - according to the wedding planner has the best grounds to hold a wedding ceremony given the lawn space and flat landscape. Interior and design is more traditional malay/balinese though so if you're not into the traditional look this won't be for you.

Pawana - is the only villa we did not get to view as it was occupied but we were told its really similar to jamadara.

Finns beach club is another highlight for Semara!! Taking the inclinator down in itself is lovely but be warned the hike back up the stairs to the inclinator isn't exactly a walk in the park so don't go too crazy on the drinks. Food is pretty decent albeit not cheap. The beach is beautiful...the best i've seen in bali so far with its white sands and crystal clear water. Only setback here is that Finn's is opened to outsiders who can pay a fee to use the facilities and enter. Which is fine but perhaps management should consider reserving a section for its guests as both days we went down we found all the deck chairs and bean bags already occupied and you knew they were there to stay for the entire day as they had paid for entry for the day. We later spoke to some guys and the feedback was "yea we just pay next to nothing to stay outside then another $25 and we get to spend the whole day here!! its perfect!!". So if there could just be an area reserved for resort occupants that would prob work better.

Overall the place is really as the reviews say "a little slice of heaven", but given the price tag service level isn't comparable to Alila or the Aman resorts yet. Having stayed in a few villas and different areas in Bali, this ranks right on top for view and beach!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hayhayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our resort. We are thrilled that you will be holding your wedding here next year. If there is anything at all we can assist you with leading up to the big day please contact me directly events.uluwatu@semararesorts.com so I can make sure everything is perfect for your big day.
I have taken all your comments into consideration and will disuss your points with our butlers to make sure this will not happen in the future. FYI There is a reservation system for inhouse guests to reserve sunbeds and tables at Finns.
All of our villas are ideal for weddings and events of different sizes and with their unique designs there is something to suit everyone.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back for your big day.

Stay in touch and again, many thanks

Warm Regards
Mandy McDermid - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed here for my friend's wedding in villa tamarama, and it was soo awesome.. no words can describe it, the beautiful villa and wonderfull panorama.so love with semara villa. fallin in love to with finn beach club, semara, u did it so marvelous

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fictor0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this comment. Tamarama is a truly beautiful villa, perfect for an event but also a magical villa for a family holiday or a getaway with friends. I am so glad you had the time to enjoy Finns beach club. It really is a little piece of paradise and a great place to try out snorkeling or canoeing on our Finns Kayaks. We do hope you will be back to visit us here next time you are in Bali.

Many thanks Mandy McDermid – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were left speechless after a 3 night stay here. I couldn't comprehend a 6-star rating for a resort until we saw and experienced this place. We loved the privacy of each room within the villa. Unfortunately due to pre-wedding duties we didn't have a chance to try the outside shower. Not only are the views of the beach to die for, each self-contained villa has it's own infinity pool, generous living areas and butler. The staff were very helpful and you often didn't notice the butler coming in and out to tidy the room. I was worried about mosquitos after being bitten the other 2 nights in Bali (Nusa Dua) but there was not one mosquito in sight due to being on the coast. The breakfast buffet was very satisfying and the complimentary massage a plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleKFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the great feedback you gave our fantastic resort. The views are truly breathtaking and the perfect backdrop for any wedding, birthday or get away.

Our Butler team are such a great asset to our resort so I shall pass on your comments which they will be pleased to hear.

We do regular mosquito fogging to ensure that there are as few as possible in the resort so our guets are as comfortable as possible during their stay here.

So glad you enjoyed your complimentary massage. The spa has fantastic views of the ocean and we also offer our Spa services in the privacy of your own villa should guests prefer that.

As for the outside shower, I guess you will have to come back and visit us again to experience that!

Many thanks and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Bali.

Warm Regards
Mandy McDermid – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We checked into Jamadara Villa which was a 5 bedroom villa within Semara villa complex. We had an opportunity to view the other villas as we were with some friends who were there to check out Semara as a wedding destination. They were all pretty amazing. I liked Santai Sorga the least. And felt Jamadara was one of the nicer ones. If you are coming with a large group of say 20 people go for their connecting villas Cinta Mani and Nora.

Service - For those who have checked out the prices at Semara you would expect a top notch service. However because it's not run by a large hotel brand it does not live up to such standards. Butlers and villa in house chef were clueless at very basic requests. For an example, we requested for soft boiled eggs for breakfast and after numerous attempts from overcooked to raw eggs they could not even get that right. French toast was dismal may I add. So those wishing to have amazing in house villa food I would recommend getting a live in chef from outside. I hear they are pretty affordable. The changeover of butler shift from morning to evening was also terrible. WE had to repeat our next day's request twice, once to the morning butler and once more to the evening butler. ANd for such a villa you would expect a turn down service every evening.

Maintenance & Upkeep - We took the master bedroom at jama dara, fans were not working, closet lights were not working, air condition was not working and leaking as well. Kitchen equipments needs some cleaning, pots and pans were not clean, oven was infested with ants, kettle needs some serious de-scaling done to them.

Food at hotel's restaurants - Don't bother, with the price you are paying and the quality you are getting, hire a local driver and go out for food. It might be worth grabbing a smoothie or a bintang and watching the sunset at Finn's beach club. You can check out trattoria uluwatu for some good italian food or head to alila villas for jap or local cuisine.

Outside guests at Finn's Beach club - I understand that the Semara Villa would like to fill up the beach restaurant by allowing guests from outside the villa to pay a small fee to relax at their beach. That is fine with me, but at least have a designated beach area with deck chairs for your in house guest with "better" attention and service. Trust me by midday the beach will be packed. It was annoying to be not able to find a deck chair to relax in and on top of that because of the sheer volume of outsiders on the beach service was dismal. It would not be difficult to have a couple of designated service crews look after your in house guests.

Oh yes and don't bother with their spa treatments it was terrible. If you were to go for it, go for the foot reflexology. For body massage head to jari menari at Nusa Dua, it's about 40 mins away by cab. It's worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnappyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our resort. We take all feedback very seriously and strive to always improve our services to make sure our guests will return time and again. We have a very large maintenance team so I am very concerned that you felt there were downfall in the maintenance in Jamadara. I will be sure to double check on all your points to make sure this does not happen in the future.
I am sorry you felt the service at Finns was not up to standard. We generally get very good feedback on both the food there which we pride ourselves on and the service of our staff. Again, I shall look into this.

As per the spa we have just employed a fantasic new Sap manager so our spa services are getting better and better.

We do hope you will return to Semara and Finns beach club again in the future.

Warm Regards and many thanks

Mandy McDermid – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We went to Semara in September for a friends wedding. They booked out almost the whole resort. It was absolutely amazing.

We stayed in the second group of villas from the lobby.
Our private villa was the second one on the left when walking through the entrance.
The room was nicely decorated with a modern / balinese theme. The garden and outdoor shower setting was beautiful.

I found the bed a little hard and the pillows too soft, but that is a personal thing and does not reflect the quality of the room.

Only a few small issues with the room. It did not have a safe. I was told it was broken and removed waiting on replacement. There is no fridge in the room. We could have used the fridge to store drinks, however they tend to be consumed much faster when left in a communal environment.

The view and infinity pool shared was stunning and the butler Soutar worked very hard to keep us all with a drink in hand at al times.

The beachfront restaurant Finns is nice and served good food. No complaints from anyone that was eating there and nobody got sick while staying at the resort.

There is a nice buffet breakfast, however the egg station is just soooooo slow. If it is busy you can expect a 10 minute wait if you want freshly cooked eggs. If you cant wait the poached eggs are done quickly.

We had a great time and the food and drinks with in the resort were very well priced. About $4.50 for a beer and $10 for a cocktail.

Stunning location and an amazing wedding experience for all who attended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle_and_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, General Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Chantelle and Owen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on our resort. The Villa you stayed in was Pawana. Pawana is a fantastic villa for a wedding ceremony with the long bougainvillea covered walkway that all brides love to use as their entrance.

I do apologize for the inconvienence of no in room safe. This has already been repaired and replaced. Regarding the fridge, we do have a fridge in the kitchen for the guests personal use, most guests are happy with this as they are usually families or groups of friends. Thank you for the suggestion of having small bar fridges also available.
I will pass your compliments on to our Butler who will be thrilled to have such great feedback. They really work very hard to make sure all of your needs are met.

Apologies that you felt you had to wait for the eggs, we believe it is important to cook eggs fresh and not as a buffet item. I will pass your comment onto our chef so we can focus on service in the egg station..

We are so glad you had the time to enjoy our fantastic Finns Beach Club. Finns it truly a piece of paradise with its crystal clear waters and great food. We hope you will come back for a visit next time you are in Bali!

Again, many thanks for all your comments.

Warmest Regards

Mandy McDermid – General manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, null, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at Jamadara for one night, as our niece had her wedding in Uluwatu area and provided this accomodation for the family members.

Truly love the view, it is incredible, and if i have to describe in one sentence, i would say that it is paradise on earth :) well maybe some will think that i am exagerrating , but pls come and you will know what i mean :)


For the rooms ( if i am not mistaken, it called Jamadara) , the Master Bedroom is fantastic. But we stayed in different room, it is still ok, but no TV inside the room. We have a beatiful pool with the Ocean view. This is the perfect place for having your honeymoon, or to have a dream wedding :)

For the breakfast, it is good but not so special. The staffs- I dont find many staffs when i am around. So i had to find everything by self, such as went to the kitchen area for borrowing spoons for my daughter when she wanted to eat her cake in the room.

Overall, this is a very wonderful staying experince. Well, this is very pricey villa, but i really hope to stay here again one day, maybe the next year when i am celebrating our 10years wedding anniversary :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meilanny_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SemaraManagement, Manager at The Ungasan Clifftop Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Meilanny K,

thanks for your review. With each villa a butler is allocated 8 hours daily. Of course we want the butlers to be attentive but yet many guests do enjoy the privacy of our villas and prefer to not have a butler always in full view. Needless your point will be mentioned during our next training session. We have recently made some improvements to our breakfast menu based on guest feedback. TV’s are not in each bedroom but are of course available in the living and media rooms. Most guests are happy with this as they stay at Semara to experience the villa and the comprehensive resorts facilities including the spectacular Finns Beach Club. We do appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you for your wedding anniversary.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.9 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
951 reviews
4.0 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 8 in Uluwatu
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 11 in Pecatu
140 reviews
5.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.2 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ungasan Clifftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ungasan Clifftop Resort

Property: The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Address: Jl Pantai Selatan Gau | Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362, Indonesia (Formerly Semara Luxury Villa Resort)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ungasan Clifftop Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort is located on the magical Bukit Peninsula. Only at a location like this, can we truly create something unique for every guest to experience. From the seclusion of our breathtaking landscape to the cultural sights and delights of Bali, we believe in making luxury simple and rewarding. Relax in secluded clifftop luxury at The Ungasan. Choose from our collection of 7 architecturally designed Bali Villas offering exclusively private accommodation and dedicated personal service. Let us create an incredible family or group getaway for you and your friends. Located within Villa Chintamani and Villa Nora, our collection of premium one bedroom villas delivers an intimate escape in an exclusive environment. Retreat to your own private villa or relax with other guests, it’s up to you. Venture down to the stunning stretch of white sandy beach, where our private Beach Club bar and restaurant offers a memorable ocean-front experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ungasan Clifftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing