We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family quality time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with family and we had most of amazing time. The hotels is indeed beautiful and offer true luxury. The rooms we had was very spacious with biggest private pool we ever experienced and with great privacy too. We were very happy although haven't enjoyed all the facilities yet. Kids are happy with the pool and the meals, the breakfast buffet was great, thanks for the poached eggs and those abundance buffet menu. We were very impressed by the Balinese blessing upon check-in, a very nice indigenous touch. The staff are gracious, warm, polite and very attentive.

We would like to thank Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali and all the staff for making our stay memorable and amazing, It was truly amazing family time at Banyan Tree Ungasan with its exceptional services, we hope to come back to Banyan Tree Ungasan soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W_Wandira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear W_Wandira,
Thank you for your kind and flattering comments on your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan.
We truly appreciate it.
Regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The staff are extremely attentive, gracious, and helpful.Beautiful architecture, spacious rooms, great location and good service. This is a great place for a honeymoon as they treat you with true luxury.We enjoyed all the hotel facilities and were very happy with the service received.Oh and the breakfast buffet....amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Indah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Indah P,
Thank you for your gracious comment.
We are very happy that you had a good stay here at Banyan tree Ungasan Bali.
We all look forward to welcoming you “home” in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A good self sustaining resort. Stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. Privacy was ok. Partial sea view indeed. Friendly and courteous staff. A good place to escape the chaos of Bali. Location is good for privacy. Drive to Kuta and etc (city) can be far. Recommended for couples who just want to bum around the resort.

Room Tip: Choose a one bedroom pool villa if you are going to stay at this resort. Also try and catch a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsEzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Ezryyyy,
Thank you for your gracious comments. It is truly appreciated.
With best regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I've been meaning to write feedback since we came back from a 3 night stay at one of the sea view villas during Christmas week and not that one more positive review would change anything!! If you'll have gone thru the past reviews.. I would vouch for them totally!! My 2 cents here:
If your looking at having descent enough views of the ocean your better off booking the ocean view villas and above. Sea view villas don't have much of a view of the ocean.
Having said that the villa itself is massive and we did not miss the view one bit at all.
Also the villas and amenities within are the same for the one bedroom ones irrespective of the views.
The daily change of oil scents and turn down service made the villa feel fresh and serene.
jumana restaurant is our first ever French cuisine restaurant and we loved the whole setting with the ocean view and the French music in the background. And when u ask for pepper this guy will come out with a massive waist high pepper stand and serve u.(pretty cool)!!
The pvt beach is nothing much to talk about ... But when it's low tide you can walk via the beach to Finns restaurant which is I believe is part of karma Kandahar.
The resort taxis are almost double the rates than the metered taxis and the ones u can bargain with ... But you will get a good reliable driver who will try and take you thru the shortest routes possible during peak hour traffic. The cars are also near to new condition. Your there to relax so I wudnt bother about organizing a taxi myself.
The resort does not advertise the free bus shuttle much (besides the introduction to the resort on the tv channel) ... However there are in total 3 shuttle services I believe .. Going to kuta markets and nusa dua markets on a daily basis.
The service and say was absolutely fantastic and I recommend this resort to anyone who wants to have a peaceful enjoyable holiday.
For me the Next stop is Banyan tree Koh Samui hill crest villa stay next year. Enjoy guys!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NikhilPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear NikhilPat,
Thank you for your kind and flattering comments on your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan. Your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
With best regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We came for a two week stay after seeing other Trip Advisor Reports which were so favourable. We wanted a stay away from shopping and crowds. Banyan Tree is 30 to 45 minutes from Airport depending on traffic. You cannot walk from the hotel to restaurants or markets, shops. Nusa Dua though is only 20 minutes by cheap taxi as is Rock Bar and Jimbaran Bay. And the whole idea of the hotel is peace and quiet which is what we wanted. Even though quite full, the most people we saw were at breakfast. And probably like us, they spend most time in the beautiful pool villas, ours with an ocean view.
As long stay guests we got VIP treatment. All of the staff here, without exception we fantastic . Nicolas, the General Manager, was so professional and happy to receive feedback. We could see from his interactions with staff that he also had a great and valued relationship with them. Some great staff were Inche, Dian, Ngurah, Gaspar and Made. But everyone including buggy drivers and gardeners a were so friendly.
Our Pool Villa with direct view to the Indian Ocean was massive, and luxurious. The bedroom has direct access to the pool. Outdoor shower also. Dining area, lounge, huge bathroom, plenty of hanging space, huge infinity pool and spa in the villa were wonderful.
On several occasions we had room service which was excellent and beautifully set up. On another occasion we had the In Villa BBQ, stunning set up, great food and service. Another night we had In Villa Dining which was the Hot Pot, cook your own selection of seafood, meats and vegetables. All overlooking your pool. And as this was our last night the bath was filled and rose petals laid on the water, with a heart of red roses, complimentary wine, and candles. Just lovely.
We also went to Jumana. Restaurant on two occasions. It's a silver service, and again excellent food and service, overlooking the Indian Ocean from its cliff top position. Open for dinner only. Also a bar there open from 4pm.
The pool bar is open all day with Bar snacks, and Bambu restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Tamarind Restaurant was lunch only Monday to Friday and a health restaurant, so no alcohol.
So we had a wonderful stay, were treated specially by a wonderful team. Thank you Nicolas, and thank you for the complimentary Möet and Lobster.

Room Tip: We had Room 210 with great view of Ocean. If you want to be on cliff edge looking directly at waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Rudi888,
Thank you so much for the gracious comment.
We are all very happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Thank you for the wonderful praises on our staff “Inche, Dian, Ngurah, Gaspar and Made”.
Your comments have been shared with them and they were delighted to know that their services have been recognized.
We all look forward to welcoming you “home” in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Nicolas B. – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Banyan Tree Ungasan is located at the extreme south of the island of Bali. It can only be reached by a single road from Ngurah Rai Airport. This road can be very congested, so it could take an hour or more to get there.

The hotel is presently not surrounded by any other hotels or restaurants, so guests have to eat in the F&B outlets. These can be quite pricey, though the food is generally good and the service consistently excellent . There are only three outlets in reality - Bambu (which has quite a good selection of different cuisines), Jumana (rather pricey and open only at night) and Tamarind (this is the spa restaurant - food is good, but portions are skimpy). In-villa dining is a good choice and there is a variety of dishes on offer.

It is not practical to walk or cycle as the road to the hotel is in rather bad condition. The only way to get around is to hire a taxi; the prices are very reasonable compared to other destinations in Asia. Certainly when compared to Europe or the US, taxis are cheap. However, it would always be better to go with a reputable company recommended by the hotel. This may not be the cheapest, but cheaper is not necessarily better.

We had a cliff top two-bedroom sanctuary villa with an unimpeded view of the ocean. The infinity pool seems to drop off the cliff. The sea is empty of ships. Perfect for anyone who wants to get away from the madding crowd.

The beach is a stiff walk down the cliff side. The buggies can only take you so far (the model of the hotel in the lobby is completely misleading). You then have to climb down 120 stairs. This is not a problem unless it's wet; the problem is climbing up all those stairs again! But the good news is that the beach is almost completely deserted. It's not good for swimming because of the sharp corals, but as a secluded retreat it is excellent.

The spa is very good, though it is all indoors. It lacks the dramatic view of the ocean-side spa in the old Ritz-Carlton.

There is only one shop, so those craving an opportunity to support the Balinese retail economy will have to take a shuttle bus. This goes to malls in Nusa Dua and Kuta. We didn't take the bus. We hired a taxi for the day instead, had lunch at the Bali Collection Mall in Nusa Dua (about half an hour away) and did a bit of sightseeing.

Sightseeing tours by taxi can be arranged, but Ungasan is not the best location for touring Bali. Pura Uluwatu (a cliff-side temple) is nearby, but that's about it. If you want to get to Ubud (where the artists are) or Tanah Lot (the touristy sea-temple) you have to brave the rigours of the traffic up to and through Denpasar. This will take two hours off your life at the very least, just getting beyond Denpasar.

In summary: an excellent resort for those wishing for a quiet relaxing holiday away from the crowds, with consistently excellent service.

Room Tip: There are only a limited number of villas with an uninterrupted sea view. These are next to Jumana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas B, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear W W,
Thank you for the kind and considerate comments posted here regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali. We truly appreciate it.
Thank you & regards,
Nicolas Belzic – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The property is very new, and nicely designed!

we booked for Xmas 2013, we were well taken care of! We were picked up by a very friendly driver @ the airport, and we checked in Villa 125, which we got upgraded from Garden view villa to Sea view Villa.

The Villa is massive, nicely designed, the private pool was a bit small and cold tho. But then, even at raining season, we managed to got sun burnt and tanned. So i guess we were quite lucky

Breakfast was great, room services are yummy and quick =)

All staff speaks good english, or even mandarin.
Food are at reasonable price, we dine @ hotel/ room services for 3 days, only cost us USD 300, which i think this is quite cheap!

we will be back =)

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmy_Shaukany, Manager at Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Chris S,
Thank you for your kind and flattering comments on your recent stay here at Banyan Tree Ungasan. Your comments have been shared with the team and they were indeed pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
With best regards,
Helmy Shaukany – The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
5.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.5 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 10 in Uluwatu
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ungasan Clifftop Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,041 reviews
11.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karma Kandara
Karma Kandara
#2 of 11 in Ungasan
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali

Address: Jl. Melasti | Banjar Kelod, Ungasan 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#1 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: £396 - £709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the cliffs near to the Uluwatu Temple, Banyan Tree Ungasan brings definitive fine cliff top living to the renowned beach island of Bali. An all-pool villa resort located at the southernmost point of Bali, Banyan Tree Ungasan offers one of the best unparalleled views of the Indian Ocean, complete with a level of comfort and privacy synonymous with the Banyan Tree brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali Hotel Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing