We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Dewata 1, Seminyak, Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balivillas.com Estate
2 reviews
“Villa Dewata 1, Seminyak, Bali”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Have just enjoyed two weeks at Villa Dewata one at Seminyak.  It was a pleasant surprise that the staff were the same as last year and recognized us on arrival.  They must really enjoy their work with this Villa as I am sure that they would have offers from other places!  Staff continuity brings many good benefits.  These include icy cold beer and wine on the lawn for happy hour each night and in- house meals which we chose every second night.  Prepared by an excellent chief with modern and healthy recipies.  The location is excellent and on the other nights we ate at the very good restaurants that are all within walking distance or a short taxi ride.  Bali belly is certainly a thing of the past!  The other great thing about the staff is the security as we like to leave our iPads and phones in the spacious gardens. The security is also provided by security guards at the drive entrance. The Villa can be locked at night. Everything is close at hand in this wonderful area which is needed as the traffic jams are plentiful in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

After many visits to Bali staying in hotels we were convinced by friends to try a villa. We selected Villa Dewata 1 as it seemed to be in the middle of the Seminyak area. We were not disappointed! From the moment we were picked up at the airport we had the most marvellous holiday. The Villa was stunning, we all had a spacious well appointed bedroom per couple (4 couples) and modern up to date bathrooms. We all loved the massive lounge dining area which enabled us all to spread out and relax. The outdoor area was immaculately kept with well maintained gardens/stunning pool. An added bonus was the outside lounge areas, we loved the fact that we no longer had to get up at the crack of dawn to fight for a deck chair beside the hotel pool. The Villa staff were fabulous cooking up fabulous breakfasts and dinners when required. they seem to have an extensive range of dishes they can cook and we were given Indonesian cookbooks to select dishes from! The staff booked day trips, organised laundry and even organised the beers/champagne for the girls. The Villa was in the most amazing location, only metres from the main street yet absolutely no street noise could be heard.....at times we thought we were the only people in Bali!. If you are tempted to leave the hotels and try a villa do it! We would never go back to a hotel after the wonderful time we had at Villa Dewata 1. Thankyou to the wonderful, caring staff for a holiday we will never forget.
The Chalka's Geelong Vic Australia.

Room Tip: The 2 front rooms are a little larger than the 2 back rooms, you could also have a child on the diva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SonnieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our group of 13 had a wonderful time at Villa Dewata II. All pickups and transfers were as arranged. It’s great to be picked up by friendly faces and taken straight to the villa. We were met by the agent from Balivillasvacation.com.

This villa has 5 bedrooms with ensuites and a safe in each room and a large swimming pool. All rooms were cleaned daily and beds turned down every night. There was offsite laundry facilities at a small charge. This villa is at the end of a secured compound with 3 villas. It is secluded, has its own gate and away from traffic noise. The villa has open plan, patio style dining room and living room, so bring lots of mosquito spray. Keep an eye on very young children around the small fish pond and pool as all bedrooms open up to the pool area. Our 2.5 and 3 year old kids coped very well with this. Though a 7 year old fell into the fishpond when she slipped. She was fine though embarrassed. There is an enclosed separate living room with tv for the kids to chill out at the back of the property.

The villa staff - Wisnu (Butler), Putu (Chef), Agus and Krishna (houseboys), and Putu (driver) were friendly and very helpful. All spoke good English and made our stay there, comfortable and enjoyable. The staff were attentive and started at 6am and finished at 8pm after clearing dinner. The gardeners and pool attendants were quiet and attended to their job well. Wisnu was very helpful in suggesting activities for our group. He also booked several massages and pool side treatments including hair braiding. Although it was slightly more expensive than outside, it was convenient.

What a great and convenient location for all our group’s activities. Putu the driver knew his routes well and our trips to the Bali safari and marine park, ubud rice terraces, Pantai Geger, monkey forest in Sengeh, Legian shopping and Waterbom, were made interesting with his local knowledge of the areas. He even had the initiative to call our tailor to ensure our garments were ready for pickup, prior to the tailor’s suggested time, as we were in the area.

We also enjoyed the convenience of walking out our front door to the fabulous Balinese boutiques on Jln Raya Basangkasa. We even felt very safe walking to the shops late at night. The security guards at the villa were also always present.

We appreciated Chef Putu's expertise in preparing Balinese food for our enjoyment. We enjoyed many delicious local meals suggested by him and Wisnu.

We gave each staff member a small tip in appreciation for all their helpful efforts.

This being our first trip to Bali, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdayfromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were there to celebrate a 30th wedding anniversary with friends. The arrangement by our butler for a special dance/orchestra for the evening of the anniversary was superb. All staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us, and never once, did we feel like any of the staff was in our way . The cook didn't disappoint - he presented everything beautifully and it was as though all the food was 'made with love'. None of us have had an experience like this before and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away and relax!
The villa was clean and airy and had a 'homely' feel to it. All bedrooms were large, clean and tidy. What we liked the best was that it felt like we were at home - with all the added luxuries that came with the villa (butler, cook, house boys, driver, gardeners) and wanted to bring them back home to Australia with us......
We will definitely be booking with Bali Villas again in the future......thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a good quality - you might have to 'draw straws' if you are with a group a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My family and I stayed 6 nights in the Villa Bukit Hideaway on Jumbaran Hill and we totally enjoyed our stay there! The staff was perfect, specially the cook. We had delicious indonesian meals every day for reasonable price. The swimming pool attached to the villa is perfect for children.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My family and I stayed 2x with balivillas.com - once in 2003 and the 2nd time in 2008. Subsequently stayed in 2009 in a villa not managed by balivillas because the former was slightly cheaper - big mistake!! The villa was terrible, and the service was only so-so (we had kind of expected the same level of service that we'd enjoyed under balivillas). In 2010, we stayed at a villa in Ubud but unfortunately balivillas had only Villa Dhyan which was unavailable. That other villa (I've done a review as well - Villa Kanti) was good but service was still not as great as balivillas'. So although the 2 villas we stayed at don't seem to be available on balivillas.com anymore, I'm writing this review basically to recommend the company because my family and I were truly happy with their service.

Their staff were well-trained, particularly the servants in the villas who were attentive without being intrusive. We especially liked their cooks who could whip up Balinese, western as well as Asian dishes, from starters to mains to dessert. And we found that all the staff from the butler to the house-servants to the driver were great with children - I guess generally Balinese are gentle people who genuinely love children.

Room Tip: Woudn't recommend villas at Bukit for those seeking nightlife or entertainment - it's easiy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our group of four absolutely LOVED this villa. The views here are simply stunning. However, if you are not willing to accept living side by side with tropical jungle inhabitants, this is not the place for you.

The common living and dining areas are all open to nature. The sleeping areas are walled for privacy, but the walls are made from woven rattan. The roofing is traditional thatch. You will hear everything that goes on in the jungle during the night. You will also hear scurrying footsteps of who knows what moving along the walls in the darkness (my guess - lizards hunting for bugs). The full mosquito netting will prevent anything from getting into your bed. That being said, this is what gives the villa so much of its charm. During dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed having the different lizards taking their places along the thatch ceiling and the tree frogs taking their places along the half walls and poles. On each of our four nights there, we saw the same critters in their predesignated positions. Never did anyone intrude on our space. After dinner we would relax in the open air living room reminiscing about the days events, enjoying each others' company and spotting the different critters hanging about (again, it was lizards and frogs, as well as the occasional fly-by of a bat). Daylight brings out a whole different set of wildlife. Stunning birds and butterflies are everywhere amongst the gardens and surrounding jungle.

The 3-star rating is due to the somewhat rustic living. You do have modern plumbing and all the living areas are clean and comfortable. As with other villas in the Bali Villas collection, the staff here is wonderful, friendly and they aim to please.

For a truly glorious experience, this villa is a gem.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warrenandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ungasan hotels
2.1 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,325 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
2.2 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pandawa Surf Guest House
#9 of 21 in Ungasan
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun Island Suites
Sun Island Suites
#5 of 41 in Ungasan
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
My Dream Resort and Spa
My Dream Resort and Spa
#11 of 11 in Ungasan
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balivillas.com Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balivillas.com Estate

Property: Balivillas.com Estate
Address: Gang Balangan 1, No. 100X | Jimbaran Hill, Ungasan 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 villas with a total of 24 bedrooms are set in walled tropical gardens with swimming pools offering total privacy. Trained full-time staff includes personal butlers, excellent cooks, maids, house boys, spa therapists, security guards etc providing service around the clock. Daily spa treatments and the use of a modern air-conditioned car with driver (exclude gasoline) for up to 10 hours every day are included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balivillas Com Estate Ungasan
Balivillas.Com Estate Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing