We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banyan Tree Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I just want to thank you and the Banyan Tree Staff for doing an awesome job to ensure that I had a wonderful stay in Banyan Tree. The service was exceptional and we enjoyed the stay at our wonderful villa tremendously. My parents would also like to thank the Banyan Tree Team for celebrating their anniversary with the nice decorations and delicious cake.

We hope to come back to Banyan Tree Bali soon and I look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you and We wish you a Happy New Year too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank kjl_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I were looking forward to visit the Banyan Tree, Ungasan. We had an extremely high expectation for a Banyan Tree property, but the service, quality of food and value for money of this resort fell short. The hotel only has two restaurants available for dinner, Bambu and Ju Ma Na. While our experience at Ju Ma Na was to say a pretty impressive experience, Bambu was far from great. Our second night we thought it would be nice to go to Bambu to see the Balinese show and have dinner but only to find that our food never came out until the show was over. We were one of the last couples at the restaurant. I was disgusted with the service and the way they handled the situation. My wife and I lost our appetite and decided to leave and to never to return for dinner at Bambu for the rest of our trip. Our only option now was to spend an excess of $300 at Ju Ma Na which is OK if they can accommodate a reservation or have the in villa dining service which coincidently are same chefs at Bambu who prepare the food. Go figure! Not only did they make a mistake the first night, they messed up two more times during our stay. The second and third times they brought the wrong item and had to go back to the kitchen to correct the order. The in villa dining orders were verified on the phone and they still made several mistakes. I don't know if it was miscommunication, but they should be on top such situations especially after screwing up our initial dinner. Breakfast AGAIN is provided by Bambu, which is complementary but the food is average to say the least. Much of the food selection during breakfast is Asian inspired, so not much choice otherwise. Considering we are staying in a tropical country, I expected the fruits to taste delicious, but the fruits they provide during breakfast did not taste sweet (i.e. pineapple, grapes, watermelon).

And the problems continued: The first few days we heard a lot of construction noise during the early/mid morning but since the noise has stopped. We are here to relax and enjoy our trip but such obvious issues should be considered and mentioned to the guests prior to their stay.

We planned an excursion to see the Uluwatu temple. The hotel offered a package of providing us with a driver to show us the local village then take us to the temple. The driver did not speak much English and we were charged approximately $100 to just drive us there and bring us back!! The ticket to get into the temple and the ticket to see the local dance was not included in that amount. It is probably cheaper taking a taxi to go to local sites than taking a driver from the hotel. The drivers they provide do not work at the hotel, but are local drivers that are called upon request and are extremely overpriced. Highly suggest you do not book the hotel driver if you want to save some money.

We have stayed at other five star resorts in Asia and we have experienced better service. The villa it self is pretty nice and the view from top of the cliff is amazing but other than those two things there isn't much we liked about the resort.

We definitely would not come back to the Banyan Tree, Bali as we find this is far from a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmy_Shaukany, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Raj L,
Thank you for your feedback and comments. It is appreciated.
I am truly sorry that you experienced some shortfalls during your stay with us.
We have already addressed your comments and rest assured that corrective actions have already been implemented.

Thank you for your gracious comments on the villa and view. I am happy that you found the rest of our facilities to your expectations.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort and allow us to reinstate ourselves in your good faith.

With best regards,
Helmy Shaukany – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We're half way through our stay and I feel compelled to put pen to paper and express our bemusement at what should be a 5* holiday.

The hotel is set on a cliff with a rocky beach below, because it's the rainy season we have not had an opportunity to use it which is just as well because it has litter left cleary washed up onto the beach.  A lone lifeguard is the only staff member and there are no refreshments available unless it is requested from room service.  Clearly not worth the effort you have to make to get there down steps cut into the cliff.

The staff are very friendly and willing and are not the problem.  Clearly past it's best the hotel is now tired.  Part of the breakfast restaurant terrace roof needs repair and unusable, the villa is not up to the standard of other similar styled resort with various issues that needed the maintenance teams attention.  I guess the worst part is that once pointed out the repairs are done quickly but surely basic checks should be made before letting the room out. Its enough for me to say that it's the small things make a difference.

Buffet breakfast is included and is mostly up to a good standard, but we've stayed in enough of these type of hotels to know that this is not as it is in other similar resorts where they serve all day breakfasts instead of a fixed time service. Also we are surprised that bananas are in such short supply on an island that grows them..... Even so it seems that the best food is served at breakfast.  The restaurants evening buffet is a weak affair with poor selections and limited choice and we won't be visiting it again.  Neither will we make the mistake of ordering anything that that looks like western fare from room service.   Made the mistake of ordering pizza and nachos which were all but inedible.  To be fair the Nasi Goreng and chicken curry were ok,  we now assume that local cuisine is a better bet in the future even though sometimes its not what you want.  Considering that they boast Michelin starred chefs the whole of their catering seems a bit "unloved" we spent a whole 30 minutes in the soulless signature Ju-Ma-Na restaurant having been offered a complimentary set menu meal to make up for some of the shortcomings in our villa the complimentary amuse bouche came at the same time as our aperitifs and each course was in front of us as soon as the last was finished.... No time for chit chat there then.  Was the food good? Probably it was but we had no time to savor it.

It's not just that the buildings are tired, so are lots of the facilities the spa towels have seen better days, table tennis bats are ripped and unusable,  requests forgotten. It's always the little things like that you remember.

Would we return?..... Not a chance

Room Tip: From what we can tell all rooms are very similar and are only graded by location and number of bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavenLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmy_Shaukany, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear DavenLina,
I am extremely sorry that there occasion of disappointments during your stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan Bali. These things should never happen in the first place. We thank you for your comments and assure you that we take such feedback very seriously. We have already addressed your comments with a view to improve in a noticeable way.

Best regards,
Helmy Shaukany – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My family and I enjoyed a 4 days 3 nights getaway in Bali a week ago. Besides family vacation, the purpose of this trip was also to celebrate my dad's birthday. I selected Banyan Tree's Family Fun Package which includes in-villa BBQ dining, which I think would be a unique way of celebrating my dad's birthday.

As there are 6 of us, I booked 2 units of Sanctuary Villas. Wanted to get both with cliff edge ocean views but since only 1 was available, had to go with ocean view for one of the villas.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with their traditional welcome ceremony, which was a nice touch. The lobby, while not grand and opulent like St Regis’, has its own beauty which allows the expansive cliff-top ocean view to really shine through. I guess too much opulence and grandeur will detract from the gorgeous views.

Sanctuary villas come with 2 bedrooms, one with a king-size bed and the other with twin beds. The villas are very well-appointed and spacious. Showers come with good pressure water flow, which was always welcome after a full day of sightseeing. The bathroom amenities and toiletries were adequate. The only negative was the scent of the body lotion provided. I think it’s supposed to be a combination of sandalwood scent with something else, and some people may like it. But I find it quite awful.

The bed was very comfortable, not to hard, nor too soft. However, the pillow was too soft for my liking and I woke up with a mild neck ache, which quickly goes away after some doing some stretches. Hence, I feel it would be an added bonus if Banyan Tree could offer a pillow menu to cater to different physique.

In addition, the reading light at the bedside is not adequate. A bigger, brighter reading light would be very helpful as lighting in the bedroom is on the dim side.

My parents and brother stayed at Villa 224 (Cliff Edge Ocean View) while my sisters and I were at villa 211 (Ocean View). The view at 224 was not the best of the cliff edge villas as it faces another cliff and do not have a full on ocean view. I believe villas 222, 221 and 220 would have much better, unobstructed ocean view.

We find the daily breakfast at Bambu satisfying. It’s not a big spread but it provides everything one requires for a good breakfast. Breakfast was a combination of self-service buffet spread and ala carte buffet items which include eggs done in a few styles, bacon, ham, etc, waffles, pancakes, French toast as well as beverages like latte, espresso, teas.

Service and hospitality at Banyan Tree is top-notch. From front-desk to housekeeping, everyone was unfailingly helpful, warm and polite. We felt very well-looked after by the wonderful team at Banyan Tree.

One of the best moments of our stay is the in-villa BBQ dinner to celebrate my dad’s birthday. Ajif (not sure if I got the spelling of his name correct) was our server for the evening and we find him very gracious, efficient and attentive in his service without being intrusive. And the food! There was so much food for the 6 of us! I think the amount could easily serve 12 people! Or perhaps we just happened to be small eaters? Anyway, the food were delicious and cooked just right, with nothing overdone or burnt.

We bought a special bottle of wine from home for this occasion and Ajif even brought out suitable wine glasses to serve the wine. Halfway through dinner, our plates were changed. It felt as though we were dining in a full-service restaurant with nothing lacking. Indeed, it was one of the most relaxing and hassle-free BBQ dinners we ever had.

Desserts comprise of fresh fruits, which are definitely welcome after a meat-filled meal. Ajif also brought out the birthday cake, compliments of Banyan Tree, to celebrate the occasion.

We have enjoyed our stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan and will not hesitate to return again on our next visit to Bali.

Room Tip: If you want unobstructed ocean views, I believe villas 222, 221 would have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Last week-end I feel so lucky as I had a chance to stay 2 nights at the Banyan Tree, one of the famous hotel in Bali.
First surprise was during check-in, they gave us special ceremony, took picture of us. Second surprise was the size of the living room, bed room and bath room. Third surprise was the hospitality of all staff. Forth surprise was the shuttle service, really help!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sejong, South Korea
1
Reviewed 18 December 2013

we, my wife and I, had a wonderful time at the Banyan Tree Ungasan Bali as our preferred destination for our recent honeymoon vacation, which made us feel rejuvenated and still reminds us of good memories again and makes me smile. we hope we'll be back there someday. ASAP If you get there, don't forget to join GIF(green imperative fund) which Saves the turtle! Vita Brevis! Carpe Diem!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Banyan Tree Bali for our weekend escape and the 3 days there were just fantastic.

The staff there are friendly and helpful. When we walked around the resort, everyone we saw stopped and smile to us. The place is no difference to the photos on the website and Ju-Ma-Na restaurant has the best view!

The room was awesome and the spa was great. We went as couple but the place is also good for families. Have to mention the burning oil there as apparently it is so popular that there is nothing left in the gallary shop! Need to order that online when it becomes available.

Some people complained about the resort being in the middle of no where, but we actually think it is a good thing. It gives us enough quiet time and space and really makes the stay a relaxing one. If you want to go to somewhere with more people and shops, it is actually not that far.

We really liked the way that with different Banyan Tree resorts in different places, they always have the same high quality and standard.

As I said in the title, never let me down.

Room Tip: For those who are looking for the cliff edge view villas, 218 and 219 are definitely the best - next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmy_Shaukany, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear YJOG,

Thank you for your kind and flattering comments on your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan. Your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

With best regards,
Helmy Shaukany – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 10 in Uluwatu
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,039 reviews
11.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: £408 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing