We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agua Hotels Riverside
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Globo(Portimao)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Made Inn(Portimao)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Flamingo Residence(Praia da Rocha)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VilaRosa Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mirachoro Sol(Portimao)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
283
471
224
71
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
471
224
71
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverjunior suiteminute walkindoor poolbeansbad smellmodern hotelout of the waya la cartefishing villagebed and breakfastreception staffsteam roomtaxi fareread the reviewsnight liferelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Well, for me that was hoping to relax and take advantage of the hotel SPA, I ended up a bit disapointed, since it seemed that I was on a childrens kindergarten.
Even on the SPA, you couldn't realax for 5 minutes, because every time one of the many children on the space would start screaming or crying or just running around. No I do not think its a good ideia to allow 1 year kids to go in to a SPA, Jacuzzi or massage center!

If you have kids, maybe this is a good place to go to, with some place for them to play outside safelly, but if you are in the mood to relax, you should choose another place to go!

Hotel is nice though, nice accomodation (restaurante is not the best in the world for diner, but breakfast is ok).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrianaBras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've read most of the recent reviews and they really do give a fair reflection of this hotel. I will add my views to the mix: i have no right to complain about anything because i paid virtually nothing for the whole holiday - £500 for two inc. flights, transfers and all inclusive drinks (this a must). Take off the flights etc and the actual hotel cost £248 B&B inc. all drinks - and we did have a few great cocktails made by the fantastic Hugo. There were only about 10 people staying in the hotel most of the week so it was really quiet. We were upgraded when we arrived to a junior suite but this was on the non sunny side of the hotel, so i asked if there was any chance of changing. Not a problem for the lovely Andria on reception and we got a great room with views over the river toward Portimao which got the sun from 11am until sunset. It was lovely.
As other reviews have said, the hotel is a bit isolated and we felt a little for others who were All Inclusive as they were rather tied to the hotel and there was nothing to do. We got out and about and ate some fantastic food all week. The fishing village of Ferragudo is a 30 minute stroll away (we are in our 40's and happy to walk) or 6 euro taxi. It is a must! Beautiful setting, and some great restaurants in the square. I would highly recommend 'Portarade' (search restaurant reviews for more on this) and Italia. The food is excellent and at 10 euros a head for drink + 3 courses + coffee it is superb value.
We went dolphin watching from Ferragudo which was fantastic too and we saw loads of dolphins. An experience not to miss.
We worked out the local bus service too and had trips to various beaches and villages. All beautiful with great food. Ate in 'Fishermans' in Alvor which was amazing: a whole sea bream each with veg for 10 euros, cooked in front of you on the grill.
Don't be afraid of using the buses, they are on time, clean and cheap. All the drivers spoke English and were friendly and helpful. Carvoeiro has a great beach but also some great scenery if you walk up the cliffs.
I hope this is helpful and please message me for any advise.

Room Tip: The even number rooms are on the best side of the hotel and get the sun most of the day.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Reg138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Booked a few days here, went for bed and breakfast option. As a previous review states, its got pros and cons, but nothing that was really bad.

Pros
Quiet location if seeking relaxation
Big rooms
Good aircon
TV
Very clean
Nice modern bathrooms, twin sinks, big shower
Massive balcony
Nice views even though its not directly by the sea
Friendly staff
Complimentary bubbly

Cons
Its by a river, so yes there is a bit of smell, but once inside the hotel not noticeable.
The twin beds pushed together didn't work too well as one side was more worn than the other so was a bit uneven, and just a personal choice i would have liked a firmer pillow and mattress.
The design of the hotel is very modern, so it looks really cool, but unfortunately we could not access the restaurant via the block we were in, you have to down down to first level then walk across the gardens to get to it, same with the gym etc.
restaurant was small but still pleasant, very clean.
breakfast options are not amazing, usual cereals, toasts, breads, yogurts, cakes, croissants, they had a small area with minimal cooked breakfast. Teas and coffees from machine, no problems with juices too. Didn't go all inclusive here.
For a woman who likes to get glammed up, there was only one mirror with lighting and that was in the bathroom-now the lighting was not good in there, LEDs I'm thinking quite dim, so it was difficult to get ready.
No Tea and coffee making facilities, maybe something they could look into, it would draw more customers, however all due respect we asked at reception and were provided with a full size kettle to use in our room, this made us happy :)

So to summarize, a nice, clean modern hotel, helpful staff breakfast adequate, not amazing but ideal for a small break.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river 3rd floor is good for views ask for a kettle at reception if you love tea!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank needmoreHolidays0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a 3 night break with my husband. We were disappointed at first as the hotel was not what we were expecting. But, we didn't let that spoil our holiday.
The hotel is located in a quiet area and yes there was a strange smell coming from the river. The free wifi in the restaurant was good but having the bar and restaurant in one was unusual. I was expecting an additional bar, where you could go and sit before/after food. And not having to remain on a restaurant table all night. No area to sit and relax with a drink, which was disappointing and no entertainment at all.
We were all inclusive and had to wait quite a while for drinks. Didn't seem to be enough staff. Breakfast was ok, but again disappointing when compared to the normal hotel breakfast I have had in the past while abroad. Lunch was really nice and you had a menu to pick from with lots of choice. Evening meal was average and the selection not as good as lunch time.
The staff were nice and helpful, in particular Bruno in the restaurant.
Had a lovely massage in the spa. 47 euros for an hr. Very relaxing. Pool was smaller than expected but ok.
Bedroom was nice and spacious but was in need of some painting and quite drab. The kitchen was full equipped for self catering but no kettle which was a shame as it would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom and also wifi as there was only a news channel for English TV.
The hotel is very isolated but we caught taxis and the fare was reasonable. 7/8 euros to the shopping complex in portimao, which is worth a visit for some shopping and lunch out.
All in all, the hotel was ok but nothing special and I wouldn't recommend it to family or friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank C3HER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I keep coming back to this little gem by the river. Great views from all bedrooms to river, upgrade to a junior suite and you get 75sm of great space. Reception, housekeeping staff are great.
Beautifully pool, free wired net and wireless in public area.
The only downside is its needs a bit maintenance in room, just a bit of fresh paint. All together a great place to relax and close to everything if you got a car.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank hotpedro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews