We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agua Hotels Riverside
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend from 2nd - 7th June and had an absolutely amazing time, breakfast was great! was a little worried about the location as we were only bed & breakfast, however was not a problem, we got a taxi to Praia de rocha every day of our stay for either the beach or dinner/drinks (taxi is between €6 - €8 depends if the roads are quiet) didn't mind doing this at all as we love the beach (absolutely gorgeous, very clean) also the strip at night was great, made some good friends with the PRs, they gave us free shots with every drink haha. Would definitely recommend the American diner for food, steaks were the best we have ever had, and the portions are HUGE! Back at the hotel there is a shop right next door (mini preco) and a lidl at the end of the street (people are extremely lazy when they say mini preci isn't near, about 30 second walk lol, soooo cheap!!)

The cleaners were lovely, came every day about 3pm, made our bed, clean towels brushed and cleaned the bathroom!

The pool was a little cold but after you dive in its warm! (Always the same!) and the spa was wonderful, warm pool, gym, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, was the perfect relaxation to end the holiday (doesn't close til 7pm)

Would definitely return to Algarve, probably look for a hotel in Praia de rocha as we are only 19 so enjoyed the bars and clubs every night, overall the hotel was still fab, no faults! Can't believe the price!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

3 very pleasant nights in Riverside Lagoa (June 2014).
The hotel has a great view but our highlight of the stay was for sure the 3 dinners we had on the hotel restaurant.
Truly a MasterChef experience! Something not to be missed and I hope the hotel will manage to keep the cook as he is one of the best I've seen lately...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drylook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed her 28th may till the 4th June with one of my friends. We had an amazing time here. We stayed in a junior suit which was lovely and spacious with everything we needed.

After reading some reviews on here I was really worried about the location and food, yes I agree it is in a remote location but it's only a short walk or taxi ride away to the shops bars and beaches (we only did this once) and if u are not all inclusive then this is something I would budget for.
The food was lush different choice of evening meal every night and even lunch had a good selection, breakfast was fab too with lots to choose from. The staff in the hotel were amazing and very helpful nothing was too much bother for them.
The pool in the hotel was lovely cold at first but once u took the plunge was very enjoyable, with great views.
All in all we had a lovely time here and would highly recommend it and would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 276claires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights at end of May/start of June. We were looking for a chilled out relaxing break away and that is what we got. Before choosing this hotel I read reviews which said the hotel was situated in a very quiet town which is definitely true but perfect for us as we weren't looking for a busy party holiday.

The hotel was amazing , it was exceptionally clean, the bedroom and en-suite was really spacious with a lovely view of the river and portimao town from our balcony. We got upgraded to a room with a kitchen which was great as there isn't restaurants in walking distance so we went to the supermarket right beside the hotel or lidl which is about a 10 min walk away and got food to cook and snacks for during the day. We ate in the restaurant once or twice for lunch which was nice but a little expensive.. We also got a taxi to Praia da rocha twice for a change to eat out and have a few drinks. The taxi cost around 8 euro each way. I would recommend going here as there was lots of lovely restaurants to choose from and a nice beach.

The sunbathing view was amazing overlooking the river and there was a really nice relaxing atmosphere around. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The only thing I could really fault is how cold the pool is as we found it too cold to go swimming in during the hottest times of the day when we wanted to cool down.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a relaxing break away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heatherrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The stay was good! We loved how clean the hotel was, and the friendlyness of the reception staff. Although there was some areas the hotel could improve on. We stayed from 25th may for 6 nights, the hotel was very outside of any town. There was a lidl near by but was a 15 min walk, to go anywere for a bar or restauraunt we had to get a taxi to either Portameo or prey de rocha, which meant paying between £7 and £10 in a taxi.
The pillows in the room were like puffs of air which I did not like. Rooms were cleaned daily which was good. You have to put down a deposit for your hair dryer at reception of £5. There is no tv channels in English, all channels are news channels and in Portuguese. Our view was of the carpark which was ok as we could see some fields etc aswell. The pool was extremely cold!! When the weather was about 25degrees. We only found out in the middle of our holiday that we could use the gym, indoor pool and jacuzzi for free, we're as for outsiders it is £9 an hour. Breakfast was hit and miss each day, they change the hot food each day to which did not suit us.
Some of the waiters working in the hotel restauraunt we're quite ignorant to us which meant we did not go to it for food each day, also the buffet way £18 each not including drinks.
I think more of the staff should learn more English as it is hard to describe what you want or need to them
We spent most of our time in pray de rocha as there was more shops, clubs, pubs and Irish people there. I really recommend this! Taxi drivers also can be ignorant but some are very helpful, we also sugguest you visit zoo marine or the agua show waterpark. They are expensive but worth it. Hotel can arrange taxis to these places.
Was quite cold during may time as the wind comming off the marina was very fast and breezy. So I would recommend stay in late June / July times for better weather and use of the pool. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annadee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went in May and were B&B but ate in the restaurant for 1 evening meal that was very good and there was a good range of cooked food and fresh bread, etc. for breakfast. Really surprised at the fantastic quality of the accommodation considering the price. It was immaculately clean and the staff went out of their way to make our stay a really comfortable one, nothing was too much trouble. If I had to knit pick the bed was a little hard? Yes it is situated out of the way and it would have been great if they had a shuttle bus/water taxi but we were aware of this before we booked and allowed for the 5>6 euro taxi to the port or beach for dinner. However there are 2 great shops a short stroll from the hotel and fridge in the room so we had great lunches on our balcony with fresh bread, fruit etc. every day which was perfect for us. We would defiantly recommend and return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Tina1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On arrival, the front of the hotel looks run down, a good lick of paint wouldnt go a miss, this hotel was built as a block of luxury flats, not selling they where turned into a hotel, hmmmm....reception was not too bad, they dealt with check in easy enough, but bear in mind if you are all inclusive this starts from 1500 hours anything before this you have to pay for.

The re are two lifts, one on each side of the building, these are slow and speak to you in Portugese, they are small and can accommodate a few people at a time, comfortably they best with 2 people.

On entering the rooms, they are spacious and well setup. The floors are marble tiles, watch out as these are very slippery especially if u have wet feet.........the bed was comfy and the balcony was great, looked out over the river. There is a fridge and self catering facilities in all the rooms even if u are on all inclusive basis.

Be careful, my wife had a white blouse that disappeared from the room.. we complained to the reception staff, who passed the complaint to the customer services manager, we got a message back saying that no one had been in the room, when we mentioned that the house keeping had been in the room, they said they would check with housekeeping.......three days later and after me complaining every day a house keeper turned up at the door and said sorry and returned the blouse..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The smell - - - - - - read the other reviews that mention the smell, the smell is sewage being pumped into the river when the tide is going out, bear in mind this is very strong as its raw sewage !!!!!!!! not the best smell you want when eating your dinner. This also attracts a lot of flies, the food in the restaurant was covered with flies.....

the bar area - a joke, a bathroom in a standard hotel is larger, 1 person usually serving - very slow service, little place to sit and have a drink or enjoy the evening. The drinks were palatable at best, a daily cocktail was offered to ai customers, beer by the glass from an unseen tap behind the wall..no =very professional at all.

Dinner times was a mash of food, same food everyday. very little on offer for vegetarians. There was some pork one night that was more like sun baked camel hide - unedible. The kitchen staff kept the metal food servers full though, by throwing food in them and the scurrying back to the kitchen. Breakfast was like slops, really dreadful.

Two coffee machines in the restaurant to serve the whole hotel, it made it a long queue for a cup of tea at meal times, really poor idea. One toaster for the whole hotel!!!!!!!!

This hotel is miles from anywhere, watch for the overpriced taxis, walk out of the hotel to the main road and flag a taxi down as these are way cheaper.

I wouldnt return here at all, a really terrible hotel, the staff try their hardest but managers that hide when someone wants to complain etc etc....not professional

end of - i will be going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgjymckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,062 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,294 reviews
16.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#21 of 76 in Portimao
328 reviews
13.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: £26 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing