We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Agua Hotels Riverside
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed from 7th to 17th July 2014 with the family (2 adults and 2 children). We had paid extra before we left for the room upgrade and were amazed when we arrived to find we had two rooms off a common entry corridor. One room had kitchen which we didn't need but it was nice to have. This meant the kids were separate from us which was much more peaceful!
Hotel staff were very helpful and tried to resolve issues we had with the air conditioning in our rooms although it failed again on our last night which was not great as we had a 5am pickup and after a very hot sticky night the air con would have been a blessing!
The rooms were kept very clean and we have no complaints there.
The all inclusive deal was great and worked well. Drinks were good and the food excellent. The menu changed mid stay to a 'choose from a menu' evening meal which fine meant the large choice salad was removed. The quality of the food and the service was high and the staff entertaining and informative when asked for details on topics.
My only real grumble was the perennial 'towel on the lounger' people that come down early, leave a towel on a lounger and then vanish for hours denying other who want to use the loungers access. There was one family of eight who did this and never returned for 3 hours and when they did just took the towels off and went away. Really selfish and annoying!
Kids entertainer worked hard and was great with them.
River smells a wee bit at times but no wonder - mud does dry in the heat - nothing like as bad as some make out.
Really good hotel and we would return again.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade! It isn't that much and well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nortonman1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Agua Hotels Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived on Sunday 6th July 2014 (1 week stay) around 9.30pm. We asked for an upgrade as we stayed bed and breakfast standard room, (reading reviews where people got upgrades for free) we was told they give upgrades out for free out of season or when hotel is very quiet. We decided to pay for the upgrade to the Junior Suite at a rate of €25 extra per night, very reasonable! Best decision we made. We originally had room 114B which over looked car park, when we upgraded what had pool/river view, and a much larger room! Very happy!

They advise there is no wifi in rooms only in reception and restaurant but if you are lucky enough to get a room near any of these you can access the wifi, we stayed in 223A so might be worth asking for this room if you want wifi access without having to leave your room.

Breakfast was really nice! Cant fault the quality or selection!

Staff are all helpful and friendly, all you need to do is ask and they will do there best to help you.

Swimming pool isn't heated but in the warm heat it doesn't need to be, its refreshing when baking in the sun.

Reading other reviews about the smell, there was a smell but out of the 7 days we was there, we only smelt the smelly river one night after a very hot day. Didn't bother us really.

Location: Not in the best location, not a lot nearby, didn't bother us as we explored most days and used public transport/trains/taxis. Trains are not as frequent as UK so be sure to plan your journey
Nearby train station to Lagos one way (9mins walk) = €2.15
Taxi from Hotel to Lagos one way = €26 approx
Taxi from Hotel to Portimao one way = €16 approx

Would recommend visiting Lagos/Alvor/Benagil/Portimao/Sagres

Would stay here again loved our stay

Hope this review is helpful

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to Junior Suite, ask for rooms near 223A for in room wifi
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank ant_cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a 5 day break at riverside and had a good relaxing break. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was very spacious with very good facilities. Unfortunately the view of the restaurant roof and solar panels let it down but as we didn't intend spending too long in our room it wasn't a problem. The room was clean and maid service was good, the bathroom was clean and shower fine. I notice some reviewers have said lighting was poor and this was true in bedroom but bathroom lighting was fine. The air conditioning was very good and the room was very quiet despite being near the lift.The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun beds available, we chose the ones on the lawn as the pool are could get noisy at times. The pool was very cold but as the weather was very warm it was very refreshing. Towels are available from the spa and could be changed when ever required.
We stayed on a full board basis and found the meals very good, served by very efficient friendly staff. The wine was ok ( I prefer Itallian wine sorry!!) and drinks were reasonably priced. There is no bar area, drinks are served from the restaurant but we didn't find this a problem.
All in all a good relaxing time, we were looked after well by very good friendly staff. If you like small friendly hotels and are not too worried about evening entertainment and busy nightlife then I would say Riverside fits the bill. Would we stay here again? Probably if we were in same area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireGrannieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a bit of a back water , but tbh the algarve is spread out anyway , agua is spotlessly clean and beautifully built with fabulous views ! The staff in the restaurant are helpful and kind , the food is adequate to need , ( if you want neuvou cuisine it's only a cab ride away to lots of wonderful restaurants , ) this is a true family hotel , the Portuguese people are very reserved but kind and hospitable ! But do not rush ! This is the joy of the algarve that allows you to wind down and relax ! Highly recommended !

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank bluefairyStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

lovely relaxed holiday, very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful setting by the river, the rooms were really spacious and up to date, cleaned every day. only downside is not much else around the hotel and taxis are a nightmare, wasted a lot of time waiting for taxis to turn up if you ordered 2 taxis then one would come and not the other. so advice is to hire a car as not much is within walking distance. food although ok, did become very repetitive and we longed for vegatables especially. did go out for dinner on a couple of occassions to nice restaurants but quite expensive compared to English prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucille m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

changed room after opening curtains on first day to have a coach car park outside our room with the engines running horrible fumes. We decide to take a look at the spa/pool, it was full of teenagers running wild around the pool area, not pleasant at all, was told to come back later, not impressed. you have to wear a swimming hat which they charge 6 euros for...no staff to turn on the water jets or lights...the hot tub had so much chlorine in jacuzzi it made our eyes sting and other guest too experienced the same problem.

NO hair dryer in the room you have to ask for one from reception, they are very reluctant to give you a hairdryer, No iron in the room, very limited information about the area and transport links....

As stated very limited veggie options, I asked if there was a veggie option, and got told a very snappy way...NO....I did suggest maybe a veggie option could be placed on the menu, only to have a very intimidating5 second stare from the arragent man on the reception and was told that MOST PEOPLE EAT MEAT, I have to say my husband is a meat eater, but sometimes goes for the veggie option...
Rooms are very very dark and you would nearly have to carry a torch with you, putting any make up on is very hard, the towels are very thin indeed and they where still soaking wet the next morning...
The corridors are very dimly lit, the whole building is dark and very depressing...
After our evening meal there was nowhere to have a drink, no bar staff, no seating area we had to go back to the room, it resembled a dormatry/bad travel lodge.
The last straw was having a two big crates of dirty sheets and towels left outside out room for over 24 hours and 4 fold up beds left by the lift area...I understand It was the same on other floors...
I asked to see managment about the problems with the hotel and the lady agreed with our grievances and was hoping to improve on the problems we and others had highlighted to her.

The hotel is next to a very smelly river, as others have stated not very nice at all...

If you are thinking of booking this hotel,please read other reviews and bear in mind, staff need a lesson in customer services, location not good by a smelly river, in the middle of nowhere, my advice is please look elsewhere dont want anyone to experience what we did it spoil our holiday...would never never recommend this hotel to my worst enemy

Room Tip: my only advice would be dont stay there go elsewhere
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tarafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights. The home was perfect for all staff. Outdoor parking and underground parking very secure for the rental car. Excellent and careful restoration both breakfast and dinner. I highly recommend for relaxation and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchydoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,030 reviews
13.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#24 of 75 in Portimao
317 reviews
16.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#82 of 154 in Albufeira
3,340 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: £27 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing