We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place to spend a few days !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Hope Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Hope Estate
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place to spend a few days !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Getting there involved negotiating the bustling little town above St. Ann's Bay and following the winding road climbing up to the long tree-lined drive that leads to High Hope. It was absolutely worth the journey ! The informal, peaceful ambience ; the friendly owners and their team of staff ; and the lovely food, all go to make it a very special experience. The beautiful grounds, humming birds near the blossom and the fireflies at night even more so ! And not forgetting the swim before breakfast in the lovely pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

I spent two nights at High Hope in November 2010, staying in the twin bedded Rasta room. Everything about it surpassed my expectations, from the beautiful grounds to the welcoming owners, to the comfortable room, to the magically starry night sky.

Food is not included in the rates, but the kitchen was very accommodating to my dietary requests, producing excellent meals every time. I must single out the delicious Jamaican breakfast on sundays, the French bread rolls at dinner time and the exquisite lobster salad for lunch or dinner.

I was a woman travelling alone and appreciated being able to sunbathe undisturbed, by the pool overlooking the sea. I also felt very safe walking down to town to shop at the market and catch a taxi to Dunn's River Falls and back, and didn't experience any hassle in the bustling town of St Ann's Bay. There are lovely walks in the area but I was quite content to enjoy my time doing very little. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTravel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

High Hope Estate sits on a hill overlooking the beautiful blue ocean. The hosts are attentive, generous and full of useful information that will make your stay in Jamaica even more enjoyable. The staff attends to every little detail in subtle yet meaningful ways. You can purchase meals on site and the food is delectable - a true sample of real Jamaican cuisine. We rented a car (Island Rental is the best!) at the airport so getting around for us was easy and driving on the "wrong side of the road" is easily adjustable. Basically, we felt like we were home "away from home" throughout the entire stay - and that is really important to me when I go on vacation. BTW - the rooms are really spacious with lovely decor and comfortable beds - a must!!! All in all - stay at the High Hope Estate - it was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine02865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had the chance to spend one night at High Hope, service is perfect, location great for a break from the beaches and time can be leisurely spent at the pool or strolling through the beautiful gardens. Perfect location, 11km from Ocho Rios's beaches and restaurants. one of our favourites stays of our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissanelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

The drive up to High Hope was exciting as it was our first foray off the highway. But we found the hotel very easily. It is located high above St Ann's at the end of a very long driveway, all helping to add to our feeling of security. We were greeted ver warmly on arrival by the owners Dennis (American) and Ludo (Italian) (despite the fact that we were only booked in for one night) who have lived in Jamaica for many years and have many recommendations of places to go across Jamaica.
After unpacking we were served perfect sundowner martinis on our patio with a fabulous view overlooking the bay. Our supper was served in the Meditation Hut, a palm frond thatched gazebo in the immaculate 3 acre grounds, again, overlooking the bay.
How romantic! The sun was setting, and the gazebo was lit with fairy lights and lanterns and attended by a white shirted, black bow tied waiter. Our dinner was exquisite - baked crab back, smoked marlin, pork tenderloin, bananas foster, all cooked to perfection. Breakfast next day, served on the verandah, was equally good. The pool was great. The room was clean and large, and had a small fridge and a coffee maker with Blue Mountain Coffee. No AC, but the fan was adequate with the windows open and the high location. Our stay wasn't cheap, but well worth the splurge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicletSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We traveled through Jamaica on our own and saw many places and hotels. The High Hope was the best one of them. If you are looking for a great view, an individual atmosphere, and the nicest Jamaican food and service, this is the place to go.
Our hosts and the service team are really friendly and have many great tips to offer for the region.

If you want something else then the typical tourist fare - choose High Hope Estate!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaeBee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

My boyfriend and I tried this hotel after spending three weeks in Negril. We wanted to see more of Jamaica and weren't ready to leave. We spent a very relaxing two nights at High Hope and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This is the place to go if you want a sense of what it was like to be a movie star in the 40's who wanted to be in a beautifully tranquil and elegant place. It feels more like the home of a (very) wealthy friend than a hotel and it was a memorable experience. They excel at comfort and upscale European inspired dining. And the grounds of the estate are truly beautiful. Highly recommended for a quiet and gorgeous getaway!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicOliver88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Ann's Bay
7.7 mi away
Piper's Cove Resort
Piper's Cove Resort
#7 of 14 in Runaway Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
9.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
6.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hope Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hope Estate

Property: High Hope Estate
Address: 16 Top Road, St. Ann's Bay 33036, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > St. Ann's Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Ann's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Hope Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and romantic Inn overlooking the blue Caribbean Sea, High Hope Estate is located near Ocho Rios and is truly one of Jamaica’s little known secrets. Five beautifully furnished guest rooms are located on acres of botanical gardens. High Hope offers guests the peace, tranquility, and natural beauty expected when vacationing in Paradise. Each guestroom, with names like the Hibiscus Room and Royal Palm, are furnished with English and Jamaican antiques. All have baths en suite and verandahs offering spectacular views of the blue Caribbean and the green hills of St. Ann. Turn down service is offered nightly. Acres of botanical gardens surround you providing refuge to countless varieties of tropical birds, flowers and fauna. Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular and you will probably find fireflies in your room at night. Peace is the order of the day. Eight other members of staff make up the team that look after your every need. Chef Evadney has won awards for her creations that are predominately Jamaican but with an Italian influence. We offer lunch and dinner service served on your private verandah, by the pool, or in the romantic setting of the Meditation Hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Hope Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Hope Estate Jamaica/Saint Ann Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing