We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent villas”
Review of Colina da Lapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colina da Lapa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I felt compelled to review this hotl after returning from my holiday staying at Colina da Lapa with my boyfriend.
Self catering villas can always be a bit hit and miss but these are like proper houses! There is so much space that you really can relax and spread out. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 2-bedroomed villa (due to some renovations happening on one side of the complex) but this proved surplus to requirement as there was so much space that we only used the other room to put our suitcases in!
In our villa we had a large kitchen with 4-ring electric cooker, microwave, fridge freezer and washing machine. We also had a dishwasher but having read the manual in the villa this only applies to the larger villas. We only cooked in on one night but there is everything you need to cook sufficiently. We particularly liked the electric juicing machine as oranges are so cheap that we could enjoy freshly squeezed juice every day.
The living room area had a sofa bed (very comfy) and two armchairs along with a big dining table and chairs. There was a small screen tv there too which was a bit too small in my opinion but we didn't spend too much time inside anyway! A nice touch was that you could get perfect signal for BBC1 and ITV1.
The bathroom had a strong shower and bath tub, double basins and a bidet. There was also a downstairs toilet.

The complex itself is quite low-key. You have a children's paddling pool and a large pool. The restaurant serves food for breakfast, lunch and dinner (set times, not throughout the day) but we didn't eat here as we were always out. To be honest the menu looked very bland and uninteresting. The lady who is in charge of the restaurant is also very rude and unhelpful, everything looks like its a problem for her. Included in the price of your stay you do get a continental breakfast buffet which is basic but sufficient.
There is meant to be a mini supermarket open next to the restaurant but we never saw it open. There is a reasonably sized supermarket 10mins walk up the road where you can get everything you need anyway.

The hotel arranges free mini bus transfers to Carvoiero beach and to another beach, which I can't remember the name of, but it's amazing! A tiny beach all tucked away with soft sand and a little restaurant.

In terms of eating out there are two lovely restaurants nearby that I would recommend. Firstly there is a pizzeria about 10mins walk that offers great pizza at an extremely reasonable price. The lighting is perhaps a bit harsh for a romantic meal but the quality of the food was fantastic.
Lastly I cannot recommend the following place ENOUGH- Island cafe. We were told about this place by the man at reception but having the word 'cafe' for a romantic meal didn't really do it for us so we had gone to carvoeiro instead. It was only a couple of days later that we were speaking to some other guests and they recommended it.
Food, service, ambience- all amazing. If this place was in london it would be twice the price!! Having said that this is not a cheap meal- they use excellent produce and present the meal beautifully, but we had fillet steak at €20 with sides that was amazing and tiger prawns with Thai curry for €24. We had just been served our fillet steaks when my boyfriend accidentally knocked my glass of sangria over, spilling it onto my plate and my lap. As I was wearing a light coloured dress I immediately went to bathroom to mop up the stain but when I came back to the table 3 mins later there was a new fillet steak and a new sangria. The head chef who had finished for the evening had seen the accident had rushed into the kitchen and told them to cook a fresh one. Impeccable service!!! We went back twice more!

In summary this is a great villa complex really aided by the great guys who work reception and are eternally helpful. This place is really perfect for couples as there dont seem to be that many kids and certainly no 18-30s around! Having said that, if you do feel like a mad night out there are plenty of bars in carvoeiro with taxis costing €7 so it is definitely an option if you want it!
One tip would be to hire a car as there are so many lovely beaches and villages around that you can explore.
Excellent holiday 

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lotbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have just returned from staying at colina da lapa and found the appartments excellent. We were actually in a two bedroom villa and had loads of room and a huge kitchen and liked the nice terraces we had outside too. Villas kept very clean and grounds are very well maintained. We thought the pool area was very nice with alot of sunbeds available and liked the idea that noone can book the beds by throwing towels over them all day. The snack bar/restaurant was adequate but basic as was the breakfast . We had the same thing for 8 days!
Beaches in area are lovely and there are plenty but would reccommend a car as the complex is fairly remote. We drove to sagres which was nice.The restaurant just outside the comlex called island cafe served fantastic food and good service.
We would definately return to these appartments they had everything we were looking for in a quiet break in the algarve

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spider226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

POSITIVES
flight & transfers were fine
villa was clean and roomy, great for a young family
air con in the villa was a really appreciated
villas and appartments were spaced out across the grounds and not packed in closely together
well maintained grounds with lovely lawns and flower beds etc
lots of green space around the villa and across the complex
privacy of our own balconies and terrace at the villa
some British TV in villa
great childrens swimming pool as well as decent adult pool
for us, several other 'young families' for the children to play with. Everyone got on well and there was a sense of community around the childrens pool.
plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available at pool side
free minibus service twice daily to and from local town and beach
reception staff v friendly and curteous eg booking taxis
draft lager and house wine at the bar were very good
NEGATIVES
by bar the most significant negative was the restaurant. It provided simply a very poor standard of catering - this was badged as 4 Star but was simply nowhere near that standard and was in fact more 'Backpacker' in style and taste. Basically, the catering was done on the cheap and the staff's attitide reflected that. Sadly, by going half-board, we had already paid so were stuck with it. Examples:
very limited evening menu & same menu every evening. No 'specials'. Everything came with rice and chips. Had to request any veg.
I ordered the Raviloi one evening and eventually received a bowl of heated-up heinz raviloi straight from thre tin, with melted cheese on top. This simply is not good enough.
stale bread & croissants at breakfast daily
out of date yogurt at breakfast - a week past its Use By date!
mouldy fruit in the fruit bowl! Each day, a new consigment of fruit would be loaded on top of whatever fruit was left in the fruit bowl. Consequently, the fruit at the bottom of the bowl was never reached and was going mouldy.
no fresh milk, only UHT. In fact, the only fresh food served at breakfast was the fruit (barring that which had gone moudly). Everything was packaged, processed or from a tin. Not healthy!
the appalling attitude of the restaurant staff. They were at best disinterested in their clientele and at worst, downright rude. Examples:
they would not acknowledge let alone greet you when you arrived at the restaurant or say farewell when you left
there was no attempt to build a rapport with the customers. Attempts at conversation were usually met with scowls or 'selective deafness' so we gave up trying eventually
on many occasions, the landlady would prefer to stand gossiping wih the cleaning ladies rather than attend to her customers
any attempt to request assistance (eg cuttlery, in-date yoghurt etc) was met with disdain.
trhey were utterly resistant to criticism, feedback, suggestions etc
the advertised activities rarely actually took place eg not a single session of water polo in the pool actually happened. 
the Kids Club facility was great (although it was rather cheeky to describe the lone slide and rather tired swing as a Children's Play Park!) but in the 9 days we were there was only opened for 2 one-hour sessions. Our and other parents' requests to make use of the Club was rejected out of hand. What a waste!
bowling green had gone to seed, looked rather neglected, so not available to use.
In summary, we actually really enjoyed our holiday, especially the beach at Ferragudo. It was only the catering that really undermined things. We would recommend Colina Da Lapa but only as Self Catering. Avoid the restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yorks_guys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Lovely villas and at less than £220 a head with accommodation, transfers and flights amazing value for money.
Quiet at the end of September, but not too sure given it's distance from most amenities that that could really change.
Local beach is absolutely stunning If not a little expensive, but completely worth it. The nicest beach I have been to in Europe.
Great for young families, but could be quiet for younger adults if you know what I mean...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just spent a week here and have to say that their own website does not do them any justice. Set in beautifully manicured gardens this literally is a private holiday village. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, villas are spacious, extremely clean and tidy and very well equipped if not a little dated. Set on two floors with two bedrooms upstairs each with their own balcony and a large bathroom with twin sinks and a bath with an over shower. An additional WC downstairs with a large lounge and dining area. Kitchen was well equipped with a tall standing fridge freezer, dish washer and washing machine, microwave and a coffee maker although could have done with a kettle rather than having to boil a pan of water on the stove. Lounge area furniture is a little uncomfortable and pillows are very small and thin. Cots are on the small side too, we could have done with a highchair but took our own portable one so perhaps we could have hired one if we had needed it. Not ideal to get about on foot, nearest shop is a good 15 minutes work for the average person, we had a 3 year old, baby in pram and Nana with us so it took a good 1/2 hour so would suggest you hire a car as car parking is provided at the villas. Nearest beach is 5 min drive and a free bus service is provided. this is a stunning beach and definitely recommended although a little pricey to hire sun beds - 18€. but shades and beach towels are provided, you can have a massage if you wish and there's a good restaurant on site with WC plus a snack shack, there's also a hidden cove! They also provide a free bus service to the nearest town approx 10 mins away or 5€ in a taxi which seems to be the minimum fare. Very little going on near by though, only 3 restaurants and 2 shops apart from those on site although we pretty much self catered for the week. Ate at the Italian that reviews had suggested but wasn't that impressed. Pool area very quiet and not much of a kids play area although there did seem to be a kids club but must have been closed up due to it being late in the season. Overall a beautiful, well kept village, ideal for those seeking peace and quiet and rest, happy to do very little and relax. Would not suggest it for teens or any children over 4/5 as not much to entertain them. Approx 45 minute direct transfer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

These apartments are located in the middle of nowhere with no local bus service. A car is essential if only to get to a decent supermarket. My wife has limited walking ability and despite having been advised of this our apartment was situated at the foot of the biggest hill in complex and then up two flights of stairs. Exceptional service would have been to recognise this and move us to a more suitable apartment. There was a so called minimarket selling basics - very basic it looked as if it had been looted. The next nearest minimarket was twenty minutes walk away as I found out on the Saturday of our stay. This was the day there was a wedding and as result became the focus of everyones attention. I needed water that day and was told in no unceartain terms that the shop would be closed and to take the twenty minute walk to the one outside. I simply cannot believe that they allowed their care of other guests to suffer in this way the ultimate was in not allowing a handicapped boy to swim in the pool that day. The management and staff of this complex need some lessons in providing an EXCEPTIONAL customer experience not just any old experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andymcbrierty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a lovely apartment with all space you could want. The kitchen was well fitted out and everywhere was very clean. The reception staff spoke good english and had a good local knowledge which helped us alot, and when we found our return transfers had not been booked they sorted it out. The gardens and villas are well laid out and clean. Teenagers may find it a little quiet but this resort is advertised as quiet and relaxing.
The restaurant catered for our needs amply with a good continental breakfast, there was food available throw out the day but we didn't need anything till the evening, where there was a good selection of food on offer. At this point we would like to say thank you to Isa and Ruban for their service in the restaurant. Yes we would go back again!!
On a final note if your interested in bird watching from our balcony we had:- Hoopoo, bee-eater, azure-winged magpie, alpine swift, black kite, red-rumped swallow and woodchat shrike to name but a few.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_j_saxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
0.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
54 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
0.9 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina da Lapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina da Lapa

Address: Sesmarias-Farragudo, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: £25 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina da Lapa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colina da Lapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Da Lapa Hotel Lagoa
Colina Da Lapa Carvoeiro
Colina Da Lapa Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing